questionedfish Clutched February 13, 2011 Author Share February 13, 2011 haha.. paiseh. meant to say cannot. hahahaha Thanks for pointing it out :) Cheers! no prob! but how is it possible to tell a person straight in the face, that we cant do business. like so unprofessional and may damage reputation ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 no prob! but how is it possible to tell a person straight in the face, that we cant do business. like so unprofessional and may damage reputation "Mr X, I'm sorry but it is impossible for my boss to accept that I sold you material Y below cost and my company still has to fork out capital for your project/purchase without any possible tangible returns. I'm sure you can understand my predictament that while I wish to support you, the said scenario simply won't happen. Perhaps we can work out something more viable along my previous proposal that can be mutually beneficial to everyone?" "Beh sai lah!! Hor le ci gao kut liao. Wa kin dit buay hor le, mia zhai hor taoway char liu he. Xiang kay hor le kay 5 pah sien, wa mai tan, bo pian buay hor le ko ai kay tiap tio bo?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear February 13, 2011 Share February 13, 2011 no prob! but how is it possible to tell a person straight in the face, that we cant do business. like so unprofessional and may damage reputation "Today I sell you, tomorrow I close shop!" - Jack Russel (Chinaman Impersonation) "For you I give speeecial price. This item, normallee fiftee dohllars, I give you fourty-ninee fiftee. Be a man! Do the right thing!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Delrosa81 Neutral Newbie February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 sales personnel face no value one Yes I agree, I have been in sales since 2004 after my NS. Sales must know how to tolerate customer's insults and nonsense. I have been insulted, scolded, chased out of other ppl office before when i was just going door to door to do sales. Some ppl who have strong pride, cannot do sales, cos its very difficult for them to take things lying down. For me, the job made me a stronger person. End of the day, customer insult u, make u lose face, but u can have a big sale, why not? Just take it easy. Its others ppl mouth, let them say what they like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 What u selling??? I'm a purchaser for my company's vessels. I purchase consumables and engineering spares. Consumables is a very wide range, from pen or pencil to tv to camera. Engineering spares will be spare parts for existing equipments onboard the vessel like main engine(Wartsila, Yanmar, MAN B&W, Rolls Royce, Volvo, etc...) to communication equipment(Sailor, Thrane & Thrane, Motorola, Furuno, etc...) Me not difficult with sales person one. Just dont keep bugging for sales can already and no need to face-to-face meeting. Of cos, price must be competitive and leadtime must be ASAP. Normally I'll compare prices with oversea vendors cos our vessels are located all over the world and we freight our items all over the world to send it onboard the vessel. A few times, we send our staff to hand carry spares directly to the vessel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 i think engineer in charge nia. dont know why some customers so garang in argueing for a cheap price also, they also no share in the company or in the discounts given Maybe they have KPI to meet also.. you never know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 i don't see any reasons that a deal can go through if it involves personal attacks. My ex-colleague once screwed a sales guy who repeatedly spelt his name wrong in email correspondence (Brian becomes Brain). Despite several gentle reminders, this sales guy continued to spell my ex-colleague's name wrongly. And also the fact that a particular product purchased from him kept getting delayed for weeks and weeks. So, one day, with no options left, my ex-colleague called this sales guy's manager and also the GM down to screw all of them. Not literally, but rather to make a point that he meant business even if we were a small company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Delrosa81 Neutral Newbie February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 What u selling??? I'm a purchaser for my company's vessels. I purchase consumables and engineering spares. Consumables is a very wide range, from pen or pencil to tv to camera. Engineering spares will be spare parts for existing equipments onboard the vessel like main engine(Wartsila, Yanmar, MAN B&W, Rolls Royce, Volvo, etc...) to communication equipment(Sailor, Thrane & Thrane, Motorola, Furuno, etc...) Me not difficult with sales person one. Just dont keep bugging for sales can already and no need to face-to-face meeting. Of cos, price must be competitive and leadtime must be ASAP. Normally I'll compare prices with oversea vendors cos our vessels are located all over the world and we freight our items all over the world to send it onboard the vessel. A few times, we send our staff to hand carry spares directly to the vessel. Im doing engineering sales, customised components for customers like Motorola, Nokia, HP, etc. We customise cut adhesives, foams, conductive foams, etc. Designers will design and give us drawings and we will cut for them. Sometimes we go to customers to ask for biz, 1st time only, genna chase out liaoz haa haa. I guess alot of companies do not like door to door salesman. I started out doing door to door then now doing solely on referrals only. Referrals much easier. But competitive....china manufacturing so much cheaper.