Atonchia Supersonic February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) I was on ECP this morning, a civic ambulance sound the siren near the Tg Katong Road exit. I was at lane 1, Almost all the cars filter to lane 2 to immediately when the ambulance approches. I saw the driver was alone and cannot confirm if there is anyone behind in the civic ambulance. As far as I understand, when ambulance is rushing to hospital, there will be more than 2 person. The speed was certainly more than 90km/hr, almost tailgating to those vehicles in front. Though all cars are slowing down. It indirectly caused a 4 cars collision. A mercedes cab jammed brakes and a ford hit it when one car filtered out from lane 1 to 2 without checking, trying to give way to this ambulance. The car in front of me, my car and a volvo suv managed to stop in time, however the volvo was hit from the back too. We all understand that all drivers should be alert and cautious when siren is heard. However, the action of the ambulance driver was unbecoming as he was tailgating all other cars in lane one during peak hours, causing many to abruptly change lane. We will not be able to confirm if the civic ambulance was attending to what sort of emergency, so all gave way as a benefit of doubt. There are also civic ambulance drivers sounding the siren just to make others clear the road for them to reach destination faster with no emergency on hand. The siren was only sounded when the stretch became more crowded, it should have sounded way ahead and not just then all the cars are slowing down to heavy traffic ahead. Those who travelled ECP in the morning will know the stretch after the gantry. Today incident really create some doubt of the level of emergency of the civic ambulance handled. Anyway, all motorist should be more careful when siren is heard. Almost joined in to form a chain collision. Edited February 24, 2011 by Atonchia ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Is this why there was a ,massive jam AFT marine parade, avoid ECP (AYE)' this morning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 24, 2011 Author Share February 24, 2011 I think so, passed the gantry before 830am. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 most of the time you see cars, taxi act blur don't want to filter earlier until the ambulance .... just driver safely even with an ambulance behind your back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 most of the time you see cars, taxi act blur don't want to filter earlier until the ambulance .... just driver safely even with an ambulance behind your back Nothing beats following an ambulance.. Like the road is cleared for you to go.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 As long as it is an ambulance with sirens on you have to give way.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 if a life is at stake....they have every right...imagine if someone close to you is on board (touch wood)....don't you want them to speed and if possible fly over the car in front of them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) When you are bleeding on the road or heart attack at home, do you wish your EMPTY ambulance will come and pick you up quickly? The siren is proof enough that the ambulance is rushing for something. The accident is caused by the lane1 drivers who never check their rear mirror often enough. Some lane1 drivers will wait till the ambulance is behind them then filter to lane2, hoping to immediately filter back to lane1 behind the ambulance! Some lane1 drivers directly first infront of the ambulance will want to speed as fast the the ambulance, thinking that it's the other second front car that is blocking both his car abd the ambulance and there us no wrong to be directly infront of ambulance as long as both had the intention to break the speed limit. Edited February 24, 2011 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb1623m Clutched February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 I always have my doubts on these civic ambulance which on their siren. For emergency case would you call 995 or 1777? Civic ambulance is non-emergency. Having said that I will still give way if siren is on. Just doubt if the driver is abusing it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 I was on ECP this morning, a civic ambulance sound the siren near the Tg Katong Road exit. I was at lane 1, Almost all the cars filter to lane 2 to immediately when the ambulance approches. I saw the driver was alone and cannot confirm if there is anyone behind in the civic ambulance. As far as I understand, when ambulance is rushing to hospital, there will be more than 2 person. The speed was certainly more than 90km/hr, almost tailgating to those vehicles in front. Though all cars are slowing down. It indirectly caused a 4 cars collision. A mercedes cab jammed brakes and a ford hit it when one car filtered out from lane 1 to 2 without checking, trying to give way to this ambulance. The car in front of me, my car and a volvo suv managed to stop in time, however the volvo was hit from the back too. We all understand that all drivers should be alert and cautious when siren is heard. However, the action of the ambulance driver was unbecoming as he was tailgating all other cars in lane one during peak hours, causing many to abruptly change lane. We will not be able to confirm if the civic ambulance was attending to what sort of emergency, so all gave way as a benefit of doubt. There are also civic ambulance drivers sounding the siren just to make others clear the road for them to reach destination faster with no emergency on hand. The siren was only sounded when the stretch became more crowded, it should have sounded way ahead and not just then all the cars are slowing down to heavy traffic ahead. Those who travelled ECP in the morning will know the stretch after the gantry. Today incident really create some doubt of the level of emergency of the civic ambulance handled. Anyway, all motorist should be more careful when siren is heard. Almost joined in to form a chain collision. Hear siren or see blinker lights means must give way. If you have lingering doubts about authenticity of emergency (maybe the fella rush to buy breakfast or something) or you not happy with the manner the fella drive, take down the number (better if got video) and complain to LTA. That said, I think the merc cab oso to blame. Those on lane 2 must surely expect those in lane 1 to filter in when the ambulance approach right? Very often, i see those in lane 2 purposely refusing to give way to those in lane 1 who are trying to filter in to give way to an ambulance. So the fella in lane 1 either just cut in, or boh lan pah, signal and drive slowly hoping to come across a good samaritan who will let him in. End up ambulance kenna stuck behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 some civic ambulance resp0nd faster then n0rmal 1s. There was 1s a civic ambulance reached n accident scene 1st as they r near by. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Had those lane1 cars check their rear mirror often, they would hear and see the siren ambulance much earlier, and have ample time to cut it to lane2. Don't say taxi not polite to allow lane1 car cut in. I would not let these selfish lane1 cars cut in front of me too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 At least siren is on...last saturday near liang court...this police car..no siren..keep switching lanes without signaling..just like driving his own car... 2 policemen talking and laughing in the car...KNN...that is y recently so many police car accident...number is QX4641X...really feel like email to SPF but think again...not my problem... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WolfT Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 whenever there is an ambulance with siren on lane 1 nearing, i am always prepare to give way to any vehicle coming to my lane but some bast**d don't signal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatisthis04 Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 At least siren is on...last saturday near liang court...this police car..no siren..keep switching lanes without signaling..just like driving his own car... 2 policemen talking and laughing in the car...KNN...that is y recently so many police car accident...number is QX4641X...really feel like email to SPF but think again...not my problem... u should stop n F him....once i do that cos the QX driver was on the hp while driving....i horn n ask him to stop aside...giv him a lecture....he apologize n sweating sia.....he is an officer and thats a very bad example!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I can understand how you feel. Maybe can take down the ambulance car plate and check with their company if the ambulance if really in a rush? As much as we should give way to them but they should not abuse their rights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 u should stop n F him....once i do that cos the QX driver was on the hp while driving....i horn n ask him to stop aside...giv him a lecture....he apologize n sweating sia.....he is an officer and thats a very bad example!! hahaha...salute bro.....never tot of that...lazy too...but all these are young punks n they tot police big FARK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 u should stop n F him....once i do that cos the QX driver was on the hp while driving....i horn n ask him to stop aside...giv him a lecture....he apologize n sweating sia.....he is an officer and thats a very bad example!! Steady lar! I see them need to siam here siam there. Else they say my car this part, that part cannot pass. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...