Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Really bad way to start the CNY. I'm always scared to go some estates like Woodlands and Boon Lay. Please don't get offended dear residents. http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...206-262157.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Ah long? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Just a question, what amt will the insurance pay if such things happen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 (edited) "market" rate. Their "market" price is the dealer buy in price hor. So, if average selling price for a second hand car is say, 30K, they pay you 20K lor. But, they dun loose 20K hor. Since you insure with COE element, they will claim back your unused COE portion and balance OMV from LTA. So, prolly they lugi like 5-10K at most??? Edited February 7, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 poor thing...but sometime...might be the owner of a particular vehicle piss people off... at my mum's place...there's this car...every 30min the alarm will go off and sound for 15 seconds..it goes on for 24hrs even during the night... ...some bikers will ram their bikes until the whole estate can hear them... if suay there's a mad man nearby... they r asking for it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 For the other innocent car owners, what their insurance pay out is market rate....but if the car is in negative equity, does this mean that the owner will have to fork out the difference and settel the outstanding loan? Meaning at the end no car to drive but still owe finance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Not sure is the same culprit who did this (cars burning in MSCP) a few times and never get caught over a few years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 For the other innocent car owners, what their insurance pay out is market rate....but if the car is in negative equity, does this mean that the owner will have to fork out the difference and settel the outstanding loan? Meaning at the end no car to drive but still owe finance? i'm also blur. i thought TPFT insurance can cover u in case of fire and theft. and that you dont need to pay anymore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 I don't know man, just hope and pray that such thing do not happen on us. Appreciate advice from forumers with in dept knowledge of auto insurance. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 payout is "market" rate, but of course can bargain a bit before accepting. The "market" rate of course is very log one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 payout is "market" rate, but of course can bargain a bit before accepting. The "market" rate of course is very log one. pakat with a dealer to tell the insurance coy a high market rate for that particular car. then give him some money for his efforts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 I don't know man, just hope and pray that such thing do not happen on us. Appreciate advice from forumers with in dept knowledge of auto insurance. Thanks. actually, auto insurance in singapore is cheat money one. accident, u claim, your premium shoot,NCD gone. dont claim, then u pay cash, but buy insurance for what?, NCD and premium stay the same. either way, consumers lose, insurance coy win Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Then, you need to pakat with all the second hand car dealers. So, one car dealer, you need to pay 1K coffee $$$, one hundred car dealers, you pay 100K coffee $$$ lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 What if insurance coy pakat with 2nd dealers and tell you, "Sir, this is the best price we can get for your damaged car....". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear February 7, 2011 Author Share February 7, 2011 Not sure is the same culprit who did this (cars burning in MSCP) a few times and never get caught over a few years ago. Ya I remember once in a while we read about cases of torched cars all over the place. Sometimes in the same vicinity in a short period. Don't remember anyone ever getting caught though. Scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 Then, you need to pakat with all the second hand car dealers. So, one car dealer, you need to pay 1K coffee $$$, one hundred car dealers, you pay 100K coffee $$$ lor. need that many meh? i thought just one can le? just say u buy your car from him for XXX, and if he were to buy back now he will pay XXX for it. can right? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedream 1st Gear February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 actually, auto insurance in singapore is cheat money one. accident, u claim, your premium shoot,NCD gone. dont claim, then u pay cash, but buy insurance for what?, NCD and premium stay the same. either way, consumers lose, insurance coy win I think it is auto insurance for the whole world. Not just singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched February 7, 2011 Share February 7, 2011 boon lay got meh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...