What can government do to get more babies?

Wind30

i believe a housing subsidy for people with 3 or more kids would be good . For instance 50k CPF rebate per kid after no.2 , where the subsidy is taken back if the hdb is being sold. For citizen and preventing people from abusing the entitlement.

For PRs ,either impose a restriction and don't allow them to buy HDBs or add a 50% stamp duty on them if they sell the HDB be it in whichever timing , they already snatching jobs from us , they are supposed to pay for the rent , now we still let them buy HDBs and let them push prices sky high and so that they can sell and earn from our entitlement. While those stuck here need to slog to repay the housing loan.

Then i don't understand why i need to serve NS and reservist while those PRs don't and yet get the same entitlement. Guys ELECTIONS coming . VOTE WISELY!!!! Don't let those jokers treat you guys like idoits!! Either way , you will force them to become either citizens or not let them profit from "investing" in HDBs and making the life of citizens so difficult because of high home prices .

Just imagine if i wanna buy a 3 room flat i would need to pay 300k if i wanna get it in town near my parents. Imagine a normal income earner ? How long does he need to work to repay the loan ? Earn money also no time still want make babies ?

Comeon lah garmen , use your f--king brain and think. Get paid in millions but can't come out with anything ?

Since garmen is gonna earn from stamp duties after the new laws , why not put it into good use.

Edited by CH_CO

I would prefer the following:

1) 2nd kid and above with expenses (Delivery, childcare to university course) to be borne by the state.

2) Fund productivity related training for professionals and work with enterprise to reduce overtime hours per employee.

Optional (In my dreams)

3) Additional housing grant for couples with kids 2 and above.

4) COE rebate for couples with kids 2 and above and less than 7 years old. (CATA -$30K, CATB no rebate). [:p]

I don't quite understand the part about below 30, why below 30? After 30 cocg can't stand anymore? [laugh]

No, but you want to incentivise the couples to start trying young when their success rate is higher. If you give the incentive regardless of age, some will delay until they are older. And then chances of successful impregnation and smooth child birth is smaller. Even if they are willing, they might not be able to hit the target.

Then you have some couples who delay marriage because they want 5* banquet or want to play the field a bit longer. This incentive will 'persuade' them to settle down ASAP. Give em a sense of urgency. Rough calculation is that a couple must settle down around age 27 to qualify for the incentive.

Lastly, if they already have 2 children by 30, there is roughly a window of about 10 years for more 'accidents' to take place. [laugh]

cut the long story short

just like planting crops one must make soil fertile before planting crops

eg business thrive to a large part due to economic conditions

sg soil is now rotten

high cost of living

hard to get hdb flat

shrinking salaries

long term job instability

high stress

no social net to speak of whatsoever

cultivating a me first mindset among singaporeans

its no wonder people don t see the reason or incentive to have kids

that being said its not all the govt fault

this is just a reality with countries that progress into first world just like hk and japan

to ts, what can preschool incentives possibly do in the face of a myriad of such challenging factors

haha...cannot 'Ka-cha' la.....Ka-cha den cannot make baby....If kena caught den summon aother man make baby with the wife on the man behalf..hahah

Fine no use, too many rich people here. Should 'ka-cha' if caught using condom....sure effective... [:p][laugh]

as a parent, my suggestion is for the gahment to provide heaviliy subsidised medical care for children . also, do away with maid levy, and better still , heavily subsidised child\infant care. ok, i am being self centred. lol.

you cant hv your cake and eat it.

high economic performance equals lower birth rate.

thats the trade off.

the only long term solution is quality of life. but to improve that is a really long term effort.

we'll be dead by then

How about wednesday am off?

more motel?

free condom?

hahaha

just like we ban the chewing gum, we should ban the condom, then review the penal code so that having sex using condom is adjudged to be a criminal act, guys sure beh loon one...

ok I shoot too fast...apart from condom, also any other form of contraceptive, ban sales of such items.

wah like that I think the only sex Singaporeans will have is basically oral ones...

Edited by Phluvcat

Have more subsidies for infant/child care. Give more allowance for those NSF with children. Lol. Now my allowance only $700+ per month hard to support a child. Even stop driving to camp everyday already. Another way is to give housing grant for those with 2 or more children.

Better pre school and of course free education till secondary will be better.

Primary and secondary is cheap. I only pay $5.50/mth for my daughter Primary.

The expensive one is child care and pre-child. Child care costing $1000/mth before subsidise is common.

COE for condoms, with limited supply for every bidding.

sometime ladies dont take the risk without wearing condoms,and you will be in bad mood most of the time.

Childcare Sch fees can be higher than local uni fees!!

Free child care will be a very good incentive. More childcare leave will also be good!

to have more babies, the local reproductive population must not feel threaten in their worklife and surrounding. like animals, when threaten by the deadly sinkie double k = kiasu and kiasi, they will not reproduce offspring since the animal know that it will not be able to provide properly for their offspring.

so where does this kiasu kiasi from? it comes from

1. the careless gdp and asset appreciation game without regards to sinkie.

2. importing of additional from foreigners to improve local poor gene traits.

STOP AT ONCE these above 2 nonsense, top it up with cash incentive, in no time, the local population procreation rate will be up at least 2 times the present rate. coupled with foreign genes, sinkipore may even have the next einstein in next 20years.

COE rebate for 2nd child onward!!! ..... reduced rdtx if more than 4 children!!! [thumbsup]

more affordable childcare centres near work place....

just like we ban the chewing gum, we should ban the condom, then review the penal code so that having sex using condom is adjudged to be a criminal act, guys sure beh loon one...

ok I shoot too fast...apart from condom, also any other form of contraceptive, ban sales of such items.

wah like that I think the only sex Singaporeans will have is basically oral ones...

If ban condom, HIV, STD rates sure shoot up...