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 this company is our existing client, but this particular person is new prospect. beats me too. no idea why he's being offensive or talk personal.probably he's the only one who has a bad impression of me, but i catch no hint of any ways in which i've offended him. You approach him or he approach u??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 Im doing engineering sales, customised components for customers like Motorola, Nokia, HP, etc. We customise cut adhesives, foams, conductive foams, etc. Designers will design and give us drawings and we will cut for them. Sometimes we go to customers to ask for biz, 1st time only, genna chase out liaoz haa haa. I guess alot of companies do not like door to door salesman. I started out doing door to door then now doing solely on referrals only. Referrals much easier. But competitive....china manufacturing so much cheaper.... Yup, China is very competitive. Nowadays, our vessels are built in China. But the quality is not so good too. We build the vessel in China, sail them to Singapore and outfit the vessel with the charterer's require equipments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 i dun like pple keep arrange to mit and intro them..if want i will tell them if want then i call them if not spam my emails..kaoz..v fan one as selling to pple, i choose also..in sense want this want good want cheap v niao one, i will choose to sell to the one make my life easier..as in rather earn lesser $ but easier life..lol usually i am direct approach,for sake of making just abit more,waste my time more..end of the day ,isnt it the same?lol,thats why i cannot work sales line..haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 i dun like pple keep arrange to mit and intro them..if want i will tell them if want then i call them if not spam my emails..kaoz..v fan one Same same!!! Encounter one farker sales guy. Keep calling to meet, but I kept rejecting. Then keep sending me email greetings, Christmas eve send one, Christmas send one, Boixing day send one, NY eve send one, NY send one, CNY eve send one, CNY send one, CNY third day send one, CNY 7th day send one, etc.......... And every other exhibitions, keep sending invites even thou we are in a different industry. Damn "gian pung" one. I told my boss abt it and he rang up that farker's boss and from then on, no more such nonsense liao. Their boss also change sales person to take care of our account. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 What u selling??? I'm a purchaser for my company's vessels. I purchase consumables and engineering spares. Consumables is a very wide range, from pen or pencil to tv to camera. Engineering spares will be spare parts for existing equipments onboard the vessel like main engine(Wartsila, Yanmar, MAN B&W, Rolls Royce, Volvo, etc...) to communication equipment(Sailor, Thrane & Thrane, Motorola, Furuno, etc...) Me not difficult with sales person one. Just dont keep bugging for sales can already and no need to face-to-face meeting. Of cos, price must be competitive and leadtime must be ASAP. Normally I'll compare prices with oversea vendors cos our vessels are located all over the world and we freight our items all over the world to send it onboard the vessel. A few times, we send our staff to hand carry spares directly to the vessel. bugging for sales in your definition means? i had met alot of buyers who never response after receiving my quotation so usually i will follow up to render further assistance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear February 14, 2011 Share February 14, 2011 Same same!!! Encounter one farker sales guy. Keep calling to meet, but I kept rejecting. Then keep sending me email greetings, Christmas eve send one, Christmas send one, Boixing day send one, NY eve send one, NY send one, CNY eve send one, CNY send one, CNY third day send one, CNY 7th day send one, etc.......... And every other exhibitions, keep sending invites even thou we are in a different industry. Damn "gian pung" one. I told my boss abt it and he rang up that farker's boss and from then on, no more such nonsense liao. Their boss also change sales person to take care of our account. actually iam puzzle why you don't meet the sales person to understand more about his products? maybe his quality is better and price is lower? some products need face to face discussion before a quote can be done,not just over the phone and said "ok,how much are you selling?or just send me your quotation." a sincere buyer imo is someone who is willing to listen to sales person. usually those without meeting with buyer,i would say very hard to close the deal because: 1).The buyer is most probably not interested or lazy to switch supplier,thus not interested to meet sales person. 