Legacyx Clutched August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Dear all, apologies for riding on this thread as I couldn't start one of my own. My bf is thinking of changing his current ride to a polo. There's the polo GTI and polo 1.2 TSI within his radar. (pardon me if I got the specs wrong). We did the sums over the weekends and went for the test drive. I know he prefers the GTI (which guy doesn't right??) but honestly, to realistically be able to pay afford the installments, I feel that the 1.2 version would suit his pocket better. I too, like the GTI, but at what expense?? Any pros here, who have driven (or owned) any of the above models would be able to give me a comparison on the difference in running cost? I'm driving a Mini One currently, would the running cost be pretty much similar ? My bf is currently driving a 1.3L Suzuki Swift. I don't think the trade in will yield much. Part of the reason of him wanting to change to a VW is because of pressure I guess. All my family members drive continental cars individually, althoug he doesn't say so, I know that deep down, he wants to upgrade because he feels inferior. I think a Swift is fine and I do enjoy the car as much as any other proud Swift owner does. again. Just a random thought? Would it be a good move if I dissuade him from his buying decision? Any drivers here ever owned a swift, then a polo and if so, is there any difference in both car's drive experience?? Thanks peeps. Y not u sell off the mini n get a swift :p ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 25, 2011 Author Share August 25, 2011 Then if the gb piang jiu GG liaoz :x then one of the mod should be change the GB to 6spd wet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 25, 2011 Author Share August 25, 2011 But anyway currently is gd enough liaoz... gd balance between power n fc for me i feel the stock is good enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiannshan Clutched August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Y not u sell off the mini n get a swift :p good idea! Speaking of MINI, i had never like its cockpit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 25, 2011 Author Share August 25, 2011 great to see tis thread alive n kicking again. Haha! i love my golf too.. So does my wife. She sold off her vios already. Cannot tahan the car anymore. So i decided to pass her my rabbit lo. :( haha! Im looking at a sedan. Was thinking along the likes of E class. Dun like 5 series. Lolx. Or a mark x so that it would be easier on my wallet. Haha! that a very delicate way of putting it why not the new A6 ? heard it not too hard on ur wallet too also ur still in the same family as ur wifey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Dear all, apologies for riding on this thread as I couldn't start one of my own. My bf is thinking of changing his current ride to a polo. There's the polo GTI and polo 1.2 TSI within his radar. (pardon me if I got the specs wrong). We did the sums over the weekends and went for the test drive. I know he prefers the GTI (which guy doesn't right??) but honestly, to realistically be able to pay afford the installments, I feel that the 1.2 version would suit his pocket better. I too, like the GTI, but at what expense?? Any pros here, who have driven (or owned) any of the above models would be able to give me a comparison on the difference in running cost? I'm driving a Mini One currently, would the running cost be pretty much similar ? My bf is currently driving a 1.3L Suzuki Swift. I don't think the trade in will yield much. Part of the reason of him wanting to change to a VW is because of pressure I guess. All my family members drive continental cars individually, althoug he doesn't say so, I know that deep down, he wants to upgrade because he feels inferior. I think a Swift is fine and I do enjoy the car as much as any other proud Swift owner does. again. Just a random thought? Would it be a good move if I dissuade him from his buying decision? Any drivers here ever owned a swift, then a polo and if so, is there any difference in both car's drive experience?? Thanks peeps. What kind of logic is that lady? As long as your partner feels comfortable with you, what's there to feel inferior about? He's dating you, not your family members right? I do emphasise with your situation a little though, used to date a snobbish gal who's family drives bentleys (beats me why... till I found out later)... The first few times I went to their place, the family snubbed me and asked me to park my car out of the house (something about the father needs to move his car out soon..blah blah blah....) - I was driving my first car then... which is an Altis.. just like your bf's car... I too felt insulted.... Being pretty young and childish back then, I drove my Dad's 7 series to her house up next... thinking that it would change anything... and to my horror, she told me this " Oooh sorry babyboy... you gotta park outside.. my car porch accomodates Bentleys only).... I was like WTF...... (actually all along... most of the family members are doctors and they have to move in and out of the house frequently... so even if I drove a Rolls Royce, I'll have to park outside... and anyway,she was teasing me by saying the Bentley thingy... but I was too consumed by inferiority complex to realise the light hearted humour in it) Anyway, that was years ago... I've since learnt that being confident of yourself is how you feel about yourself, not what material possessions makes you feel