Renegade777 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Update - that bugger John didn't even have the cheek to attend the SCT session. A court order has been issued to recover the sum paid. Disappointed that SCT can't rule specific performance. Still waiting for the refund. If there's one shop to condemn - this is. Give them a place to do business in Singapore and yet try to be funny with locals. They should just go to other countries to do business then they will realise how good Singapore is to them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Update - that bugger John didn't even have the cheek to attend the SCT session. A court order has been issued to recover the sum paid. Disappointed that SCT can't rule specific performance. Still waiting for the refund. If there's one shop to condemn - this is. will be interesting to note what will eventually happen..do keep us posted.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Mach23, You are correct in holding firm to the sales agreement. A contract of sales is a contract. Legally binding. It does not matter if they had made a mistake. For a business, customer goodwill is more important than a loss of $$$. I agree. Those who said the staff made a mistake - I'm not so sure that is true given what's written on the invoice. I certainly do not dismiss the possibility that it is a sales tactic, they have nothing to lose financially by it after all, it is either lose the financial gains from the deal by having it cancelled, or hooking a customer who just wants to get on with it and pay the extra. Same for the SCT, they have no case so why turn up? Turn up also lose plus lose time. Now they will just pay you the amount of the deal, which is back to square one of the "worst case scenario" under the possible sale tactic. If it is buyers beware, then it flows both ways, sellers beware too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DrBobb Neutral Newbie March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Oh yes, I certainly do have bad experience with John Erdos. Some years back, I purchased a leather sofa set: two 3-seater, and one 1-seater. After about 2 years, the leather started to crack and peel off. All sofas were affected. The set was properly maintained all the time, never exposed to direct sunlight or direct aircon (basically never aircon). I complained, and Erdos replaced the entire set. They apologised and tried to convince me that this never ever happened before, as all their products are of super quality - only this one must have had a problem. Now, another 2 years later, the same thing happens again. Again the set was always properly maintained (although they said maintenance is not required). Again it cracks and peels off. I sent pictures to them complaining about the again damage, but this time they refuse to take over responsibility for their products. To me this looks like a severe tanning issue, or leather quality issue. After two years the leather simply falls apart. In the beginning they spoke about 5 years warranty, but now, little more than 2 years after the first replacement - no more action from their side. Guess I have to sue them too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jfsing Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 Hi I have also bought a sofa at John erdos about 2 yrs ago and had the same peeling issue. They replaced it with no question, but after reading your posts, I just fear that in 2 yrs time, it will have to be replaced again... I had also bought some chairs with "leather" cushion (which appear to be more plastic than leather), and after 1 year they also cracked: I had to pay an extra 15 sgd per cushion to have them replaced. It is obvious that they design products which are not tested properly for Singapore weather conditions, even though they charge a high price. Do you have any news from the police report you made ? Did you finally get any refund from John Erdos ? Do you know if in Singapore you can make legal actions with a group of person against a company, similarly to the class actions in the US (I am neither Singaporean nor expat, and as I am young that was the first big expense I did for furnishing my house: i am really pissed off with John Erdos) Thanks Jeff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 Plse keep us updated. I have bought items there but mostly ornamental so no issue to talk about. Just cash and carry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Stupid to sell chairs separate fr cushions. N tat particular chairs not usable w/o cushions. Btw boss might be very old liao.Couldn't care much abt goodwill. Agreed, like those toy shop selling remote-car but battery sold separately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 No doubt you are the consumer and that you have the customer's rights. The fact they let u noe there n then n allowed u to withdraw is actually the best they could do. At least u can get yr money back. But you decided to hold firm with the staffs earlier mistake and insist on the free cushions. Get alife and move on. Dun abuse your customer's rights and act authority. You are being nasty. Take it or leave it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 No doubt you are the consumer and that you have the customer's rights. The fact they let u noe there n then n allowed u to withdraw is actually the best they could do. At least u can get yr money back. But you decided to hold firm with the staffs earlier mistake and insist on the free cushions. Get alife and move on. Dun abuse your customer's rights and act authority. You are being nasty. Take it or leave it. its not abusing your customer rights. they allow you to withdraw sure. but who is going to pay for all the wasted time, transportation costs etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear May 22, 2011 Share May 22, 2011 Walaneh poh mata some more, no wonder Singapore police no time catch robber Ts, are u an elite? If not spf sure hack care u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam100 Neutral Newbie February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 Hi Singirl and all - We had the EXACT same issue with John Erdos involving the fake leather sofas. It turns out this issue has happened multiple times over and I have met at least a dozen others who had this same experience. Last year I walked into an