What's the pros & cons of a BBK?

Zenson_ong

Pros? Better stopping power>>better safety; asthetically pleasing to some;

Cons? Some brands sweak or give off hounding noise; usually need larger rims to accomodate the rotor n caliper; Very expensive to buy and replace parts.

To me BBK is only requiered if the stock brakes cant cope with the power of yr car, which is often not teh case. Unless u have a high performance car, save yr money.

Pros :

1) Shorter breaking distance

2) looks

Cons :

1) Expensive

2) overkill if installed in B & B car

3) drivers can be too overconfident of the braking power, hence, drive more recklessly

4) Higher maintenance costs as breakpads and rotors are more expensive than the stock ones

You may need to depress the brake pedal further to achieve the same braking effect.

Your fuel consumption may go up as the rotors are larger and heavier.

Your brake rotors' heat capacity may actually become worse if your BBK rotors have a larger diameter but are thinner.

Your car may lurch forward too much when you brake as the brake force distribution is uneven.

To me BBK is only requiered if the stock brakes cant cope with the power of yr car, which is often not teh case. Unless u have a high performance car, save yr money.

Most high performance cars already come with pretty good brakes [laugh]

A good set of bbk from big brands like AP racing, Alcon & Brembo cost can cost north of 10K. I know Brembo & to a much lessor extend AP have been suppliers for Automaker as well, so they should work in a more diverted environment, like say tropics climate, or arctic.

These brands have long history in pinnacles of Motorsports like F1, WRC, Lemans etc, so the quality are certainly there, but of course you pay also for the brands.

2nd tiers blands like Rotara, APP, wilwood, also got good reputations, & cost less. They have been used on some race cars in reputable series as well.

Of course then, there is 3rd tier bbk like Taiwan brands, should be ok, as it been around for a while, & they are considerable cheaper. I wouldn't buy them if I lived in colder temperate climate as I have no idea if they tested them under such environments.

My personal favorite is Alcon, just cause it was manufactured in the town I lived, but can't see myself paying the sum for a full set (no money lah). Not new at least, especially considered the short shelf life of our car (10 years).

Edited by Kiadaw

Pros? Better stopping power>>better safety; asthetically pleasing to some;

Cons? Some brands sweak or give off hounding noise; usually need larger rims to accomodate the rotor n caliper; Very expensive to buy and replace parts.

haha true, but if your car is high proformance car, they already come with it in stock.

most of time is we hand itchy go and mod the car.

A good set of bbk from big brands like AP racing, Alcon & Brembo cost can cost north of 10K. I know Brembo & to a much lessor extend AP have been suppliers for Automaker as well, so they should work in a more diverted environment, like say tropics climate, or arctic.

These brands have long history in pinnacles of Motorsports like F1, WRC, Lemans etc, so the quality are certainly there, but of course you pay also for the brands.

2nd tiers blands like Rotara, APP, wilwood, also got good reputations, & cost less. They have been used on some race cars in reputable series as well.

Of course then, there is 3rd tier bbk like Taiwan brands, should be ok, as it been around for a while, & they are considerable cheaper. I wouldn't buy them if I lived in colder temperate climate as I have no idea if they tested them under such environments.

My personal favorite is Alcon, just cause it was manufactured in the town I lived, but can't see myself paying the sum for a full set (no money lah). Not new at least, especially considered the short shelf life of our car (10 years).

infact some big brands of brake manufacturers actually make calipers for tuning companies .

eg prodrive brakes are made by alcon

Zero/sport brakes are made by endless

not to mention many other tuning companies actually uses brembo calipers but with their own logos/company names embossed instead.

Personally I will either get brembo(1st choice) or Alcon and maybe AP Racing. The whole idea of this expensive upgrade is surefooted braking power. To me no point getting those grade 2 BBKs, might as well save yr mulah and get back the stock ones which is cheaper. Brembos are good for a reason, else they wont be developed together with some big names and used as OEM for Porsche, BMW M, Ferrari, Lambo, etc

A set of 6pot/4pot front/rear BBK from brembo with cross drilled or slotted rotors can be had for a little under $10k if you source around, the GT series. I find the brake pads that comes with the brembo noisy. one can change it to a higher grade of brake pads, which will set you back by another $600+ for 2 pieces.

And pls boys and gals and children, pls do not put those plastic pariah 'brembo' red caliper covers over yr stock caliper. Its dangerous and of cos it just makes you look stupid. If that freaking cover crack, good luck.

Edited by Ahbengdriver

weight is the only con if your ride does not have the necessary hp. make sure your ride has the hp that requires a bkk. otherwise it is a waste of money

i dont mod my car, i only save for higher performance car, no point forcing a a donkey to run like a horse.

and my ride hp is only 184, with 260 torque, bread and butter car, so no point

Edited by Minikong

i dont mod my car, i only save for higher performance car, no point forcing a a donkey to run like a horse.

and my ride hp is only 184, with 260 torque, bread and butter car, so no point

I have a feeling you will miss your mini, when you change to your high performance ride. If we are not in Sunny SIngapore, I will advice you to keep your mini, & get the new car as compliment to your mini instead of a replacement.

I used to drive a fiat Punto, its not even quite as fast as your mini, but man, I still miss it today. Going to tight city roads are a breeze. The memories of a leisure drives through the country roads still sticks, & its especially beautiful in the autumn. Damn, but probably, the environment play a part as well.

CRB002392.jpg

When I was in England, I told myself, gonna get a fast car, which I did, when I return here. But I never got the same shiok feel I got back again. [smallcry].

It could be just me, I feel happier driving leisurely in a slow car down a lonely country road, then driving hard on a fast car on our crowded, traffic lights heavy, roads. Imagine a fast car on a nice stretch of hilly roads in wales or a French countryside (with a chio bu :p). That must be like heaven.

I have a feeling you will miss your mini, when you change to your high performance ride. If we are not in Sunny SIngapore, I will advice you to keep your mini, & get the new car as compliment to your mini instead of a replacement.

I used to drive a fiat Punto, its not even quite as fast as your mini, but man, I still miss it today. Going to tight city roads are a breeze. The memories of a leisure drives through the country roads still sticks, & its especially beautiful in the autumn. Damn, but probably, the environment play a part as well.

CRB002392.jpg

When I was in England, I told myself, gonna get a fast car, which I did, when I return here. But I never got the same shiok feel I got back again. [smallcry] .

It could be just me, I feel happier driving leisurely in a slow car down a lonely country road, then driving hard on a fast car on our crowded, traffic lights heavy, roads. Imagine a fast car on a nice stretch of hilly roads in wales or a French countryside (with a chio bu :p). That must be like heaven.

ya bro agree with you also, not everything is about speed, i love my mini alot, just that this is my 3rd mini already hahahaha

u so romantica, still got such a nice picture for me to imagine

I think if upgrade to bbk u also need to make sure ur tires can make full use of it. Seen some ppl upgrade to bbk for the looks but then save on tires. Their braking distance still the same. The tires cannot grip properly.