about yourself. I attended her wedding last year (yeah we broke off).... and we still laugh about that incident cuz I endearingly called her an atas b*tch after the whole episode. She thinks my current car is ultra beng... who cares... and I found her parents and folks respectful towards me now... perhaps all along back then, they didn't snub me due to my car.... but due to the lack of GE and the inexperienced way of carrying myself. My advise, buy a car if he likes it, not because of the percieved value it brings.... hope that helps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Y not u sell off the mini n get a swift :p huh?? get a Polo you mean?? The Mini was a gift from my parents. I can't bear to sell it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy-T 1st Gear August 25, 2011 Author Share August 25, 2011 Dear all, apologies for riding on this thread as I couldn't start one of my own. My bf is thinking of changing his current ride to a polo. There's the polo GTI and polo 1.2 TSI within his radar. (pardon me if I got the specs wrong). We did the sums over the weekends and went for the test drive. I know he prefers the GTI (which guy doesn't right??) but honestly, to realistically be able to pay afford the installments, I feel that the 1.2 version would suit his pocket better. I too, like the GTI, but at what expense?? Any pros here, who have driven (or owned) any of the above models would be able to give me a comparison on the difference in running cost? I'm driving a Mini One currently, would the running cost be pretty much similar ? My bf is currently driving a 1.3L Suzuki Swift. I don't think the trade in will yield much. Part of the reason of him wanting to change to a VW is because of pressure I guess. All my family members drive continental cars individually, althoug he doesn't say so, I know that deep down, he wants to upgrade because he feels inferior. I think a Swift is fine and I do enjoy the car as much as any other proud Swift owner does. again. Just a random thought? Would it be a good move if I dissuade him from his buying decision? Any drivers here ever owned a swift, then a polo and if so, is there any difference in both car's drive experience?? Thanks peeps. hi wellcome, I think it would be better if u and ur bf sit down and discuss on the actual reason for him wanting to change his ride? better dun buy above his mean so that you all can still enjoy the quality of life. own the car but dun let the car own u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 What kind of logic is that lady? As long as your partner feels comfortable with you, what's there to feel inferior about? He's dating you, not your family members right? I do emphasise with your situation a little though, used to date a snobbish gal who's family drives bentleys (beats me why... till I found out later)... The first few times I went to their place, the family snubbed me and asked me to park my car out of the house (something about the father needs to move his car out soon..blah blah blah....) - I was driving my first car then... which is an Altis.. just like your bf's car... I too felt insulted.... Being pretty young and childish back then, I drove my Dad's 7 series to her house up next... thinking that it would change anything... and to my horror, she told me this " Oooh sorry babyboy... you gotta park outside.. my car porch accomodates Bentleys only).... I was like WTF...... (actually all along... most of the family members are doctors and they have to move in and out of the house frequently... so even if I drove a Rolls Royce, I'll have to park outside... and anyway,she was teasing me by saying the Bentley thingy... but I was too consumed by inferiority complex to realise the light hearted humour in it) Anyway, that was years ago... I've since learnt that being confident of yourself is how you feel about yourself, not what material possessions makes you feel about yourself. I attended her wedding last year (yeah we broke off).... and we still laugh about that incident cuz I endearingly called her an atas b*tch after the whole episode. She thinks my current car is ultra beng... who cares... and I found her parents and folks respectful towards me now... perhaps all along back then, they didn't snub me due to my car.... but due to the lack of GE and the inexperienced way of carrying myself. My advise, buy a car if he likes it, not because of the percieved value it brings.... hope that helps... *giggles*.... that's quite a handful to digest. I kinda like your *ahem*... ex gf's dry humour. I guess guy's ego's are fragile. Same goes for my bf.... So what's the "beng car" you're driving now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiannshan Clutched August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 that a very delicate way of putting it why not the new A6 ? heard it not too hard on ur wallet too also ur still in the same family as ur wifey haha! I told her to buy the rabbit for me n she was pissed! So bo pian lo. Lolx the design of A6 dun grow on me n furthermore im quite a sucker for benz although my wife against it too coz she feels im too young to drive an 'uncle' car. She told me to get a passat wil do. Intending to get it by the end of tis yr after i moved into my new home. Hopefully COE wont be too high by then.... If not, i wil just go for a c class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 hi wellcome, I think it would be better if u and ur bf sit down and discuss on the actual reason for him wanting to change his ride? better dun buy above his mean so that you all can still enjoy the quality of life. own the car but dun let the car own u That's what I feel too. I know he will deny to the end, that this decision is driven by his insecurity. How am I supposed to get that "confession" fom him. Sad to say, we had an argument because of this when I just hinted that could this be due to his inferiority complex... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 *giggles*.... that's quite a handful to digest. I kinda like your *ahem*... ex gf's dry humour. I guess guy's ego's are fragile. Same goes for my bf.... So what's the "beng car" you're driving now? Ooh she's a crappy little vixen..... I guess your bf must be pretty young? (mid 20s I'm guessing). It a strange thing...a guy's ego is somewhat linear to his career progression and ability to put bread and butter on the table. When he has arrived somewhere in his career, you will see his maturity level and self confidence grow leaps and bounds. Guys in general, takes a longer time to mature. So be patient to your babyboy... cut him some slack and he will be there...someday... Btw, my current ride is a FN2R... the car alone is not that beng.... many people say.... it is the driver...wahahahaha.... yeah I'm an ang moh beng.... not ashamed to be one!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Ooh she's a crappy little vixen..... I guess your bf must be pretty young? (mid 20s I'm guessing). It a strange thing...a guy's ego is somewhat linear to his career progression and ability to put bread and butter on the table. When he has arrived somewhere in his career, you will see his maturity level and self confidence grow leaps and bounds. Guys in general, takes a longer time to mature. So be patient to your babyboy... cut him some slack and he will be there...someday... Btw, my current ride is a FN2R... the car alone is not that beng.... many people say.... it is the driver...wahahahaha.... yeah I'm an ang moh beng.... not ashamed to be one!!! I have to say, with no offence at all, that one can mistake you for a hokkien beng and get away with it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 i tried both cars before n polo definitely drives beta, imho. But honestly, no offence pls, there is nothing wrong with driving a swift ah. Y must he change a car just becoz ur family drive contis? I assume ur family members drive benz n beemers? If so, then driving a polo oso doesnt mean a thing ah. If its an ego thingy, just work hard n slowly upgrade. Dun change cars for the sake of image. :) but tat thing aside, polo is a gd ride. If ur bf insist, it wont be a bad choice. Although i dun like the crampy space behind Thanks for your insights. Yes of course, I agree that driving a swift is cool... In fact, I really like his swift. Maybe because we had many unforgettable times cruising inside. Yes, my family is in business and they drive the continental cars to upkeep an image. I wish that he too realise that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Ooh she's a crappy little vixen..... I guess your bf must be pretty young? (mid 20s I'm guessing). It a strange thing...a guy's ego is somewhat linear to his career progression and ability to put bread and butter on the table. When he has arrived somewhere in his career, you will see his maturity level and self confidence grow leaps and bounds. Guys in general, takes a longer time to mature. So be patient to your babyboy... cut him some slack and he will be there...someday... Btw, my current ride is a FN2R... the car alone is not that beng.... many people say.... it is the driver...wahahahaha.... yeah I'm an ang moh beng.... not ashamed to be one!!! Perhaps you're right. My babyboy... I like the way you term it.... yes yes!!!!!! I call him my baby boy... guess its a westernised way of terming someone close. You're an Ah Beng? definately doesn't sound like one, but who's caring right? *giggle* I used to be somewhat lian too during my teenaged years.... What is a FN2R by the way? I must apologise, I'm still very new to such "boy terms" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 I have to say, with no offence at all, that one can mistake you for a hokkien beng and get away with it Hahaha... my pleasure man.... I grew up a hokkien beng.... so part of that still lied innate within me.... I have many faces in my job..... When it calls for it, I can be very prim and proper, very PR too... But when i'm having a good time out of job, I will revert to the hokkien pai...hahaha..... You should have seen the KTV session with 20G and Jill... I think they all can't stand me man....hahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 Perhaps you're right. My babyboy... I like the way you term it.... yes yes!!!!!! I call him my baby boy... guess its a westernised way of terming someone close. You're an Ah Beng? definately doesn't sound like one, but who's caring right? *giggle* I used to be somewhat lian too during my teenaged years.... What is a FN2R by the way? I must apologise, I'm still very new to such "boy terms" FN2R is the Euro version of Civic Type R... Nice knowing a fellow lian here..... wahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Belle_femme Neutral Newbie August 25, 2011 Share August 25, 2011 FN2R is the Euro version of Civic Type R... Nice knowing a fellow lian here..... wahahahaha Ooh... that car.... nice. Btw, what profession are you in? Is that you in the avatar? You look familiar, kinda ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...