Election fever - Why so high this time round?

SimonTan

HK is the same, limited land. My old uncle living in HK and told me the medical benefit is very good. He did a bypass and spend very little. Their HK govt really take care of old folks. And some restaurants, offers free drinks to old folks during off-peak hours. In Sg, everything is money here and money there.

HK supposedly have more land and space than Singapore but due to its hilly terrain, they actually have less available space for public housing.

Regards,

Hong Kong has the benefit of having China as it's hinterland, which imports cheap produce. Singapore on the other hand, does not have this benefit.

More Good Years

Colleagues in office talks about election today. Many wishful of a holiday.

Coffeeshop uncles also talk about election when I went to ta-pao my dinner just now.

My mum also told me election coming while having dinner with the TV news on.

Seems like Singapore is very much intune to this coming election!

What is the real reason for the much enthusiasm?

Does citizen very eager to make their voices known? But which direction?

I mean normally people who wants to oppose or highlight something will look forward to EOGM and elections.

I dont understand why the hugh enthusiasms as most people will still vote the incumbent into power(My opinion).

Or will this time be a different outcome?

Its like the EPL. Before season starts, very exciting. But always the same few teams win.

Hong Kong has the benefit of having China as it's hinterland, which imports cheap produce. Singapore on the other hand, does not have this benefit.

More Good Years

Who says we don't have?We have bolehland leh.Actually,our currency conversion to ringgit is better compare to HK dollars convert to RMB.They actually lose out in terms of conversion rate. Been to HK twice, I love their hilly terrain and 4 season weather.Singapore si mi lan ma bo.Floods and drought I think we constantly have.

LOL!! who say so?! kns, singapore simi lan---- mah wu!!!

actually, if singapore is more lax on its policies, alot of bolehland things will thrive here.

cars, meat, bakkwa. etc

actually, if singapore is more lax on its policies, alot of bolehland things will thrive here.

cars, meat, bakkwa. etc

sure can't deny that. it's all give and take. I wouldn't like to see our ladies here get dragged along the streets by the straps of their handbags... in return i gave up bahkwa, have not bought it for donkey years.

just realised that with the new SMCs, unless opposition party get more members to contest the new positions, effectively its diluting the effect of the current opposition party size?

Maybe its their way of introducing more opposition members, but by virtue of the large number of SMCs available, their influence is actually smaller or equal... smart way of introducing more oppositions but effectively no difference as an overall %.

its like issuing more shares in a coy, unless u can subscribe to the pro-rated amt, ure gona b diluted!

Look at our Sentosa,it's all made up of pseudo image.No natural resource.The only natural resource need 25 years to produce, and that's human. fk a woman,9 months pregnant,24 years to finally grad as a uni student.How sad is that?tax we have alot lah,others I don't dare say.

and so... yes, we do not have natural resources... how now brown cow? I guess we should all roll over and die. so sad.

Let's see.. if they can promise to remove the ARF and any petrol tax for the next 5 years.. i sure vote for them.. :D

your vote can be bought? i look down on you [laugh] [laugh]

Who are the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee?

What's the main criteria for setting the various boundary and setting smc or grc?

I mean it must be for the good of citizens right?

Or for the good of Singapore?

Who are the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee?

What's the main criteria for setting the various boundary and setting smc or grc?

I mean it must be for the good of citizens right?

Or for the good of Singapore?

for me at least this time round is good.

I stay near YCK MRT in Ang Mo Kio but under Nee Soon South GRC. Ask MP about plans for land beside YCK MRT, she says dunno, not her basa...

now they redraw the boundary PROPERLY. Nee Soon is Nee Soon GRC. The WHOLE of AMK is under AMK GRC which is good.

I thought this time the boundary seems to be more "logical" than the last GE.