Poor died penniless but with big sum $$$ in CPF

NightWind

u put in, employer put in.

then how much govt put in on top of those?

Regardless how much our government put in. Treat it as a saving that's your children will cash out when we pass on. Be glad that employer is also funding this saving for your children. Which mean we can set aside less money, property to pass on to them and more for ourselves to retire.

Exactly my point. Don't treat it as your money. Only our children can cash out after we pass on, so treat it as an asset we'll leave behind for them. With that in mind, we plan our own retirement leaving more cash and assets for our old age(e.g. no need to pass on our housing, instead mortgage to fund our retirement).

For me I will try to use my OA for housing rather than keep there...for the other 2 no choice..

do u think CPF is to help and safe guard us?

THINK AGAIN!!!! if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!! if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!! if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!!

if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!! if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!! if dont understand ? THINK AGAIN!!!!

CPF is not unique to SG..other countries that have similar scheme are Hong Kong's MPFA and Malaysia's EPF

EPF is must flexi and it is Ur $$$$ compared to our CPF :angry:

see from sg forums

http://sgforums.com/forums/3545/topics/422821

Poor died penniless but with big sum of money in his CPF

by JimBoy Log on Monday, February 14, 2011 at 1:24pm

From CNA forum:

Today morning topic for 95.8FM was...

What you hope / expect to get from Budget Day....

One woman told the DJ...

She hopes the government will return some of their CPF money to the poor and sick...

Her younger brother died because of illness, and he died poor...

But he left a big sum of money in his CPF account which he never enjoy...

She felt pity for her brother....

------------------

... and as i sit up to hear more of what the sister was trying to say this Sheeping cut her off and start blabbering ... It certainly wasn't becos of lack of time for they play a good 5 mins of mindless music later on b4 the news... If they only want to hear what they want to hear then they should not ask ppl to call in. Just do the talking themselves.

The story was her brother fell ill when he was out of job... He didn't have the money for medical fees but got lots of $$$ locked up in CPF!!! The irony was he died penniless but left behind lots of money ....

How the people got robbed and be poor?

CPF is not unique to SG..other countries that have similar scheme are Hong Kong's MPFA and Malaysia's EPF

France too but they can use their CPF to pay for all medical bills including normal consultation fees, medication and all for all the contributor's relatives!

So basically they can go to see doctor without bringing any $ in the wallet, even for a mild flu.

Edited by Tom_kkh

To me CPF is juz like a tax, every mth tax us, but the money even die liao also cannot take out and use, u pass to ur next kin cpf a/c, they also cannot take out n use. This type of tax is almost as ex as the welfare country like denmark, sweden etc that provide free medical, schooling etc. Ppl may say yes can use to pay HDB, but HDB they inflated the price so much using mkt rate pricing! Ur CPF money also back into their own pocket. So its the same. My personal view.

You got the point. You are right. 100% agree. However, I also observed that not that many are so matured with their personal finance like you. The real irony is most of them can not understand inflation yet. Inflation means you pay many times the actual value.

Exactly my point. Don't treat it as your money. Only our children can cash out after we pass on, so treat it as an asset we'll leave behind for them. With that in mind, we plan our own retirement leaving more cash and assets for our old age(e.g. no need to pass on our housing, instead mortgage to fund our retirement).

No children all robbed?

Good question..... You can nominate someone else, e.g the china mei mei who appears out of nowhere and take care of you during the last days.

To me CPF is juz like a tax, every mth tax us, but the money even die liao also cannot take out and use, u pass to ur next kin cpf a/c, they also cannot take out n use. This type of tax is almost as ex as the welfare country like denmark, sweden etc that provide free medical, schooling etc. Ppl may say yes can use to pay HDB, but HDB they inflated the price so much using mkt rate pricing! Ur CPF money also back into their own pocket. So its the same. My personal view.

I'm under the impression that the beneficiary will get cash. Coz from CPF website, they mention they will interbank giro within 15 working days. I assume that it goes to the your bank account since its giro.

Whatever is left after in my CPF, I long time don't consider its my money. It's my children money. With that thinking, I plan to leave behind little cash and asset for them, and use them for my retirement..

But some MP said after see his CPF acc every month he felt rich wor [lipsrsealed]

biggest rubbish i have heard these days. get your facts right before you anyhow talk nonsense.

but if sum was indeed big, why couldnt he take it out?

Being a Sinkie yourself, you are really SO STUPID or act stupid, is it?

There are many of these Sinkie who eithier heed the call of the gov or have develop such fear of using their CPF that they remain locked up well pass their 60s.

The medisave cannot really be used in the sense that the hampering rules ensure that only certain amount can be used for certain reasons, where it involve hospitalisation or to purchase medical insurnace. Moreover only a small percentage can be used. So those 'top ups' are plain wayang

These Sinkies never purchase any private medical insurance. They don't earn big time money and they wait until whatever the gov do to them from time to time.

Call them stupid or whatever...I really can't say much about HOW OTHER PPL RUN THEIR LIVES here in Sinkland!

But you should always bear in mind that God has given you a mind where you don't subscribe to these ideas to run your life and therefore you fare much better from it.

Be thankful.

Becos what is 'given to you' can be 'taken from you' as well.

Herd Mentality comes to mind......... -_-

Being a Sinkie yourself, you are really SO STUPID or act stupid, is it?

There are many of these Sinkie who eithier heed the call of the gov or have develop such fear of using their CPF that they remain locked up well pass their 60s.

The medisave cannot really be used in the sense that the hampering rules ensure that only certain amount can be used for certain reasons, where it involve hospitalisation or to purchase medical insurnace. Moreover only a small percentage can be used. So those 'top ups' are plain wayang

These Sinkies never purchase any private medical insurance. They don't earn big time money and they wait until whatever the gov do to them from time to time.

Call them stupid or whatever...I really can't say much about HOW OTHER PPL RUN THEIR LIVES here in Sinkland!

But you should always bear in mind that God has given you a mind where you don't subscribe to these ideas to run your life and therefore you fare much better from it.

Be thankful.

Becos what is 'given to you' can be 'taken from you' as well.