Tip: Accident in NSHW

Beachboy7718

During CNY, there were many cars in NSHW. We travelled at fast lane at about 100km/hr. I let the Madza SUV to cut in from middle lane. After travel for a while, I saw Madza SUV turned to middle lane. I saw new Nissan Livina hit the middle divider (It was hit by proton Wira (2nd car) at its back and lost control). 1st instinct was to do emmegency brake. I was worry my kid and twin babies at back and saw the wira behind me coming. I braked 3 times to allow the wira to have more time to brake. I successfully braked without hitting the car infront of me. But the behind car hit me still. He told me he braked harder and also pull hand brake. My new estima's bumper was chipped out some colors. His car bonet totally dented. We pulled our cars to the side and take down particulars. After a while, there are more serious accident with 7/8 cars behind us.

Since the back car hit me, I would negotiate with him. He was army and wanted to claim on his insurance. My wife taken his paticular. After we make the report nearly my wife hometown. I started calling him about his insurance company. 1st he picked up the phone and agreed to sms me. After that he never picked up and avoided me. I gave up. I went to Toyota-M'sia to check . The workshop said very small accident by hitting back the real planel a bit. No need to repainted bumper if you do not mind with small chips. Cost me RM240.

If you have accident in M'sia and your cars are not serious. The best thing is to ask for some cash and get him compound with fines at police station. Never trust Malay (If he drive proton not BMW/new honda/toyota)! I heard that there are many Malay old cars without insurance on the road told by my brother in law who sell new/used cars in M'sia. If wiithout insurance, they will not dare to report police. Play the trick to ask for cash. For less than RM1K, workshop in M'sia normally does not interest to handle with insurance claim for you. Worst is that it is 3rd party claim. My friend told me that he took 4 yrs to do the 3rd party insurance claims with his workshop in S'pore when having accident in M'sia. He put $300 deposit. The workshop handled the case for him. Not point to claim own insurance to affect NCD.

To me, I learn a lesson when accident in M'sia. Most importantly is that my family is safe.

I had my fair share of accidents as well...

you are right if slight damaged, then just ask for compensation on the spot. but chances are they may not want to come out any money. Depends on the extent of damage, if its pretty bad then just shoot some photos, go make an immediate police report, but bear in mind though even though you are the one being banged, you still have to pay the rm300 for 'reporting fee' so called.

I was banged by a proton iswara before, pretty bad on his car (i think total lost) but my wish rear caved in, quite bad but still drivable. we then waited at the shoulder, no worries, some workshop guy will come and assist you one. He then tow the proton to the police station with me following behind, of course be sure to take photo.

after which make a report at the police station. Thankfully the guy admitted his fault so things settled quite amicably, and then my car and his were towed back to his workshop of which I will proceed to claim his insurance. Remember to ask for a copy of the police report and also his insurance at the police station. The workshop then ask me if I want to repair in Singapore or in MY, which of course I requested to be in Singapore, however I have to leave the car there for a couple of days as it was the weekend and that the insurance assessor was not in, got to wait till monday, so he arrange for a transport for me back to Singapore after clearing important things from the car. Please remember to ask them to sign or produce a letter stating that they have taken possession of your car in their care. As during the weekend you never know what might happen. of course you also have to worry if they swop your car parts for old ones...

Thankfully the car was towed back on tuesday and the singapore workshop help to process my claims and repair immediately, however I got to top up 100bucks as a form of guarantee to come back to sign (dunno when) when the MY car insurance pay out. I was also provided with a courtesy car.

The whole process went pretty smooth and that during the period I was not requested to produce my insurance to any party and that my insurance was not disturbed at all. Heck I did not even notify my insurance too... of course that is a risk though..... however I believe everyone's encounter is different. BTW the whole process took only 10days from date of accident to claiming my car back.

