Pixel18 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Civic is a non-emergency ambulance service and there is no reason why they should speed with beacon and siren at any point in time. What TS should have done was to follow the ambulance to its destination to get the facts. I won't be surprised if the driver was speeding back to office to end his shift. If they had abused their presence as a motorist, report them to TP for traffic related offences and to MOH as a regulatory body for non-emergency ambulance service. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 U r quoting about a living saving vehicle.. got Shame bo? Mecez cab purposly e-brake.. those who involve in chain collosion is b cos they fail to keep a safe distance.. U haven't try waiting for an ambulance b4 issit? KNS... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmaomao 6th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Civic is a non-emergency ambulance service and there is no reason why they should speed with beacon and siren at any point in time. What TS should have done was to follow the ambulance to its destination to get the facts. I won't be surprised if the driver was speeding back to office to end his shift. If they had abused their presence as a motorist, report them to TP for traffic related offences and to MOH as a regulatory body for non-emergency ambulance service. U another bo liao CB... Some ambulance might be donated by rich compay/person to old folks etc.. this also call civic ambulance... follow follow.. Screw u ppl who dun give way to EVERY ambulances!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PointyEwe Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I know of such an ambulance driver who drive his wife to work and always cut here cut there because they were always late for work... BUT EVEN THEN, as long as I see an ambulance is on emergency, I will still give way immediately Moreover, the one you saw is on siren and blinking lights. Seriously, why do you want to doubt it? Give way will die is it? Those who were involved in the accident you describe probably deserve it because they should already be on alert when they heard the siren. I remember one time at a cross junction when green lights were in our favour, and a few adjacent cars and myself saw a blinking ambulance wanting to turn right from the opposite side, some of us immediately on our hazard lights and let it turn first. Only one moron want to chiong, but jam break in the end after he saw the rest did not move, but luckily did not cause any accident. In other countries, at traffic lights, cars in front of the ambulance will even mount kerb to let an ambulance pass through, and here we have, some self-righeous drivers who will peek inside the ambulance and see whether there are 2 person sitting inside the ambulance and then decide whether to give way or not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wavedancer Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 It is the ambulance driver fault. Every morning at same time you can see the private ambulance, siren blaring, lights blinking, driving on road shoulder elbowing pple out of the way. Seems to much of a concidence to have emergencies on such a regular basis. In time, other drivers become immune, used to such regularity. LTA should look into some recording device that records the time that sirens and lights are switch on to prevent abuse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Agree U r quoting about a living saving vehicle.. got Shame bo? Mecez cab purposly e-brake.. those who involve in chain collosion is b cos they fail to keep a safe distance.. U haven't try waiting for an ambulance b4 issit? KNS... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 (edited) +1 Agree with you BUT EVEN THEN, as long as I see an ambulance is on emergency, I will still give way immediately Moreover, the one you saw is on siren and blinking lights. Seriously, why do you want to doubt it? Give way will die is it? Those who were involved in the accident you describe probably deserve it because they should already be on alert when they heard the siren. I remember one time at a cross junction when green lights were in our favour, and a few adjacent cars and myself saw a blinking ambulance wanting to turn right from the opposite side, some of us immediately on our hazard lights and let it turn first. Only one moron want to chiong, but jam break in the end after he saw the rest did not move, but luckily did not cause any accident. In other countries, at traffic lights, cars in front of the ambulance will even mount kerb to let an ambulance pass through, and here we have, some self-righeous drivers who will peek inside the ambulance and see whether there are 2 person sitting inside the ambulance and then decide whether to give way or not... Edited February 25, 2011 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 (edited) Singapore is an aging population.. Ambulance being on call frequently is common. For the fact that you guys complain about ambulances shows that you probably do not have any friends who are doctors or specialist in a goverment hospital what more a private one... The east and western part of Singapore have 2 hospitals which are common for old folks to seek treatment there as they have a