STP fuel system cleaner vs HKS DDR

So_nice

saw this on amazon..

http://www.amazon.com/Chevron-Techron-Syst...sim_dbs_auto_11

isn't this the more concentrated techron used by caltex?

understand the portion added in petrol at the station pumps is negligible, this should be better with the cleaning?

anyone used this before?

Chevron invented polyether amine (PEA) which is the active ingredient responsible for cleaning.

Redline SI-1 is available locally and contains 30% to 50% PEA by volume (as stated by MSDS), it also has UCL properties.

Chevron Techron System Cleaner contains >50% PEA by volume (as stated by MSDS), not sure if its available locally.

of course can. its made in the USA where the fuel tank is big and they have to use the whole bottle. for your car, use 1/2 bottle in year 1, then the reminder in year 2. very economical.

tats wat i thought too. isnt too expensive since almost 1/2 yr then use half bottle

I personally have used STP and feel no difference at all. It does not harm the car too. I use it as a form of preventive maintainance. dun expect miracles though........

Chevron invented polyether amine (PEA) which is the active ingredient responsible for cleaning.

Redline SI-1 is available locally and contains 30% to 50% PEA by volume (as stated by MSDS), it also has UCL properties.

Chevron Techron System Cleaner contains >50% PEA by volume (as stated by MSDS), not sure if its available locally.

I can't find the Techron Cleaner locally

used to buy it at the workshop in frankel caltex station. no more liao. switched redline. 2 bottles a year so far so good.

techron concentrate w/ caltex platinum for some serious PEA overdose ;)

can buy from amazon, then have them send to borderlinx, who will then ship the contents to your singapore address..

REDEX has lubricating emollient properties, hence cylinder linings + piston rings get lube = smoother. STP does not.

Petrol is 'dry' by nature, aromatics. No lubrication.

Hence any form of soluble oil into the tank would help in any combustion engine. ie 2T oil

Carbon is always there. No such things as clearing out by using additives. That's bullsh1t at its best.

Even with water injection, when I took out my exhaust manifold, the carbon layer (port side + chamber) was thin but very hard and bonded to the base substrate. You need to scrape or dremel off. This is on ported n polished head.

For casted heads factory issue, it is much worse.

I would recommend REDEX although I don't use it. I'm using race cylinder lube direct into fuel tank.

brand? Tarco?....

yap, 2T makes hell lots of diff when adding to the petrol... why spend so much for other fuel additives?

btw bro, i just bot A gallon of MMO, added to the engine and the effect was damn good, my engine is so smoth and more responsive... i tot my engine is gg to be noisier cause the mmo is so thin (much thinner than 5w20 oil) but the fact is, after adding in 2 qrt of 5w20 amsoil with 1 qrt of mmo, the noise is similiar...

will drain out the oil at 8K and see how dirty is the oil and post it here!

yap, 2T makes hell lots of diff when adding to the petrol... why spend so much for other fuel additives?

btw bro, i just bot A gallon of MMO, added to the engine and the effect was damn good, my engine is so smoth and more responsive... i tot my engine is gg to be noisier cause the mmo is so thin (much thinner than 5w20 oil) but the fact is, after adding in 2 qrt of 5w20 amsoil with 1 qrt of mmo, the noise is similiar...

will drain out the oil at 8K and see how dirty is the oil and post it here!

omg... 1 qrt of mmo in your engine?..... :blink: seriously i dont think i dare sia...

but after countless good reviews of mmo... i really wanna try.... but even before i dare to put in my fuel you talk about engine... hmmmmmm..... and you got i gallon wow....

i still have own blend of engine oil enuf for another 2 changes... my putoline 2-t i shared so presently enuf for another 2+ full tanks... seriously might try mmo... ^_^

i will personally use STP (red bottle) one if my car was like more than 5 yo or high mileage...

i really can feel the different after adding... the car pickup was better and also the engine run more smoothly..

but for newer car, it really not make much different.

can buy from amazon, then have them send to borderlinx, who will then ship the contents to your singapore address..

can we ship in liquid like normal shipments?

Is this flameable?

good point.. i've not purchased it before..not sure...

only used the same method for other purchases.

i juz put half a bottle into it. travelled abt 100km so far. feels smooth and quieter engine. might be mere butt feeling though. lolx

good point.. i've not purchased it before..not sure...

only used the same method for other purchases.

my apologies... just checked. it cannot be sent via borderlinx.

Dunno about brand but any carrier (fuel) with polyether amine (PEA) works, no gimmick.

One easily obtainable brand is Redline SI-1.

where did you get MMO by the gallon?

can share in PM? thanks

dun need pm lah... its not a secret...

got it from Ideal Parts Supplies... 15 kaki bt 2, KB warehouse, tel" 67450110. $40/ gallon. they are the authorised dealer from turtle wax if im correct.

Edited by Tigershark1976