Phluvcat 6th Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Whose car is affected by the hot weather? Example...fc goes down, power goes down...sluggish. Maybe mine is 1.5l niah so quite affected by it. Otherwise...it is shiok...when the weather is cool...a lot of difference. Who experience or feel the same? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 (edited) i just know my air con wasn't that cold even after service. Edited February 12, 2011 by Lanevomax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 I know that my engine runs quieter when the weather is real cool, like 2 or 3 weeks ago when it rained non-stop for more than 2 days... Or maybe I'm hallucinating? Fc and power no change though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 i feel no difference..FC the same..just that aircon not so cold although just serviced..but rainy days very good to drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Since when is Singapore cold? I got experience the wiper fluid frozen, wiper cannot move, window cannot wind down, even door need cow strength to open before. You need to stop to use the ice scrapper every few hours of driving as the windscreen get freeze over time. But that was fun, good experiences. But I do missed the sub 23degC Singapore. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 so lucky, go overseas before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 I know that my engine runs quieter when the weather is real cool, like 2 or 3 weeks ago when it rained non-stop for more than 2 days... Or maybe I'm hallucinating? Fc and power no change though... I think its the radiator fan. When the weather cool its not running at full speed? I know some cars the radiator fan very loud. I sat in a BMW on a hot afternoon the fan so loud that u can hear it in the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Since when is Singapore cold? I got experience the wiper fluid frozen, wiper cannot move, window cannot wind down, even door need cow strength to open before. You need to stop to use the ice scrapper every few hours of driving as the windscreen get freeze over time. But that was fun, good experiences. But I do missed the sub 23degC Singapore. :( Even sg temp drop to 23 deg also doesn't consider cold. What is real cold weather is temp hover ard 1-2 deg or below! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soufigo Neutral Newbie February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 colder air more oxygen, hotter air less oxygen. more oxygen better combustion. thats the theory my mechanic tells me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Whose car is affected by the hot weather? Example...fc goes down, power goes down...sluggish. Maybe mine is 1.5l niah so quite affected by it. Otherwise...it is shiok...when the weather is cool...a lot of difference. Who experience or feel the same? u referring to heat soak? on very very hot days, i think i also heard engine pinging if i floor my pedal.. but that seldom happens. yep, performance is a bit sluggish. didn't check fc though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 12, 2011 Author Share February 12, 2011 u referring to heat soak? on very very hot days, i think i also heard engine pinging if i floor my pedal.. but that seldom happens. yep, performance is a bit sluggish. didn't check fc though. what's heat soak? what's pinging? cool weather step little bit go in every gear, hot weather must step more for same acceleration. step more means throttle open wider means more fuel for same performance....fc drops... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 12, 2011 Author Share February 12, 2011 colder air more oxygen, hotter air less oxygen. more oxygen better combustion. thats the theory my mechanic tells me ur mech is right. just wondering who feel like that also...maybe should restrict to those 1.6L and below car, and N.A. engine only. I think bigger cc engines not so affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 not really my 1.8L affected alot by weather Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 I think its the radiator fan. When the weather cool its not running at full speed? I know some cars the radiator fan very loud. I sat in a BMW on a hot afternoon the fan so loud that u can hear it in the car. oh man, you're so right... maybe that's why. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabe Neutral Newbie February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Don't even need to be on different days, my car is just considerably more powerful at night because of lower temperature air intake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Even sg temp drop to 23 deg also doesn't consider cold. What is real cold weather is temp hover ard 1-2 deg or below! There is only hot, or very hot in Singapore. Any way, 22 deg C is about as good as it gets here liao lah. Cannot compare with other temperate country. 22 deg is like summer mid day temperature in some countries, on the hottest month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear February 13, 2011 Author Share February 13, 2011 not really my 1.8L affected alot by weather I dunno what car u driving but going by ur avatar...ur car got supercharger right? still affected by hot weather? some drivers may not be sensitive to their car performance in different Singapore weather. But to those who can really feel it...must have irked you quite a bit right? I usually drive slower during hotter days cos I knew I am just going to waste more petrol if I juah yew. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 (edited) In contrast, my car fc has gone down. Early used to be around 11.5, this time gave me around 12.5!! Yes, AC is bit sluggish nowadays, but, no choice. Edited February 13, 2011 by Agalvilaku ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...