Celicar Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 On 2/16/2011 at 1:37 AM, Acemundo said: 2. What is the crux in this matter "Of" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 on this mata? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 (edited) choice #2 the first choice only more appropriate when the word assistance is used eg your assistance on this matter is required. third choice WITH is less often used and mostly with the word assistance as well but only when ON is not appropriate, eg assistance WITH him (cos you cannot use assistance on him) Edited February 16, 2011 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 On 2/16/2011 at 3:52 AM, Kelpie said: For example, Do we use: Please assist on this matter or Please assist in this matter or Please assist with this matter? Thank you. Regards, Please assist with regard to this matter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 On 2/16/2011 at 3:47 AM, Thargor said: Mind over matter.... If you don't mind...it doesnt matter. .... WRONG lor... it should be... I don't mind and you don't matter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 The exact construction is going to depend on the rest of the context that it is being used. In general, on or in can be used. But to my ears "matter" is relatively informal - unless it is being used instead of a repetition. Perhaps TS could give a more detailed example of how or where it is being used? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 17, 2011 Author Share February 17, 2011 On 2/16/2011 at 4:45 AM, Darryn said: The exact construction is going to depend on the rest of the context that it is being used. In general, on or in can be used. But to my ears "matter" is relatively informal - unless it is being used instead of a repetition. Perhaps TS could give a more detailed example of how or where it is being used? In business correspondences, it is pretty common to ask for assistance or to seek attention concerning matters. I wanted to know whether, "In" will be universally acceptable when constructing sentences concerning matters and issues. So, it will be as simple as I've earlier mentioned, for example: Please assist in this matter, We need your support in this matter, Your attention in this matter is much appreciated, Your advice in this matter is needed and etc. If In is ok, I will just stick with it and skip the use of "ON". Unless, there is specific use of the "IN" and the "ON". It seems to me there is no rules and both are acceptable. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 17, 2011 Share February 17, 2011 On 2/17/2011 at 12:35 AM, Kelpie said: In business correspondences, it is pretty common to ask for assistance or to seek attention concerning matters. I wanted to know whether, "In" will be universally acceptable when constructing sentences concerning matters and issues. So, it will be as simple as I've earlier mentioned, for example: Please assist in this matter, We need your support in this matter, Your attention in this matter is much appreciated, Your advice in this matter is needed and etc. If In is ok, I will just stick with it and skip the use of "ON". Unless, there is specific use of the "IN" and the "ON". It seems to me there is no rules and both are acceptable. Regards, I would prefer a more active voice, and also more specific information to be given on what you expect...following your examples... Please assist in this matter, Your kind assistance in resolving this matter is (or "would be") greatly appreciated We need your support in this matter, (in a business partnership I would never admit in writing to NEEDING their support, it seems to imply weakness, which is something that I wouldn't want to admit to) a) Your thoughtful support for this proposal / opportunity will greatly improve mutual chances of success. b) As regards the matter of "xxxxx", we are seeking your kind support by {what action do you expect} Your attention in this matter is much appreciated a) We would like to thank you for you attention and assistance in bringing this matter to a close b) Due to {what reason} your personal attention to / in (both are equally correct) the matter of {what problem} would be greatly appreciated. Your advice in this matter is needed requested and etc. Your advice on the matter of {what matter} would be greatly appreciated, in particular we are interested in your thoughts on {what specific part of the problem} Just my 2 cents......no real right or wrong, mostly can use in or on interchangably Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 18, 2011 Author Share February 18, 2011 On 2/17/2011 at 1:22 AM, Darryn said: I would prefer a more active voice, and also more specific information to be given on what you expect...following your examples... Please assist in this matter, Your kind assistance in resolving this matter is (or "would be") greatly appreciated We need your support in this matter, (in a business partnership I would never admit in writing to NEEDING their support, it seems to imply weakness, which is something that I wouldn't want to admit to) a) Your thoughtful support for this proposal / opportunity will greatly improve mutual chances of success. b) As regards the matter of "xxxxx", we are seeking your kind support by {what action do you expect} Your attention in this matter is much appreciated a) We would like to thank you for you attention and assistance in bringing this matter to a close b) Due to {what reason} your personal attention to / in (both are equally correct) the matter of {what problem} would be greatly appreciated. Your advice in this matter is needed requested and etc. Your advice on the matter of {what matter} would be greatly appreciated, in particular we are interested in your thoughts on {what specific part of the problem} Just my 2 cents......no real right or wrong, mostly can use in or on interchangably It is ok, I'm here to learn. Actually I try not to go into details on the constructions. But from what you've written: Your kind assistance in resolving this matter is (or "would be") greatly appreciated.. a) We would like to thank you for you attention and assistance in bringing this matter to a close b) Due to {what reason} your personal attention to / in (both are equally correct) the matter of {what problem} would be greatly appreciated. Your advice on the matter of {what matter} would be greatly appreciated, in particular we are interested in your thoughts on {what specific part of the problem} I'm of the thought that you seems to refer to use "IN" than "ON" with regards to the usage . Ok lah, I think I will stick with "IN" rather than "ON", since there is no rules (right or wrong). Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 18, 2011 Share February 18, 2011 Depending on which position when spoken to :- 1. On this matter? - sound more of 'commanding' and an answer is require .... 2. In this matter? - sound much neutral and widely use during meeting where group of ppls discussing ...... 3. With this matter? - sound more humble approach...... my 2 cents worth commence ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched February 18, 2011 Share February 18, 2011 On 2/18/2011 at 12:29 AM, Picnic06 said: Depending on which position when spoken to :- 1. On this matter? - sound more of 'commanding' and an answer is require .... 2. In this matter? - sound much neutral and widely use during meeting where group of ppls discussing ...... 3. With this matter? - sound more humble approach...... my 2 cents worth commence ... lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched February 18, 2011 Share February 18, 2011 simi ang mo? british, american or australia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear February 18, 2011 Share February 18, 2011 What's the matter with TS for asking this in the first place? Does it matter? After all, what matters is the whatever matter is the matter, he should not matter about it too much. If it really mattered, then whatever mattered to him really doesn't matter. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...