What can government do to get more babies?

Wind30

think giving baby bonus and extras are just short term. If you are the baby, will you be sad if your parents give birth to you just becoz of some freebizs from the gahmen?In the long run, educate people..easier said then done. Most wants good life, no commitment. My Wife and I can go tour twice a year, buy bigger cars, bigger house and spend like a king if we dont have kids...with kids not only spending on them, saving , insurance and time. Most choose the easy way out of not having kids

more childcare leave

more paternity leave

free education from childcare to kindergarden to primary

more tax rebate

free textbooks, school uniform etc

more childcare leave

more paternity leave

free education from childcare to kindergarden to primary

more tax rebate

free textbooks, school uniform etc

Free porn

More porn

allocate 100,000 man and 500,000 woman in a deserted island outside S'pore and stay there for 2 years.....

wala we have 500,000 baby in 2 years time [laugh] [laugh]

now who wants to volunteer :D

Quality of the man & woman must be checked before doing that. No homos allowed. All must be very fertile.

Women must be damn chio & horny!!! Men must be studs who can take on 5 at one go!!!

Quality of the man & woman must be checked before doing that. No homos allowed. All must be very fertile.

Women must be damn chio & horny!!! Men must be studs who can take on 5 at one go!!!

min 36C / 25 / 36... this shall part of the entry criteria... [:p]

For me, I have one kid.

One thing that will REALLY help is

1) make all pre school government owned with high standards. No expensive private pre schools. Asian parents will ALWAYS want the BEST for their child. And if they cannot afford it for many kids, they just have one kid.

If government subsidise the pre school school fees, these pre school will take the opportunity to increase their price. Its not 5% or 7%, its more than 10% increment! :angry:

they will focus on choosing the brain, not body [:p]

this is a concentration camp, so don't be fussy [laugh] [laugh]

For me, I have one kid.

One thing that will REALLY help is

1) make all pre school government owned with high standards. No expensive private pre schools. Asian parents will ALWAYS want the BEST for their child. And if they cannot afford it for many kids, they just have one kid.

Primary schools are already government owned with reasonably equal standards that is supposed to be high. And yet there are popular primary schools. And tuition.

The Chinese have a saying that can loosely be translated as who you are at 3 year old determines your destiny. No doubt there can be bad schools that can stunt one's development, but if the genes and nourishment are sufficiently good, there is no stopping a brilliant child from shining.... and vice versa...

What the government needs to do to raise the birthrate is very simple. End the year of the Tiger. Better yet, make it the year of the Dragon. Oops, one already happened and one more is akan datang. So the government can do anything they want and it will still be guaranteed to raise the birthrate by end of next year. One has to marvel how we arrive with such an exam smart government.

But to reach the replacement rate of 2.1... that's hard. We are paying the price for the Stop at Two policy. Thanks to the policy, birthrate collapsed from 40 years ago, the last bump being 1976... the year of the Dragon. In fact, the recent slowing down in birthrate decrease can be simply explained by the 1976 Dragon ladies entering child bearing age. They will be leaving child bearing age soon.

With a massive number of non-child bearing baby boomers in the denominator of the TFR, each woman will probably need to have 4 or more children to reach 2.1. Not going to happen, even if we have Swedish childcare benefits.

So the whole hooha about low birthrate is just a distraction. The government will use the low birthrate as an excuse to bring in foreigners, even though the foreigners are really to patch up the shortage in working adults, not the shortage in babies.

So long the cost of living is high, there is no way birthrate can go up sia.

Kopi and tea every yr also increase. People say 10 cents nothing lah.

Before we know it, normal kopi O will cost S$1.50 at coffeeshop.

Just saw the History documentary about Hitler Dastardly plans on PROCREATION.

Get the Boys and Girls into Army Camps and of the 48 girls around 16 yrs old, 35 got pregnant.

There are old footage of boys and girls swimming naked together... Hmmm

But seriously, if you look at the olden days we have so many siblings with 1 breadwinner, still we all turn out OK.

You ask for Bestest Pre-schools owned by Garment and free to all our kids, then go to Primary, Secondary we still have to compete to get into the Bestest ones. and becos of that many will say donwan more kids as too stressful...

Its our mind that needs to change and not the environment.

1st we have to reduce our IDEALS. 1 example I hear many friends say :

1. I want to give 1 room for each of my kids but I only have 3 bedrooms and since the 3rd room is study room I only have space for 1 kid as I donwan my kid to study and sleep in the same room.

Like I said before, the FTs are here because we did not procreate ourselves enough to STFTU.

We are only 50% of the Population and reducing. Soon we are the RARE species in our homeland...

So long the cost of living is high, there is no way birthrate can go up sia.

Kopi and tea every yr also increase. People say 10 cents nothing lah.

Before we know it, normal kopi O will cost S$1.50 at coffeeshop.

It is a very likely situation..

reduce national service, or may be make it work 4 days, rest 3 days

so that the boys got more time to socialize outside [laugh]