very good team of geriatrics. There maybe times that a civil ambulance maybe activated privately or by the hospitals to pick some rich men old age parent from one hospital and to transfer to another hospital, some to private hospital, some to govt hospital but in ward A (probably know some Senior Consultant in govt hospital). There might be chances that the old age parent could be suffering from stroke or may need a surgery right away... There might be also instances where someone got injuired or fell sick overseas and got air-vac back into Singapore, there might be a possibility that the company might have hired a civil ambulance to pick the person... If you do have friends who are senior doctors in hospitals, you will definately know that there might be times that hospital actually run full house and you will actually know how busy govt hospitals are, also you will know that ambulances are activated everyday frequently... So for those of you who are small minded and probably do not know many rich people or senior doctors or have friends who actually sustain a non life threatening injury and waiting for civil ambulance to come, or have actually waited for ambulance for someone dear or yourself, you will block the way of the ambulance and question their motives in activating sirens... To those who still kpkb and want to do lame stuff to ambulance... so how? that one day when you are waiting for an ambulance for a love one or yourself, other drivers as idiotic as you will cause a major held up and jam to your empty ambulance that is rushing to attend to you, and when the ambulance have picked you or your love one up, other idoitic drivers will continue to block the way because they question if you or your love one is really in need of an emengency... How... fair bo??? Please lah, give way to ambulance... Edited February 25, 2011 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Agreed. This is a very sensitive issue. Not every reader can diifferentiate between doubt and facts. If only 10% of the reader has this doubt, it may become distorted and spread and poison others mind, In the end then they may not make way for the ambulance. Reading thr, i think some are already doubting the ambulance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 As a nurse in an emergency dept in singapore, tell u some facts about ambulances 1) ALL ambulances with flashing lights should be assumed to be on the way to fetch an ill patient or sending them to the hospital 2) It does not matter if it is private or emergency ambulance. Why? Because ppl have preferences. For SCDF, their protocol is to bring the patient to the nearest public hospital's emergency dept unless for special cases like burns then to SGH. If you stay in woodlands and are not a case of burns, you will be sent to KTPH in Yishun. But if you are one of those who must be seen in SGH (preferences), you call a private ambulance because the private ambulance can send you wherever you want to go. 3) There are basically three types of patients being transported on ambulances. Non emergency (those who abuse the system), ill patients (like very high fever, fell and had fractures) and standby cases (where the paramedics might be performing CPR while on the move). The point is that no motorist from the road can tell by looking at the ambulance which of these three kinds of patients any ambulance is carrying so the rule is always give way. Do not assume that private ambulances cannot be carrying standby cases because a ill person can stop breathing along the way. You never know. There will always be black sheep among ambulance crew and the such but you cannot because of that use that as an excuse not to give way to ambulance. It is like being rude to a nice person serving you simply because you had a bad experience a few days ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I am also in the emergency services for over 20 years. (decade of 995 & rest industrial) Remembering many 'standby' cases when performing CPR on the way to hosipital for collapsed casualties, load-n-go case for very badly injured victims, burnt victims,and so on; Most drivers gave way. Thank you and I salute all. Only a small numbers dont give way: ( My time no video cam) 1) usual excuse radio too loud. Cannot hear the siren. When private ambulance provider started business, I suggested to print EMERGENCY AMBULANCE on the fleet of emergency ambulances, so that public will not be confused by the two types of ambulances. Non emergency ambulances are normally equipped with first aid equipment. They dont have the full range of equipment carried on board an emergency ambulance. Their crew may not have the training to handle trauma cases, unless they can afford to hire ex paramedics. Vehicle design and maintenance- only a handful have the deep pockets to invest in safer ambulances and maintained them properly, clean and free from dents and knocks. So it says Non-emergency ambulance- so it is for non emergency only. such as shuttle between home and hospital/clinic for check up, or medical condition such as headache. Call centre for non emergency ambulance 1777 will filter ambulance request, and if it is classified as emergency, they will drop the case and suggest to caller to call 995. I agree that there may be cases that healthy folks collapse