What can government do to get more babies?

Wind30

Ban live telecast of football matches after 11pm.

Don't you understand the concept of Live, simultaneous ball games? [laugh]

Employee Male and Female who can work full time in Fertilisation Company whereby males will produce seeds and females will get paid for the harvest.

If married after 2 yrs no baby, hubby can get 2nd one legally...can or not???

1 spell trouble, 2 spell disaster [laugh] sure you want 2 [rolleyes]

actually you can have 4 like the gamble king, but you must be able to feed them [laugh]

Free education up to tiertiary level would indeed alleviate the financial burden of parents quite a bit.

But it would not induce me to have more kids because there is more to parenting than just finances.

Anyway with the ultra competitive nature of the education system now, parents will just spend more on tuition thereby negating the benefit of free education provided.

replace 2yrs NS with 2yrs hardcore sex training sure more babies.

Hardcore sex not equals to more babies...

Look at the Japanese, porn industry is so established but birth rate is still low. Japs are practising hardcore sex just for fun!

free education, up to tertiary level.

education itself is cheap.... its the assessment material and books or the extra classes/tutions are expensive.

maybe only on tertiary level will do or subsidies 50% on overseas also not bad :D

Look at the Japanese, porn industry is so established but birth rate is still low. Japs are practising hardcore sex just for fun!

hmmmmm................... so you one of the frequent travellers to Japan ..... [sly][:p][:p]

For me, I have one kid.

One thing that will REALLY help is

1) make all pre school government owned with high standards. No expensive private pre schools. Asian parents will ALWAYS want the BEST for their child. And if they cannot afford it for many kids, they just have one kid.

1. Remove PSLE and assessment starts at O level.

2. Remove all ranking/banding on Primary Schools.

3. Paternity leave

4. A much more needed support from the Government in the child formative years. I like Norway approach.

5. Priority and privilege for SGP

6. A consumer body with a razor sharp tooth for regulating the price of commodities/courses. Everything is going North in an alarming pace.

Frankly speaking, to really tackle falling birth rate, the government really needs to look at the whole problem and provide solution holistically. To give us a shot medication with a fire and forget mindset, nothing gonna to work. Not only all the ministries must work together, all must have a common focus.

replace 2yrs NS with 2yrs hardcore sex training sure more babies.

gahmen is only interested in PRODUCTIVITY!!! .... why waste time (at least 15 min including foreplay/entry/fire....) to make babies?? ..... gahmen is going to get creative before you know it:

Portable-convenient 'Firing' Booths..... soon you will find them in Orchard Rd, every shopping malls, even HDB MSCP.... it's FOC, you just go in, shut the door, unzip, let the automated machine inside grab your 'gun', it will fondle it, and suck out the 'juice', deposit it in airtight tube, you put your name and address on it, then walk out and continue your life.... the AUtoBabyMachine will sort out the rest including injecting your precious juice into a selected chio bu's body and presto.... 9 months later they will home deliver the baby to your door step..... (auto deduction from your CPF account for the cost it takes to produce the baby)

Edited by KARTer

The interesting thing is i've yet to find one article or posts that does a comparison of baby benefits of other countries vs Spore. Someone with info pls post.

no use 1 whatever method Sg govt use. ALL CALCULATED 2 their benefits.

So long as sg govt have a "no free lunch" mentality, true sg citizens will STILL THINKING TWICE.

I had a conversation several mth back with a new sg citizen filipino who filipino wife give birth at a hosp.

He praise d govt generous grant for a child birth, saying they dont get anything from their filipino govt, even they give birth to 5 or 10 children.

.....I told him ........ with S$1000 ..... u can support a family of 20 in d philippines.

Wah such topic still in discuss, no need to discuss liao la... Imo they already give up on us ever since they open flood gate and allow foreigners from all over the world to come in and work, give out PR/citizenship to them like pamphlets... So lets move on. Can give birth give birth, cannot den let the PR cover the shortage.

Or maybe they practised what they saw on the video.....putting on the rubber or 'shooting' it outside??? [lipsrsealed][laugh]