Zze121 3rd Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 Many ppl on target n wan bb but still dun have for many year, why? Too stress n weak, cos all can't swim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 (edited) Our world class, award winning, record breaking, highly decorated government do not need opinions & suggestions from layman like us. Edited February 11, 2011 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 Ya they dun need HC sex but High flyer to fly with them. lack of blue collar is not an issue but talent(with leadership) is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 government can ask durex to sell batches of condoms wif small holes in them...then do the usual public apology (govt to pay durex for their losses) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear February 11, 2011 Share February 11, 2011 Hello r u nuts? One already damm tough to maintain....bro u mean MISTRESSES not wife....there is a big diff.... allow all men to marry 2 wifes instead of one. ( a dream to all mens in singapore.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear February 12, 2011 Share February 12, 2011 Fine those who shoot outside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hachi 3rd Gear February 19, 2011 Share February 19, 2011 Baby...No need lah have to spend so much on infrastructural development.....Just ask ICA to import some FT to fit where they deem fit... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 19, 2011 Share February 19, 2011 I think it's the mentality of young married couples nowadays - quite hard to change despite whatever incentives given. Even if there are greater subsidies for supporting a child - end of the day, parents still have to bear the responsibility and devote the time for taking care of the child. Give up other opportunities, and also give up free time and hobbies. Young people nowadays want to enjoy life... they'll think twice or thrice about having a kid. Have a dog or cat is more common nowadays!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 19, 2011 Share February 19, 2011 The interesting thing is i've yet to find one article or posts that does a comparison of baby benefits of other countries vs Spore. Someone with info pls post. http://www.familyassist.gov.au/ see leow also don't really understand.. but i think sg one is on par or better.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gumbokins 1st Gear February 19, 2011 Share February 19, 2011 Some of the replies here are so hilarious! Two wives? Most men can barely handle 1 wife, and you want 2?? That's also 2 nagging mother-in-laws, you know? And all this talk about sex sex sex...perhaps the reason why Japan also has low childbirth rates is because ppl rather indulge in the fantasy of porn than procreate with a member of the opposite sex? Japan is also where adult men get married to manga characters and rather live with dolls. It's all about adjusting your expectations...the gahmen can put in place all these policies and throw money at you but ultimately the responsibility of raising your child is yours and not the gahmen's, so I think its a bit unfair to just point the finger at them and say they're not doing enough. Many like to compare our family policies to that of the Scandinavian countries, where they get perks like 8 months paid maternity leave, mandated paternity leave, childcare allowance etc but it also comes at a price; not many companies want to do business there. Can we afford to have that happen to SG? Having said that, I think 2-4 weeks paternity leave would be great. Women can't do it on their own anymore, and studies show that children whose dads are more involved in their upbringing have higher IQs, better self esteem and are happier. In fact, I dare say that my husband is a better parent than I am, and for that I am thankful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 19, 2011 Share February 19, 2011 (edited) This is their response to all time low birthrate, give a one off payment $400 per child into CDA. Not even enough to pay 1 month fees of the cheapest childcare. $6.6 Billions Budget package, but give only $90M (a lousy 1.36% of budget) for Child Development Credit. Apparently low birthrate is just a secondary concern to them. I am sure birth rates will drop further after this. Why can't they have a sincere effort to solve the problem, like give $400 into CDA every month ($90M x 12 = $1B)???? $90M is like half hearted effort and do for wayang $90m Child Development Credit to benefit 220,000 kids A SLEW of measures to help families with children will be put in place, said Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam during his Budget Statement on Friday. Support for the early years includes a new Child Development Credit scheme will help parents pay for children's pre-school, childcare and medical expenses. 80 per cent of families with young children will receive $400 per child, with an annual home value in 2010 of up to $13,000. For those whose homes are worth more than $13,000, the Child Development Credit payout will be $300 per child. The money will be paid into the Children Development Accounts, which most children already have. The scheme, costing about $90 million, will benefit more than 220,000 children aged six and below, including children born in 2011. Lower-income families will receive additional support, assured Mr Shanmugaratnam, saying that subsidies for pre-school education and childcare fees will be enhanced. The Kindergarten Financial Assistance Scheme (KiFAS) and the Centre-based Financial Assistance Scheme for Childcare (CFAC), currently providing subsidies for children in low-income families, will be extended to include families with up to $3,500 in gross monthly household income or the 40th percentile. This move results in double the number of children who benefit from the two schemes - to a total of 24,000. Edited February 19, 2011 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 20, 2011 Share February 20, 2011 ...Having said that, I think 2-4 weeks paternity leave would be great. Women can't do it on their own anymore, and studies show that children whose dads are more involved in their upbringing have higher IQs, better self esteem and are happier. In fact, I dare say that my husband is a better parent than I am, and for that I am thankful. Quite true nowadays. I've seen troubled teens, and noticed that most of the time, they come from families with "absent" parents, or at least, an "absent" father and over-indulgent mother. In the old days, fathers are breadwinners and household duties left to mother. But it does not mean that fathers were totally absent. Working hours were shorter, and the father had more time at home to monitor what's going on, or at least discipline the kids when needed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic February 20, 2011 Share February 20, 2011 This is their response to all time low birthrate, give a one off payment $400 per child into CDA. Not even enough to pay 1 month fees of the cheapest childcare. $6.6 Billions Budget package, but give only $90M (a lousy 1.36% of budget) for Child Development Credit. Apparently low birthrate is just a secondary concern to them. I am sure birth rates will drop further after this. Why can't they have a sincere effort to solve the problem, like give $400 into CDA every month ($90M x 12 = $1B)???? $90M is like half hearted effort and do for wayang Isn't there a subsidy for $600 infant care and $300 childcare every month? The problem with subsidy is that childcare centres will up their fees every time there is an increase in the subsidy. Gahmen give $150 more to $300, they also up $150 so end up paying the same amount. And the CDA is match dollar for dollar. 1st child already got $6000. So if you are paying with CDA account for a childcare that charges $1000. After subsidy, it's $700. Then paying with CDA it's like $350, so that'll last abt 17 months. Better than nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gumbokins 1st Gear February 20, 2011 Share February 20, 2011 And the CDA is match dollar for dollar. 1st child already got $6000. So if you are paying with CDA account for a childcare that charges $1000. After subsidy, it's $700. Then paying with CDA it's like $350, so that'll last abt 17 months. Better than nothing. Better than nothing, yes, but 'better' can always get better. Thought the Child Development Credit budget goody was a bit lame, as well. My fav budget bit was the abolishment of the TV and radio licenses haha! It's stressful having kids, but I couldn't imagine my life without them. :wub: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...