On 2/24/2011 at 3:26 AM, Beachboy7718 said:

During CNY, there were many cars in NSHW. We travelled at fast lane at about 100km/hr. I let the Madza SUV to cut in from middle lane. After travel for a while, I saw Madza SUV turned to middle lane. I saw new Nissan Livina hit the middle divider (It was hit by proton Wira (2nd car) at its back and lost control). 1st instinct was to do emmegency brake. I was worry my kid and twin babies at back and saw the wira behind me coming. I braked 3 times to allow the wira to have more time to brake. I successfully braked without hitting the car infront of me. But the behind car hit me still. He told me he braked harder and also pull hand brake. My new estima's bumper was chipped out some colors. His car bonet totally dented. We pulled our cars to the side and take down particulars. After a while, there are more serious accident with 7/8 cars behind us.

Since the back car hit me, I would negotiate with him. He was army and wanted to claim on his insurance. My wife taken his paticular. After we make the report nearly my wife hometown. I started calling him about his insurance company. 1st he picked up the phone and agreed to sms me. After that he never picked up and avoided me. I gave up. I went to Toyota-M'sia to check . The workshop said very small accident by hitting back the real planel a bit. No need to repainted bumper if you do not mind with small chips. Cost me RM240.

If you have accident in M'sia and your cars are not serious. The best thing is to ask for some cash and get him compound with fines at police station. Never trust Malay (If he drive proton not BMW/new honda/toyota)! I heard that there are many Malay old cars without insurance on the road told by my brother in law who sell new/used cars in M'sia. If wiithout insurance, they will not dare to report police. Play the trick to ask for cash. For less than RM1K, workshop in M'sia normally does not interest to handle with insurance claim for you. Worst is that it is 3rd party claim. My friend told me that he took 4 yrs to do the 3rd party insurance claims with his workshop in S'pore when having accident in M'sia. He put $300 deposit. The workshop handled the case for him. Not point to claim own insurance to affect NCD.

To me, I learn a lesson when accident in M'sia. Most importantly is that my family is safe.

Bro, i seriously dun quite understand what you have just type. Only sentence that caught my attention is "Never trust Malay (If he drive proton not BMW/new honda/toyota)! "

Never trust anyone when in 'boleh-land' when you're involved with an accident that puts the blame more on the other party, period. Not just the Malays only, the Cheenas and Indians as well!

Yap, market rate is RM300 for on the spot settlement at least in JB.

There are good Malaysian too. I once hit a JB Toyota rear bumper. His bumper a bit dent and paint chip off. My car ok.

We both parked one side and he said small thing, didn't ask for money and particulars and asked me to move on.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

1st Car:Nissan Livina;2nd Car: Proton Wira (The car I did not hit); 3rd Car: Madza SUV; 4th Car: Me. ;5th Car: Proton Car Hit me.

Yap. It is lesson for me as the 5th Car's Malay kept saying he would like to claim insurance. For foreigner car like us, 3rd party claim always not favorable to us. so minor accident, just ask for cash from them. There are some honorable persons but Malay is not better than Chinese.

On 2/24/2011 at 4:14 AM, Beachboy7718 said:

1st Car:Nissan Livina;2nd Car: Proton Wira (The car I did not hit); 3rd Car: Madza SUV; 4th Car: Me. ;5th Car: Proton Car Hit me.

Yap. It is lesson for me as the 5th Car's Malay kept saying he would like to claim insurance. For foreigner car like us, 3rd party claim always not favorable to us. so minor accident, just ask for cash from them. There are some honorable persons but Malay is not better than Chinese.

Erm...cannot say like that, my example, happened to be a Malay and he didn't ask me for repair cost. I still feel bad about it, could have just given him RM50 or something but I was in a hurry. So I just say "Thank you and wish him happy new year".

Regards,

On 2/24/2011 at 4:18 AM, Kelpie said:

Erm...cannot say like that, my example, happened to be a Malay and he didn't ask me for repair cost. I still feel bad about it, could have just given him RM50 or something but I was in a hurry. So I just say "Thank you and wish him happy new year".