while on the way for regular check ups. We must always give way to siren and beacon. Not the type of vehicles used. But the higher number of speeding private ambulances seemed to suggest otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 25, 2011 Author Share February 25, 2011 (edited) I know of such an ambulance driver who drive his wife to work and always cut here cut there because they were always late for work... BUT EVEN THEN, as long as I see an ambulance is on emergency, I will still give way immediately Moreover, the one you saw is on siren and blinking lights. Seriously, why do you want to doubt it? Give way will die is it? Those who were involved in the accident you describe probably deserve it because they should already be on alert when they heard the siren. I remember one time at a cross junction when green lights were in our favour, and a few adjacent cars and myself saw a blinking ambulance wanting to turn right from the opposite side, some of us immediately on our hazard lights and let it turn first. Only one moron want to chiong, but jam break in the end after he saw the rest did not move, but luckily did not cause any accident. In other countries, at traffic lights, cars in front of the ambulance will even mount kerb to let an ambulance pass through, and here we have, some self-righeous drivers who will peek inside the ambulance and see whether there are 2 person sitting inside the ambulance and then decide whether to give way or not... Do you need to be beside the vehicle when you need to look across? If the vehicle is in the same lane would you be able to look across? Are you blocking the vehicle if its at a different lane from you? Sometimes it's good to aim before shooting. or else may be shooting wrong foot. Edited February 25, 2011 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 the driver think he driving honda CIVIC la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 25, 2011 Author Share February 25, 2011 (edited) Guess many do not understand what I mentioned. The ambulance Tailgated the rest of the vehicles in lane one like trying to force them off lane one. I have seen many times the SCDF ambulances with siren on but NEVER tailgating vehicles in front. Even during emergency, the SCDF ambulances will rarely be the cause of accident. Those that like to tailgate the ambulance also one kind. Edited February 25, 2011 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged February 26, 2011 Share February 26, 2011 Two things. Private patients do carry emergency patients nowadays and I am not talking about thise who collapse en route. Sometimes, it is because ppl want to go to a specific hospital like SGH or TTSH because records are there, they are more used to that place. I do not like to criticise ambulance drivers for tailgating because sometimes, if there is no tailgating, the car in front will not give way because they will think that if the ambulance is not tailgating, their speed is ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear February 26, 2011 Share February 26, 2011 Guess many do not understand what I mentioned. The ambulance Tailgated the rest of the vehicles in lane one like trying to force them off lane one. I have seen many times the SCDF ambulances with siren on but NEVER tailgating vehicles in front. Even during emergency, the SCDF ambulances will rarely be the cause of accident. Those that like to tailgate the ambulance also one kind. I dun see anything wrong for ambulance to tailgate, it is an emergency. Well you mentioned that some do and some dun taigate.If you have a heart attack and is in the the ambulance you saw yesterday... I think you would probably prefer the driver to horn all the road hoggers off the lane 1 right. Well of course not every trip is a very emergency case, some took it easier and dun even need to tailgate. When the ambulance is at the back, it gives us sometime to change lane, why wait till the ambulance is here than change? To me, having this thread, we are already casting some doubt on the ambulance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched February 26, 2011 Share February 26, 2011 Coz of abuse of fake emergency by some ambulance drivers, therefore some drivers nowadays may not believe to give way anymore. If those farking ambulance drivers are not severely dealt with as this is the root cause, there will always be doubts whether there is a real emergency. I ever called up before when there were 2 civic ambulances travelling at high speed on lane 1 (tailgating) without siren or blinker lights on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear February 26, 2011 Share February 26, 2011 Civic is a non-emergency ambulance service and there is no reason why they should speed with beacon and siren at any point in time. What TS should have done was to follow the ambulance to its destination to get the facts. I won't be surprised if the driver was speeding back to office to end his shift. If they had abused their presence as a motorist, report them to TP for traffic related offences and to MOH as a regulatory body for non-emergency ambulance service. What about any other car carrying a heart attack patient to hospital?Also cannot speed? Any vehicle also has a possible reason to speed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...