Latka 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Members of Parliament (MPs) and industry watchers are concerned that the levies imposed on local visitors to the integrated resort (IR) casinos are not achieving its desired effect. A whopping S$130 million in levies were collected from both IR casinos between April and November last year alone, The Straits Times reported. It seems the idea of losing S$100 even before hitting the tables has not deterred a few thousand Singaporean and PR visitors from entering the casino daily, based on the above figure. Mrs Lim Hwee Hwa, Minister in the Prime Minister ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Erection coming mah, so must come out and show the caring and concern face. Then after erection, the mask will drop off to reveal the other side. They probably regretted setting the fee at $100. Anyway there is no high fees that can deter a gambler. He'll just put a bigger bet on each game to recover back the entrance fees, and many will sink into deeper debts. If the gov wants to control and deter these gamblers, then they should set a maximum number of entries per year tied to the NRIC. Forget aboyt the $100 fee. Once u use up the quota, then see u next year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 I think your suggestion to set a quota is a great idea and feasible..Setting a levy won't achieve its effect, cos once a gambler is addicted, he will want to try his luck nevertheless...the higher the levy, it will only cause the gambler to sink deeper...I think the reason why govt still prefer the idea of a levy is the amt of revenue it generates and not really so much because they do not want local Singaporeans to enter casino to gamble. If this is truly the reason, there are so many other ways to discourage local Singaporeans to enter the casino to gamble.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 (edited) today after work went to a friend's hair salon, mrs do hair steaming for $55. The owner my friend, a straight talking lao chio lady age 38, wearily told me that on the first day of cny, she lost 20k in a day. not surprised, as she paid the 2k annual levy fee, and had lost a fortune since the opening of the ir. she always wanted to conceive but until now cannot. in my heart i thinking, her loses can easily buy a new car liao. haiz. Edited February 10, 2011 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superyandao 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 our useless gov only know how to use below the belt imposing monetary-based solutions. too many cars implement coe. traffic jam increase erp. too many kids impose penalty. hospital too little beds do means testing. hdb under supply impose monetary restrictions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 (edited) wont rise until after your erection finish. electricity go up, phonebill go up, stamps price go up, erp go up, bus fare go up, taxi fare go up, gst go up, everything will be up up! and you still LLLLLLLS own T&C!! Edited February 10, 2011 by Chengwh492 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 why have the levy in the first place if the aim was to deter compulsive gamblers then they already said that no amount of levy will discourage compulsive gamblers from going to the casino the casual gamblers who are those who are unlikely to be compulsive gamblers so dont really know what their aim of imposing levy in the first place perhaps it is deter people like to look see look see from going into the casino i am a bit upset because we pay in part to build the casino yet i have to pay to get in i guess this saves me $50 as i often loose it during my casino trip to Gentings Huat ahhhhhhhh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer_goal Neutral Newbie February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Forget the levy.. Just ban all Singaporean from entering casino will do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 dont think they will up it... like malaysia genting... sooner or later they may stop collecting... when genting open they need all malaysia to pay RM100 or go in... then when come out can get back the $$$... so malaysia people can have some money to take bus or taxi home... but after 6yr i think... they stop collect RM100 anyway $100 is ok... will not up... but yearly $2000 they may up it... i only pay $2000 to RWS (since they open)... not like many other friends i met inside casino... most of them pay both casino $2000.... i think maybe is time for me to buy MBS $2000 levy... scare they may up it... hahahaha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 Remove the levy. Replace it with limiting Singaporean and PR to change chip to $2000 per week. Casino is for entertainment, so $2000 per week is not too bad. $2000 limit is for those with income of $100k or less per year. Those higher earner, they should know how to manage their money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 (edited) why would they want to limit or ban singaporeans going to casino? it's revenue for them and by banning/restricting singaporeans, it's like chopping off their right hand!! Edited February 11, 2011 by Reuters Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 "Members of Parliament (MPs) and industry watchers are concerned that the levies imposed on local visitors to the integrated resort (IR) casinos are not achieving its desired effect." what was the desired effect? How can you tell it did not achieve its desired effect, if it was never levy free in the first place? anybody can have an opinion. an informed opinion is somewhat harder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 you though levy is to discourage s'porean go casino? not simple one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 why would they want to limit or ban singaporeans going to casino? it's revenue for them and by banning/restricting singaporeans, it's like chopping off their right hand!! In that case, they should not have put on a show in parleement to say the levy is not having effects and so on or even mention anything about it in the first place. Levy - any die hard gamblers will find the means to pay to get in no matter the amount. It deters at most the casual gamblers. Quota/restrictions - a more effective way to control the number times a local can go in annually, similiar to the law blacklisting people from entering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IHateCar Neutral Newbie February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 wont rise until after your erection finish. electricity go up, phonebill go up, stamps price go up, erp go up, bus fare go up, taxi fare go up, gst go up, everything will be up up! and you still LLLLLLLS own T&C!! Everything in Singapore is to Pay & Pay. I also don't like it but have to live with it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 (edited) ppl who nort scared pay $100 u think they will scare pay more meh? garmen wanto earn more from levy ar? i mean seriously, everthing in SG dun work or got problem just raise the $$$$$$ involved... no imagination wan ar? monkeys also can do Edited February 11, 2011 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaoxin012 Neutral Newbie February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 It all about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ who dun wan easy $$$ 1 local/PR= $100 10 local/PR= $1000 100 local/PR= $10000.............................. Just one CNY, how many people went to the 2 IR, one year how many people go there, you go figure out. all this = $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ everyday sit there collect $$$ can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IHateCar Neutral Newbie February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 ppl who nort scared pay $100 u think they will scare pay more meh? garmen wanto earn more from levy ar? i mean seriously, everthing in SG dun work or got problem just raise the $$$$$$ involved... no imagination wan ar? monkeys also can do To some paying $100 or more is nothing, they will win it back or lose $100K... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...