Regards,

You r honorable person and keep it up! My brother in law tells me that there are many Malays who driving old car on the road without insurance. He sell cars plus insurance. I think that the statistic is true from him. I am M'sian. We speak BM like abang and adik at the accident side. My wife even says army is trustable. haha. Anyhow, I can not side any races. Learn smart in accident. I just met someone who is not honorable. Minor accident, ask for cash!!! Eg. my nephew had his car banged by Chinese, The Chinese banked in $$$ later after he went to workshop repaired and claim from him.

If the accident is serious then you may claim insurance. As long as you take down his car plate number and IC and, photos of accident cars and you file police report in M'sia. The person can not escape. If he does not has insurance and do not file police report, or unthorised driver of the car that will be more fines to him.

On 2/24/2011 at 4:14 AM, Beachboy7718 said:

Hi Bro,

You're right about the foreign part (even having accidents with Malaysian's cars in SG) is a chore to claim or even claimable?!

But this has got nothing to do with race right? What do you mean "... Malay is not better than Chinese"??

Chinese are immortals? God-like? Damn kwai? LOL, stop making me laugh till tears.

Which part of the world you're brought up from. You sound like a pathetic person who has issues with the Malay community or you are not a Singaporean but a Malaysian Chinese who isn't much happy with the way things are Govern in MY thus having to migrate (like most chinese malaysians are doing).

Poor you.

to top off for being a bloody racist and a disgrace to whatever sorry race you belong to, you are a blxxdy roadhog as well.

However, I am glad your family is safe. but you are an arse.

edit: strike out 'sorry', sekali you chinese, you make me malu... you moron.

Edited by Fresh

let me share my part of experience in NSHW.

I was the 3rd in a 6 car collision. 4th car is a Malaysian car. My damage is TOTAL LOST [bigcry] I had to claim my own insuarance as the car that hit me is a Malaysian car. I suck my thumb [furious] . Malaysia insurance company don't cover foreign vehicles accident with the local cars if not wrong.

Edited by Roadhogger

On 2/24/2011 at 5:42 AM, Roadhogger said:

let me share my part of experience in NSHW.

I was the 3rd in a 6 car collision. 4th car is a Malaysian car. My damage is TOTAL LOST [bigcry] I had to claim my own insuarance as the car that hit me is a Malaysian car. I suck my thumb [furious] . Malaysia insurance company don't cover foreign vehicles accident with the local cars if not wrong.

Not true...please refer to my post above.

However if the MY car is not insured that is another case.

Bro if it's a MY car hit u from behind ur lucky he didn't come down put the blame on u for jamming brake! He could hv something up his sleeves.. Don't forget ur in their boleh land hehe.. [:p]

think the question is not NSHW.. more for anywhere in malaysia...

there are some workshop that deals with cross border accidents...

had an accidnet at lota tinggi area two hari rayas ago... 3rd car of 5 car pile up

under normal circumstances... singapore insurance shld scrap my car cos left 1.5 yr.... but claim in malaysia and manage to get repaired...

main thing is the malaysian workshop always insist that u leave the car in malaysia.. which i am not comfy in...

finally gotten a workshop in singapore to assist.. towed the car back to high way pt of causeway and singapore tow truck took over...

MOST IMPORTANT THING is to report to nearest police station in malaysia and make sure they waive off the offense... somehow i was given a tiket...

may be someone can come out with a "check list" like those pilot use.

so that can print and keep a copy in the car to follow?

  On 2/24/2011 at 3:52 AM, Super4 said:

Bro, i seriously dun quite understand what you have just type. Only sentence that caught my attention is "Never trust Malay (If he drive proton not BMW/new honda/toyota)! "

Never trust anyone when in 'boleh-land' when you're involved with an accident that puts the blame more on the other party, period. Not just the Malays only, the Cheenas and Indians as well!

why the heck do u have to say cheena instead of chinese?

bro u should just brake, dun need 3x, the 3x brakes cost u that incident, the 3x signal may be not a good signal, if u have enough time to brake, then brake slowly, dont do like that

Can share with us which is middle lane to you? Is it Lane 2 here?

Can share with us which is fast lane to you? Is it Lane 1 here?

Was yours among a convoy: Nissan-Wira-Toyota-Wira (Nissan 1st car)?