Road Trip to Desaru & Kota Tinggi 3mar-5Mar

Pisces69

Thanks Pisces!

No prob.

Hope u have an enjoyable holiday like we did. [thumbsup]

Dont forget to post your Field Report (FR) when u return.

Cheers. [wave]

I cant remember the name. But the bad service and lousy lobster one is Jade.

See attached picture of the area from google map.

this one? http://cache.virtualtourist.com/0/4177606.jpg

went there couple of months back... googled and review seemed good.. eat already find the lobster is overrated.. the freshness taste isn't there, a little like mud taste.

Yes, its this lousy Jade Garden restaurant. Will never step into this restaurant again.

Will try the one Pisces mentioned which the local go to if I visit again. NJust now saw the Batu Pahat thread, thinking of going there for road trip instead. [laugh]

Booked online tru Agoda.

Resort mgr informed me ty r going to raise their rates soon(prob cos ty expect more pple to go there when e new hway-E22 opens end of this month).

Not sure if it wil effect Agoda's rates though.

Thanks for the nice FR!

Seems like eat sleep eat sleep activity for u...hee

Nevertheless, how's agoda, is the rates reasonable?

Thanks for the nice FR!

Seems like eat sleep eat sleep activity for u...hee

Nevertheless, how's agoda, is the rates reasonable?

Ya trip was a good one. [thumbsup]

Eat sleep drink n drive only, but no drinking n driving hor [drivingcar] . Hahaha. Food at Sengat was better than what we had at Rengit so I wud recommend them if u plan to visit Desaru.

We did play at the water theme park/pool. Not big but we enjoyed sliding down the water slide fr a couple of hours on the last day. Wanted to try the jet-ski but water was too rough(according to operators) but I see the waves very tame but ty said safety is of utmost importance as several pple incl their own staff had been injured using the jet-ski in rough waves b4. Ty recommend May/Jun to Aug fr water-sports as water sud b much calmer then.

I searched a few sites n found Agoda's rates best.

Maybe u can try them fr other destinations. [idea]

The E22 wil open fully by end of this month so ty expect a bigger crowd once it does. Advantage is the journey wil b cut to only abt 45 mins instead of abt 1 1/2hrs by the old route.

Yes, its this lousy Jade Garden restaurant. Will never step into this restaurant again.

Will try the one Pisces mentioned which the local go to if I visit again. NJust now saw the Batu Pahat thread, thinking of going there for road trip instead. [laugh]

I passed Jade N goodluck when I drove tru Rengit n ty r all bunched together n looks like got some diners unlike Sungai Emas(which I tried). But we found the food at Sungai Emas not that good. I still prefer the food at Sengat. Btw, we were the only diners at Sungai Emas when we were there fr dinner on Thu night.

I feel Batu pahat is very dull as ty r not a tourist destination n nothing to see or do there. I tried their chinese restaurant at the big temple n it was cheap n good. Otherwise we didnt hv much to do there.

I think all the lobsters at Rengit r overated. I only tried it once at Sungai Emas n decided to give it a miss fr all our other meals. I think crabs wud b a better choice.

But the steamed KBL i had at Sengat was delicious. Even their pepper crabs were good. The cook said he did a special one for us. Maybe cos he tot the 2 chio bu with us were Hongkong movie starlets. I "accidently" mentioned it to him n he wanted to take photos with them but I said ty r on holiday n want some privacy. But ty did take photos from a distance though. Hee. [laugh]

I passed Jade N goodluck when I drove tru Rengit n ty r all bunched together n looks like got some diners unlike Sungai Emas(which I tried). But we found the food at Sungai Emas not that good. I still prefer the food at Sengat. Btw, we were the only diners at Sungai Emas when we were there fr dinner on Thu night.

I feel Batu pahat is very dull as ty r not a tourist destination n nothing to see or do there. I tried their chinese restaurant at the big temple n it was cheap n good. Otherwise we didnt hv much to do there.

I am not surprised u are the only customer there on a weekday. I was also the only customer on a weekday. But on the weekend, it will be crowded with tour buses there.

Batu Pahat is for day trip or 2D1N trip only. Just to eat the local delights and see the old town.

I am not surprised u are the only customer there on a weekday. I was also the only customer on a weekday. But on the weekend, it will be crowded with tour buses there.

Batu Pahat is for day trip or 2D1N trip only. Just to eat the local delights and see the old town.

