Stuck with a smoking neighbour

Latka

Bro cannot say like this.

This is not exactly smoking inside their own flat unless they close their windows and smoke.

Everything outside is public and we all need to be more considerate.

If the smokers don't like the smell inside their house then why are they ok with sharing it with their neighbors?

When Indonesia starts burning their lands and the smoke gets to Singapore and Malaysia.

Do we have the rights to complain?

After all, they are burning their own lands.

We don't what. The people grumble, but does our govt lodge a complaint? No [laugh]

Solution in long run: Identify which block are smoking blocks which are not, so in future when move house, the smokers stay with the smokers and the non-smokers with the non smokers [laugh]

PS: Dont flame me, I was just joking.

Solution in long run: Identify which block are smoking blocks which are not, so in future when move house, the smokers stay with the smokers and the non-smokers with the non smokers [laugh]

idea right..

divide our land into smoking and non-smoking portions.. half half..

More importantly can we also identify which blocks have all the chiobus? [;)]

smoking is banned along corridors and void decks.

People should just learn to give and take.. what next? She's gonna complain that her neighbour is too noisy while having sex? Come on....

Some of her other complains.....

http://everythingalsocomplain.wordpress.co...ay-of-coughing/

Oh... she's a diehard MM fan. Check out the 42 Reasons Why I Love you, Singapore post

http://comment.straitstimes.com:50505/show...1307&page=3

Maybe anyone who wants to complain directly to her can call 81688530 as per the 2nd link :D

Actually just make all smokers wear a rounded fish tank on their head when they smoke. like astronauts..

Smokers can get more of the smoke they want and others not affected

Problem solved! [:p]

Oh.. :o sorry i wasnt aware about that.

smoking is banned along corridors and void decks.

People should just learn to give and take.. what next? She's gonna complain that her neighbour is too noisy while having sex? Come on....

Some of her other complains.....

http://everythingalsocomplain.wordpress.co...ay-of-coughing/

Oh... she's a diehard MM fan. Check out the 42 Reasons Why I Love you, Singapore post

http://comment.straitstimes.com:50505/show...1307&page=3

Our opposite neighbour smokes on the stairs about 6 ft from our front door and the smoke seeps in.

Dunno why he doesn't smoke in his own flat.

Worse he then stubs his cigarette out in our pot plants.

My wife said don't say anything as we are due to move in a few months so no need argue etc.

Anyway NEA general water inspector came around a few weeks ago and I couldn't stop myself mentioning the smoking to her.

She had a word with neighbour and at least the stubbing out of the cigarettes in our pot plants has stopped.

I didn't know that smoking in corridor and staircase is banned.

Anyone confirm?

SEE!! CANNOT PLEASE EVERYONE!!

smoke at home, kena,.. smoke at stairs, kena..

i have an air purifier at home already..

whichever room, smoke also will seep out and reach neighbours what..

unless i shut windows/doors and smoke lor..

this would be good for interior designers..

now think of a design for a hdb flat that includes a smoking room that doesnt disturb neighbours..

Liddat means you have to pay for other's benefit leh. I wont even give a **** about my neighbours if they are those that abit abit also complain.

SEE!! CANNOT PLEASE EVERYONE!!

smoke at home, kena,.. smoke at stairs, kena..

issue is stubbing butts at the pot -_- this type of ppl should be [rifle] for stubbing butts into other ppl pots.

Liddat means you have to pay for other's benefit leh. I wont even give a **** about my neighbours if they are those that abit abit also complain.

give and take abit lor..

i.e like some of them brought up the subject of infants, sick/old at home sensitive to the smell..

i agree to a certain extend..

will do my best .. if complainant still kp (even when i obey to the most basic law/courtesy), then bo chap liao..

tell me about it.

i have a family whose son yes juvenile underage smoking at the window and when he gets his cohorts to his parent home, you can imagine how smokie in your eyes it can get.

not to forget, the parents are hawkers and they prepare their food at home and yes in HDB flat.

Cooking with condiments and spices in the middle of the night, belachan paste, chilli paste, lasksa paste, mee siam paste what ever.

And to mask their cooking, they will on the music to mask the sound.

wackos, asked them nicely and in the end got threatened.

Each have their own rights. How NEA gonna solve this?

This is one disadvantage for staying on higher floor. But I'm guessing the smoker smokes outside his home like along the corridor or at his window.

ST Forum

Feb 28, 2011

Stuck with a smoking neighbour

WHILE I was dismayed to note the statistics in last Tuesday's article ("No let-up in lighting up"), I was heartened to read about the severe measures suggested by some people as my family has been subjected to cigarette smoke from my neighbour living on the floor directly beneath mine for some time now.

This man smokes regularly at various times of the day, which effectively makes my entire family passive smokers.

I have repeatedly tried explaining to him that his cigarette smoke permeates our entire flat and is harming not just myself and my husband, but our two young kids too. Regardless, he maintains it is his flat and he can do what he pleases within its boundary.

In other words, the current law allows him to get away with it. He has even told me it is I who should close my windows when he smokes. He remains adamant about continuing with his ungracious act. What recourse does the passive smoker have to such abuse?

I appeal to the National Environment Agency to consider imposing a ban on smoking in all buildings, corridors and lift landings in Singapore, including residential properties.

Sherley Servos (Mrs)

If he maintain the words bold in red, than this also clear all the inconsiderate neighbours who blast their music, karaoke within their home.