apartment with these peeling sofas and knew straight away they were from Erdos. Ours was replaced too, though they advised it was different product. These also peeled. We complained by sending photos and emails as well as calls that went unanswered until going into the shop. At that point we were frustrated and voiced our complaint since they had not responded. We finally had one of the managers come over to check out the sofas and they confirmed it was the same sofa with 'bi-cast' leather that had been replaced in the first place. Our nightmare continued as we were told we'd be getting store credit but did not find anything we liked, so wanted a refund which they would not give us. After much avoidance and miscommunication on their part between the owner, sales people, and us, we finally agreed on a set but they did not have any in stock which was not communicated to us. We agreed on another set after a visit to the store and are awaiting the remainder of the pieces. They have not responded to phone calls or emails. We are now in the process of escalating this consumer nightmare. This has been an ongoing issue and the owner is belligerent and defensive. Staff did not know how to deal with these disputes and when customers have asked for help and advised they may need a third party to assist in these disputes, told the owner they were being harassed. I was amazed to find out this had happened to others as confirmed also by a staff member. Under this deceitful business practice, most people would be irate and expect fair business practices when spending any amount of money, much less 8k! With the amount charged and way the way it is marketed, this 'leather' furniture is supposed to have long lifespan and not peel. We too were told by the owner that this business is 'not Ikea' and therefore he trusts his staff to communicate. The difference between Ikea and John Erdos is better price, longer lasting furniture, better service, and Ikea is successful in customer relationship management. These disturbingly poor and illegal business practices are not limited to locals, but an equal opportunity destroyer for all. Erdos uses the expat marketing channels such as the well known lifestyle magazine and hosts various expat functions which gives them greater coverage and the false reality amongst this population who often do not realize these items can be sourced at greater quality and lesser cost without the obnoxious attitude or illegal practices. Singirl, were you able to rectify? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam100 Neutral Newbie February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 DrBobb,sorry as missed other page. Was John Erdos issue resolved with the defective leather sofa set? Quite vile so many other people have had this disturbing experience. The owner is very nice until he has to deal with customer challenges other than which wine to serve on the faux Ikea coffee table. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 Teach this fella a lesson. Class action lawsuit possible? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 I feel all this ang moh boss' attitude is too high-handed. Just because he knows that in singapore, there is less protection of consumer's rights. In his own country, perhaps he would've quickly settled with the customer. Else can get sued! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 I dun feel its too much of their fault as the staff sold u the cushions by mistake. The fact they let u noe there n then n allowed u to withdraw is actually the best they could do. At least u can get yr money back. But you decided to hold firm with the staffs earlier mistake and insist on the free cushions. I personally feel they were careless, but not entirely wrong. They shd have just cancelled the transaction rather than process it and agree with delivery date. I disagree with you, you read carefully. They said cannot refund!!!! And TS already made full payment. After they made the mistake of selling you w/cushions.. WTF, like robbery man... Give a fantastic example. Buy car, say 200K, you pay in full. Few hrs later, call back say now 300K. Got to top up 100K, otherwise no engine. Huh? And no refund. SMLJ? Go rob bank lah.. They made a mistake, they can say, i dun want to sell you.. Cancel, then i refund u. No refund? And you think they are right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 For fellow forumers looking for furniture shop the abovementioned is certainly one you want to stay away. Our nightmare begin when we made the purchase for dining chairs with cushions (chair not useable without cushions) in mid Jan to be delivered this week. After selecting the cushion color and wood stain color we proceeded to make full payment. Few hours later the sales person called to inform that theres additional charges for cushions of approximate 1/3 of the chair price which we must top up or else cancel transaction. Looking at my invoice w clearly states that it's chairs + cushions, of course I refused to top up nor cancel the transactions. Having being served by a round robin of shop staff our efforts to get the order fulfilled were in vain. Most disappointedly a personal call to John Erdos himself had him siding his staff part of story that there wasn't anything amiss, a top up is required and no refund will be entertained. A staff who chose to remain anonymous said that this approach is consistent with past incidents. Past the delivery date, I still have not received what I paid for. I have lodged a police report and wld be seeking small claim tribunal intervention. Needless to say I personally condemns and blacklist it. Anyone has similar bad experience with this vendor or suggestion pls share. Best thing is to cancel the trade and get a refund. Dun let them earn a single cent. And assuming what you said is the whole truth, you can take the story to as many channels as you want, including newpapers/stomp/MCF/HWZ w/o fear of a lawsuit. The internet is v powerful, once news spreads, not sure who's going to buy from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 (edited) double post. Edited February 11, 2012 by Tedlhw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 11, 2012 Share February 11, 2012 so what happened? one year leow ley....still argueing till the cows come home? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...