Oh I see. I am planning to go Lotus/Desaru again soon but on weekdays n stay maybe 4d3n this time.

I think weekday is better as we dont need to squeese n "fight" with others fr service.

B Pahat old buildings like SG abt 30-40 yrs ago. I remember our landmark to get bearings was the high water-tower which can b seen from a distance n the Bata store. That time got no GPS. Was there only 2d1n as it was BORING. [sleeping]

Hi

thanks for the update for the new highway .

nice to know it gonna open by end of march .

so that i can easily drive to my auntie house nearby sungai rengit and catch her Best ever Satay & mee rebus along the road heading to Sg Rengit town .

Hi

thanks for the update for the new highway .

nice to know it gonna open by end of march .

so that i can easily drive to my auntie house nearby sungai rengit and catch her Best ever Satay & mee rebus along the road heading to Sg Rengit town .

Maybe u can give us the exact location of yr auntie stall where we can also try her satay n mee rebus when we passing there. [wave]

Oh I see. I am planning to go Lotus/Desaru again soon but on weekdays n stay maybe 4d3n this time.

I think weekday is better as we dont need to squeese n "fight" with others fr service.

B Pahat old buildings like SG abt 30-40 yrs ago. I remember our landmark to get bearings was the high water-tower which can b seen from a distance n the Bata store. That time got no GPS. Was there only 2d1n as it was BORING. [sleeping]

Bro , trust me.. 4d3n at Desaru you will die of boredom.. Desaru not much to see..

No leh. Last trip was 3d2n n was like we didnt get enough. [rolleyes]

Still never try jet-ski n all those quad bikes n other water sports. Gokart also no chance.

Maybe with 4d3n wil hv enough time to try all of those stuff. :D

Last trip was only bfast at Lotus. All other meals were at Rengit n Sengat. Now got new place at Bandar Penawar to explore n try also a Korean Restaurant at the end of Desaru Road near the Gokart place.. 4d3n sud b enough time to chill, drink, eat, play n explore more. Can even go Kota Tinggi or Sedili to see what is happening there. [thumbsup]

No leh. Last trip was 3d2n n was like we didnt get enough. [rolleyes]

Still never try jet-ski n all those quad bikes n other water sports. Gokart also no chance.

Maybe with 4d3n wil hv enough time to try all of those stuff. :D

Last trip was only bfast at Lotus. All other meals were at Rengit n Sengat. Now got new place at Bandar Penawar to explore n try also a Korean Restaurant at the end of Desaru Road near the Gokart place.. 4d3n sud b enough time to chill, drink, eat, play n explore more. Can even go Kota Tinggi or Sedili to see what is happening there. [thumbsup]

Okayy.. haha.. I thought you will be hanging around Desaru resort side only.. If you are exploring the whole place , better.. haha.

If you going Kota Tinggi , at the KT highway , there is one stall at the road side selling burnt coconuts.. It is basically hot coconut.. You should try bro.. Quite refreshing..

Got quad bikes in Lotus Desaru? How come I didn't see it? Ridden on one in Phuket last year and it is quite fun. That said, I can also ride my own m/c there :D

Wah now Lotus sooo expensive.. USD99..

Just to let you all know that Perodua Club Singapore will be going up to Desaru on the 2nd April 2011.. Anyone interested to come?

As for the seafood place, the locals recommend in Sg Renggit Good luck Restoran... My friends been to Jade and got chopped... my friend introduce us a personal friend who is a resident and local guide of Sunggei Renggit who brought us around the area including Desaru etc when we went there last Sept... The guide told me the locals only go to Good Luck.. So for this trip if we have time we will go Good Luck for lunch...

The Wantan Mee + Chee Chong Fun is super amazing and the bak kut teh, I can finish one pot myself...

Bro Pisces69, can tell me what is the best way to get to the highway? we got lost... Is it go on Terbrau Highway and past by Tebrau Jusco and continue straight?? when do we turn out?

Edited by Meganut

Okayy.. haha.. I thought you will be hanging around Desaru resort side only.. If you are exploring the whole place , better.. haha.

If you going Kota Tinggi , at the KT highway , there is one stall at the road side selling burnt coconuts.. It is basically hot coconut.. You should try bro.. Quite refreshing..

Oh this I never tried b4. U got a better idea how to find this place? I must give it a try. [grin]