Boycott pass-the-buck businesses

Latka

Feb 23, 2011

Boycott pass-the-buck businesses

I REFER to last Saturday's report ("Changes for firms"), which quoted Mr Ivan Lee, founder of restaurant chain Thai Express, as saying that the rise in foreign worker levy would be passed on to consumers most of the time, which is why prices of food and services continue to go up.

His remark seems to imply that the Government can introduce any manner of levies and all businessmen need to do is pass on the cost to customers. Any rise in the prices of food and services can, therefore, be attributed to the Government.

His comment reveals an unacceptable attitude by businesses towards customers and suggests an indifference to the spirit and objective of the foreign worker levy.

From a customer's viewpoint, such a remark, especially coming from the boss himself, is wrong. I, for one, shall not be patronising his restaurants.

Gan Teck Lee

Another unhappy fella in our land. Business can't survive on charity leh.

Ivan oso shud have thought out his statement. Cud have said they wl look for ways to cut costs.

Anyways, can always hire PRs wat, why must specifically hire FW?

Food prices already started to increase around the area I live. I was told that their cost eg. chicken, veges and rental increased hence consumer suffers again.

It is just another disguise to raise pricess and make extra $$$.

Construction sector will be badly hit this time, so when firms bid for projects (eg. HDB), they'll put a higher bid. HDB in turn will factor this in and price the flats higher, citing rising cost.

+1 too. Businesses should not just absorb the higher foreign worker levy costs. All of them should also absorb GST, rental, materials, headcount costs too.

+1 :angry:

The whole supply chain, from importer/distributor to food processor to restaurant is dependent on FW. Levy could be passed on anywhere along the chain, not necessarily or exclusively by the restaurant. Should we boycott the restaurant if the raw material importer up price? [gossip]

Food prices already started to increase around the area I live. I was told that their cost eg. chicken, veges and rental increased hence consumer suffers again.

I just realized my favorite roosted food stall increased by 30cents per pax.

Coffee up 10 cents generally. [:(]

at least he is frank...gst up also pass to consumers...time for gahmen to take back some liao..

GST is bo pian. Charging GST is jus help gahmen to collect it on their behalf only.

the root cause of all the problems we have in Singapore is due to Singaporeans, NOT FT/PRs etc. it's the ugly truth no one wants to admit or see.

This point abit hard to say.

Half of our population is foreign, so to put it down to locals abit unsubstantiated.