Why am I keep thinking about CRV nowadays......

Elixir

Pple here is buying the brand more than the car itself. I always find Honda car in sg is seriously overpriced & overrated. [:p]

I mean honda cars r ok la but not impressive to such an extent of paying sky high premium for it.

Worst thing is i have friends ard me driving jazz n civics one. They always talk about how good their cars are macham Honda is the best in the world. Haha! :D

2.0L on SUV is definitely underpowered. But up to indivdiual. I had owned EK3 / ES5 / FD2 civics before i changed to ODC RB1 due family expansion. beside being 2.4L,the odc is really very underpowered. Sluggish pickup and poor FC due to having to step harder (7-7.5km/L). Of cos this just mine personal opinion. I guess CRV weighs close to a odc so i guess will have same preformance. I think Forestor is a good alternatives to CRV for power / FC and prices. so if getting 2.4L CRV will not make any diff to rd tax on both cars. just my 0.02cents opinion.

i beg to differ but i think the 2.4L is pretty adequate for the RB1 KM Odyssey. i used to drive my parents RB1. spacewise and pickup was good. FC around 9.5-9.8km/L. full tank can hit around 540-560. some more it has the manual over-ride should additional pick-up be needed.

im not such a big fan of the forester as the interior is really plasticky and spartan.

I mean honda cars r ok la but not impressive to such an extent of paying sky high premium for it.

Worst thing is i have friends ard me driving jazz n civics one. They always talk about how good their cars are macham Honda is the best in the world. Haha! :D

They nv drive better car before thats why will like that. U let them drive a gd car for a period of time and after that ask them go drive their jazz and civic again, confirm u will not hear them talking abt how gd their honda. PS i m also FD driver of 5 yrs, its a gd n reliable bread and butter car. But not to the extend of what i hear from other abt how gd honda is etc

Agree! [laugh]

hahaha. we have a few of these clowns in this forum as well. doesn't take much to spot one.

strange, it only happens to Honda.

I feel most pple already reached a stage tht driving a Honda car not because they are gd or quality is better, it is because the brand makes them feel that they are more "higher class" among other car make. [rolleyes]

i beg to differ but i think the 2.4L is pretty adequate for the RB1 KM Odyssey. i used to drive my parents RB1. spacewise and pickup was good. FC around 9.5-9.8km/L. full tank can hit around 540-560. some more it has the manual over-ride should additional pick-up be needed.

im not such a big fan of the forester as the interior is really plasticky and spartan.

y u need additional pick-up? are u a racer [idea]

hahaha. we have a few of these clowns in this forum as well. doesn't take much to spot one.

u mean... the yellow pikachu?

i'm an odyssey driver too.

i think its good.

but not amazingly good machiam like mercedes R class.

Honestly, i second tat. Of course the CRV is not some china made car la. But i test drove the 2.0 CRV last yr when the price was ard 110k, if i dun remember wrongly.

Definitely underpower. Slow pickup n nothing special about the handling. Even my gf in the car felt so too. Think if really want the SUV, have to go for the 2.4l one.

Anyway no offence to honda owners. my parents n close cousins drive hondas. I drove jazz 2 yrs ago oso. Nothing special with their cars. Dunno why they price their cars at such unrealistic figures. Juz my 2 cents worth.

Mine CR-V is a 2.4 , but then it still underpowered .... i wanna catch up with a civic 1.8 already need to ram till 4k rpm

besides the car power , i am happy with everything ...

funny leh... how can anyone compare SUV vs sedan's pickup/performance...

SUV is tuned to carry heavy load and some light terrain mah... not to mention its inherent heavy weight.

Should compare to same class right?

I think CRV has a very spacious interior and very comfortable. Compared to its peers, it is already one of the most spacious... more spacious than Q5 and RAV4 i think.

It's also one of the few that can have 2 childsafety seats in the rear, and still can accomodate a medium-built adult seated in the middle.

Handling-wise also quite good in SUV-class.. handles almost like a normal sedan (something that honda boasts about). Doesn't feel bulky/clumsy to me.. in fact i find it easier to drive compared to 5-series... But of course, dont talk about high speed cornering lah...

It's much more stable even at higher speed compared to the tucson.

This is my experience based on CRV 2.4L.. i don't know about the 2.0.. maybe really underpowered.

FC-wise, i think already considered reasonable for an SUV.. please don't compare to a sedan with 12-15km/L FC... I'm getting about 8.5km/L, very good compared to the 7.8km/L im getting on E60.

Apparently, the CRV for test-drive at KM feels very different from the actual car when i bought it. During test-drive, it felt very bumpy, suspension a little hard. Maybe tires over-inflated or never really maintain. When I got the car, it felt a lot more comfortable and stable.

Edited by Asure7

My sentments exactly. I dont see such things happening to pple driving beemers or benz lei. :huh:

I feel most pple already reached a stage tht driving a Honda car not because they are gd or quality is better, it is because the brand makes them feel that they are more "higher class" among other car make. [rolleyes]

True true! Honda macham become like a prestige brand in Singapore when its obviously not. N i realise these grp of pple also like to bash on other brands oso..

Ya la, Honda don't consider very "high end" in other countries. Only in sg, pple view Honda as some preimum brand. Like my colleague who insist "die die" also must buy Honda, and now he always "laugh" at other make. <_<

Haha! Then there was once my ex colleague bought a brand new accord. V yaya! Talk bout how lousy camry or 3 series are.

Then once we went taipei. I told him i saw honda accords being used as taxis over there.

He diam all the way since then. Haha! [laugh]

Strangely , while they call others clowns , people here do not look at the mirrors. LOL loser which can't earn more only to rant about their sad lifes here expecially the only ones which only rant they have an ODC like it is some big deal? To me it is just another car just like accord. No big deal. Earn more please and clear your installments dude. The yellow pikachu has the ability to full pay his cars using his spare cash while the loser here calling names needs to slowly repay them via installments. As much as i wish to say , some people here like to compare this compare that but at the end of the day compare liaoz still stuck to the same car? Am i jealous ? Nah , i know what i have as much as what i need and am contented with it. As much as i can live with losers calling me names , some losers here have to live with the fact that i can earn more than you. I know this is a snobbish comment , i don't mind actually , i can live with it.

That said Hondas is just a brand like any other car make, they will always draw negative comments by others. Why? I am not sure , nothing wrong with the brand only the price is getting high and probably contis are the choice at the moment. VW and other conti makes actually offer a good deal at the present moment. SUVs like yeti and tiguan are relatively good SUVs models in which are under consideration if you wanna consider other models.

That said , even Merc can be used as taxis here so no deal on whichever models you guys wanna choose.

But if the higher price is really of an issue why not choose some other brand to drive and let those who wish to choose the brand drive it. It is not like you are not paying for it? Why bother how others think about your drive. If you think whatever you drive is worth the money no one else can do anything about it. At the end of the day it is your money , how you wanna spend it is your choice.

Edited by CH_CO