2).The buyer never even meet you before,how can he trust you?Unless you are selling some international brands. There are some buyers who asked for quote and got a lower quote,but they went back to their current supplier to press down or challenge the price instead of buying from the new supplier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 actually iam puzzle why you don't meet the sales person to understand more about his products? maybe his quality is better and price is lower? some products need face to face discussion before a quote can be done,not just over the phone and said "ok,how much are you selling?or just send me your quotation." a sincere buyer imo is someone who is willing to listen to sales person. usually those without meeting with buyer,i would say very hard to close the deal because: 1).The buyer is most probably not interested or lazy to switch supplier,thus not interested to meet sales person. 2).The buyer never even meet you before,how can he trust you?Unless you are selling some international brands. There are some buyers who asked for quote and got a lower quote,but they went back to their current supplier to press down or challenge the price instead of buying from the new supplier. 99% of the engineering spares I purchase, I already know the make, model and part number. Only the same make, model and part number will fit back into the component. I want a Toyota Altis air filter, will a Nissan Sunny air filter fit into the Toyota Altis air box??? So I just need to know how much you wana quote me. I will get three quotes locally and then get one quote from my japanese buying house(who will get quote from Toyota Japan) and another quote from Toyota Dubai(where the vessel is located). If every salesman wana meet me, I will die cork standing just meeting salesmen the whole day w/o making any purchase. I have 16 vessels under my care, on average, each vessel will issue 10 purchase request a day. So I have abt 160 purchase request. Each request I need a minimum of 3 quotes. So I will be sending 480 quotes per day. Each salesman usually take up 1-2hrs of my time meeting me and intro their stuff. One day only 24hrs, working time is 8hrs per day. 480 quotes = 480 salesmen looking for me to intro themselves!!! How to find 480hrs per day??? My company has 70+ vessels and will increase to 100 vessels within the next two years. There are only 6 of us purchaser here. Where to find time to meet salesman??? My company will be flooded with salesmen if we meet every one for every quote. Unless I purchase more than three times a month from u, I will listen to ur sales talk. Most of the time, I send out quotation request, first two with the lowest quote gets the order. I cannot afford to wait for quotes otherwise my purchase request backlog will build up. Here is like a market, u want u quote, dont want, I ask another competitor. SG dont have, nvm, we buy from MY, Dubai, Japan, Korea, Australia, Norway, UK, Germany and South Africa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 99% of the engineering spares I purchase, I already know the make, model and part number. Only the same make, model and part number will fit back into the component. I want a Toyota Altis air filter, will a Nissan Sunny air filter fit into the Toyota Altis air box??? So I just need to know how much you wana quote me. I will get three quotes locally and then get one quote from my japanese buying house(who will get quote from Toyota Japan) and another quote from Toyota Dubai(where the vessel is located). If every salesman wana meet me, I will die cork standing just meeting salesmen the whole day w/o making any purchase. I have 16 vessels under my care, on average, each vessel will issue 10 purchase request a day. So I have abt 160 purchase request. Each request I need a minimum of 3 quotes. So I will be sending 480 quotes per day. Each salesman usually take up 1-2hrs of my time meeting me and intro their stuff. One day only 24hrs, working time is 8hrs per day. 480 quotes = 480 salesmen looking for me to intro themselves!!! How to find 480hrs per day??? My company has 70+ vessels and will increase to 100 vessels within the next two years. There are only 6 of us purchaser here. Where to find time to meet salesman??? My company will be flooded with salesmen if we meet every one for every quote. Unless I purchase more than three times a month from u, I will listen to ur sales talk. Most of the time, I send out quotation request, first two with the lowest quote gets the order. I cannot afford to wait for quotes otherwise my purchase request backlog will build up. Here is like a market, u want u quote, dont want, I ask another competitor. SG dont have, nvm, we buy from MY, Dubai, Japan, Korea, Australia, Norway, UK, Germany and South Africa. I think your dept is understaffed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 Usually i will tell if want i will find them if keep pestering me i will boycott them lol worst come to worst ask them go bid tender as term provider if not i cant buy then they LL lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2011 Share February 15, 2011 I think your dept is understaffed. Definately understaffed. Other ship owner company, each person only handle 3-4 vessels per person. We have to handle 10+ vessels per person. Somemore bonus only two mths this year. Overworked, under paid. I'll be moving out of purchasing end of this month, back to technical. Been doing purchasing the last three years already. Everyday is rush rush work. A bit hectic, working like a robot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...