Complaint ST Life! Featured furn shop: John Erdos @Dempsey)

Mach23

For fellow forumers looking for furniture shop the abovementioned is certainly one you want to stay away. Our nightmare begin when we made the purchase for dining chairs with cushions (chair not useable without cushions) in mid Jan to be delivered this week. After selecting the cushion color and wood stain color we proceeded to make full payment. Few hours later the sales person called to inform that theres additional charges for cushions of approximate 1/3 of the chair price which we must top up or else cancel transaction. Looking at my invoice w clearly states that it's chairs + cushions, of course I refused to top up nor cancel the transactions. Having being served by a round robin of shop staff our efforts to get the order fulfilled were in vain. Most disappointedly a personal call to John Erdos himself had him siding his staff part of story that there wasn't anything amiss, a top up is required and no refund will be entertained. A staff who chose to remain anonymous said that this approach is consistent with past incidents.

Past the delivery date, I still have not received what I paid for. I have lodged a police report and wld be seeking small claim tribunal intervention. Needless to say I personally condemns and blacklist it.

Anyone has similar bad experience with this vendor or suggestion pls share.

Edited by Mach23

I dun feel its too much of their fault as the staff sold u the cushions by mistake. The fact they let u noe there n then n allowed u to withdraw is actually the best they could do. At least u can get yr money back. But you decided to hold firm with the staffs earlier mistake and insist on the free cushions. I personally feel they were careless, but not entirely wrong. They shd have just cancelled the transaction rather than process it and agree with delivery date.

obviously John Erdos the boss couldnt care about this deal. he would rather lose u as a customer then to make a loss and go with the invoice stated b/w.

its not right to demand the items since its written b/w but if they dont want to entertain this deal, i would have just get the money back and save myself the headache.

For fellow forumers looking for furniture shop the abovementioned is certainly one you want to stay away. Our nightmare begin when we made the purchase for dining chairs with cushions (chair not useable without cushions) in mid Jan to be delivered this week. After selecting the cushion color and wood stain color we proceeded to make full payment. Few hours later the sales person called to inform that theres additional charges for cushions of approximate 1/3 of the chair price which we must top up or else cancel transaction. Looking at my invoice w clearly states that it's chairs + cushions, of course I refused to top up nor cancel the transactions. Having being served by a round robin of shop staff our efforts to get the order fulfilled were in vain. Most disappointedly a personal call to John Erdos himself had him siding his staff part of story that there wasn't anything amiss, a top up is required and no refund will be entertained. A staff who chose to remain anonymous said that this approach is consistent with past incidents.

Past the delivery date, I still have not received what I paid for. I have lodged a police report and wld be seeking small claim tribunal intervention. Needless to say I personally condemns and blacklist it.

Anyone has similar bad experience with this vendor or suggestion pls share.

Depends on what you really want to do. You can let it slide or you can take it to SCT since the invoice is basically a contract.

I dun feel its too much of their fault as the staff sold u the cushions by mistake. The fact they let u noe there n then n allowed u to withdraw is actually the best they could do. At least u can get yr money back. But you decided to hold firm with the staffs earlier mistake and insist on the free cushions. I personally feel they were careless, but not entirely wrong. They shd have just cancelled the transaction rather than process it and agree with delivery date.

The sales staff did not admit mistake merely to inform that there's additional amt to top up notwithstanding invoice content.

Since the owner himself told me that strictly no refund, i have decided I don't want my money back I want the contract fulfilled according to invoice. period. Otherwise what's the purpose of a invoice stating sales terms.

Police case has been lodged last night.

If this were to happen in any country where the consumer has some rights... they will have to give you the cushions.. even if it's not stated in the invoice.. for this case, since it's already stated in the invoice... you should demand for it..

Mach23,

You are correct in holding firm to the sales agreement. A contract of sales is a contract. Legally binding.

It does not matter if they had made a mistake. For a business, customer goodwill is more important than a loss of $$$.

They can deliver...but will you dare to accept or will make more complaint later on the furniture being color not consistent or chipped here and there?

Either the chair is damm cheap, or the cushion is damm expensive. 1/3 extra topup for the cushion is a lot.

Stupid to sell chairs separate fr cushions.

N tat particular chairs not usable w/o cushions.

Btw boss might be very old liao.Couldn't care much abt goodwill. [shakehead]

They can deliver...but will you dare to accept or will make more complaint later on the furniture being color not consistent or chipped here and there?

Either the chair is damm cheap, or the cushion is damm expensive. 1/3 extra topup for the cushion is a lot.

Worst if they 'plant' a few termites in the furniture [rolleyes]

If high density foam then it can be quite ex...

Worst if they 'plant' a few termites in the furniture [rolleyes]

If high density foam then it can be quite ex...

Ya lor.....it is possible to up with things like selling you punctured condoms,or shorted water heaters. [:p]

Thanks all the view in the last 18 hrs I am more assured that my action is right esp after talking to them for the past 1 mth or so and exhausting all diplomatic means. Ill leave it to the SCT and police to follow up. Sharing my view here is to gather various opinions to better solve my problem. What I really cannot stand is the Ang mo boss high handed attitude, say shop not ikea so he trust staff fully no misrepresent no refund even now yada yada. Hope he learn his lesson to do as the Romans do - of 关系,面子,and most importantly 信用 .

Edited by Mach23

This boss must have had so many rich FT/PR customers.

His attitude is wrong. At least a refund would have settled the case.

But he thinks he is dealing with rich expats who don't mind paying more, since mostly are companies paid,

We are also having an ongoing issue with aforementioned shop regarding "leather" sofas which keep on peeling. The first time it happened they replaced the sofas no questions asked, the second time it happened they offered us a credit note which is useless as what we need is new sofas. When I did some research on why leather sofas would peel, I found out that the sofas were not real leather but something called bi cast leather, despite being assured by sales staff on both occasions that the sofas were made from genuine hide leather. It is actually illegal in most western countries to sell bi cast leather as genuine leather as it is in fact a leather bi product with a plastic coating on top (hence the peeling) The invoice clearly states the sofas are supposed to be leather and given that we spent nearly $8,000 on these sofas that's what we would have expected to have received. Anyway we are now in the same position as you having to take the matter to the SCT.

Update - that bugger John didn't even have the cheek to attend the SCT session. A court order has been issued to recover the sum paid. Disappointed that SCT can't rule specific performance. Still waiting for the refund. If there's one shop to condemn - this is.