Nissan Sunny

Mrkiasume

To tag along this thread, i drive an 2006 sunny auto, when driving off from rest, the car will jerk during change of first gear.. Is this normal for the rest of sunny drivers ?

BoneStock. what do you mean by having your torque converter locked?

Most jap cars have a device between the engine and the gearbox called torque convertor. it simply transfer the torque from the engine to the gearbox to the drive shafts and finally to the wheels.

The are 2 "fans" in the torque convertor facing each other....one connected to engine the other to teh gearbox...when one is turned by the engine the other will follow suit but at a slower speed because of slippage. This happens when you drive in the city when the speeds are low. When you cruise on highway in the top gear the torque convertor will lock up thus improving teh efficiency of your ride....now the 2 fans spin at the same speed

hope this helps.

Anyone here owns a 2005 Sunny?? The 1 with the QG16DE engine.

Normally when you drive. How much do you rev to? like from a stop to say 70kph.

I normally hit around 3k.

was wondering if its my driving style or is my gearbox slipping??

normally 1st gear I rev to 2.7k then shift to 2nd gear, then again 2.5k shift to 3rd gear [laugh]

To tag along this thread, i drive an 2006 sunny auto, when driving off from rest, the car will jerk during change of first gear.. Is this normal for the rest of sunny drivers ?

A slight jerk is normal, the sunny i had last time, had a knocking sound (kong sound) when changing gears. So eventually the gearbox dun change gear .. at the end, export the car .. cos mech confirm gearbox spoil and will cost like 7k for a recon one ..!!!! my mileage only 80kkm nia for close to 4yrs old.

It's normal especially in the morning when the tranny is still cold. Note it's the tranny and not the engine. Even if you warm the engine up to operating temp before moving off you will still experience the jerk from gear 1 to 2. Only with the tranny warmed will you experience a much reduced jerk

The N16 Nissan Sunny is one of the worst car that I have driven.

Drove 1.6 A from Singapore to KL once with a colleague and seriously the car really CMI ..... At 100km/h, the rpm was close to 3000 and engine was noisy like hell. Petrol consumption also terrible .... Car got no power and overtaking is a nightmare on the NS highway.

The only good thing is that it is very quiet driving at speed below 20 km/h.

I did own a B16 Sunny 1.5M and it is a much better car.

Anyone here owns a 2005 Sunny?? The 1 with the QG16DE engine.

Normally when you drive. How much do you rev to? like from a stop to say 70kph.

I normally hit around 3k.

was wondering if its my driving style or is my gearbox slipping??

Depends on how fast you want to reach 70kph.

Drove 1.6 A from Singapore to KL once with a colleague and seriously the car really CMI ..... At 100km/h, the rpm was close to 3000 and engine was noisy like hell. Petrol consumption also terrible .... Car got no power and overtaking is a nightmare on the NS highway.

Means the car was not properly maintained. The way you described it sounds worst than I travelling at 170. Averaging 130, my auto consumption is more than 13.5 per litre.

80K kichai? So much so for the infamous Japenis reliability? :wacko:

Yah lor .. bot 2nd hand .. maybe already a lemon, this is my 2nd Nissan Sunny. Preferred my previous B14 model, FC is good, power is there and more spacious interior.

i travelled in msia alot. 120km/hr, it's 3k rpm.

100km/hr it's 2.5k rpm.

fuel consumption - i drag n drag....1/4 tank gone after 110km...

bad? i think it's ok.......at 140km/hr, its still v stable......

i travelled in msia alot. 120km/hr, it's 3k rpm.

100km/hr it's 2.5k rpm.

fuel consumption - i drag n drag....1/4 tank gone after 110km...

bad? i think it's ok.......at 140km/hr, its still v stable......

manual one right?

I ever hitted 185km/h on NSHW, still OK :o

manual one right?

auto....lazy to drive a manual...it's my car who drive me most of the time.. [laugh]

1st Gear

Wow, hit 185km/hr. You whole car must be shaking huh?

manual one right?

Wow, hit 185km/hr. You whole car must be shaking huh?

Ok leh. I hitted 180+ on KJE before chasing after a 1.8TC MY sunny before I remember I'm in SG.

Farking MY car must be going at 200+ can't catch up...

A slight jerk is normal, the sunny i had last time, had a knocking sound (kong sound) when changing gears. So eventually the gearbox dun change gear .. at the end, export the car .. cos mech confirm gearbox spoil and will cost like 7k for a recon one ..!!!! my mileage only 80kkm nia for close to 4yrs old.

wah... ur sunny which yr de 7K for gearbox.... scary

mine plus trade in old one. 900 only.

urs is cvtc?

hi, got some qns here regarding my friend's 5 year old nissan sunny.

this morning when he was driving, the car suddenly vibrates alot and engine lights on.

in the afternoon when driving hm, the car suddenly breaks down and cant be started anymore.

lucky there was not much cars around, the brake also dont works.

no choice have to pull handbrake to stop the car fully.

called tow truck and his sunny is now in the workshop.

after some check, was told that 2 sensors are faulty.

dont know which 2, but will go down tml to ask.

was told that the cost is around 500++ to change the the 2 sensor.

does the stockist sells the sensor ?

thank alot...

its not the brake dont work.

presume the engine suddenly dies while cruising, the vacuum servo also stop functioning. Meaning to say, you have to use your leg power to stop without any assistance.

Flintstones use foot to step on ground to slow down while you need to hit the pedal hard.... [;)]