Cutebeat Clutched February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 (edited) NUS PhD student spared jail term By Leong Wee Keat | Posted: 01 February 2011 1836 hrs Photos 1 of 1 SINGAPORE : A PhD student from the National University of Singapore has been spared the usual jail term for a road rage offence. This came after a High Court judge rejected an appeal by the Public Prosecutor for a stiffer sentence. 32-year-old Mohamed Feroz Mohammed Omar had been fined S$4,000 in a District Court for punching another motorist, Charles Wong Kia Choon, three times in the face on 29 November 2008. The incident arose after Mohamed Feroz swerved his car into Mr Wong's lane, forcing him to brake. When both drivers stopped at a traffic junction along Rochor Road in front of Albert Complex, Mr Wong, who was then 32, told Mohamed Feroz that he drove recklessly and had nearly caused an accident. They began arguing and Mr Wong called Mohamed Feroz "scum", which then led to Mohamed Feroz hitting Mr Wong. Deputy Public Prosecutor G Kannan had appealed against the sentence, calling it too "lenient". He also pointed out that previous road rage offenders in similar situations had been jailed. However, defence lawyer Subhas Anandan countered that this was "not a classic road rage case" where Mohamed Feroz deliberately trailed the victim and punched him without provocation. Mr Anandan said: "The assault may not have taken place if the victim had not uttered the word." Further, he said Mr Wong's injuries - a bruise on his left cheek, a wound inside his lower lip and tenderness over his upper back - appeared slight and superficial. There were no medical records or pictures of the extent of the injuries, the High Court heard. In dismissing the appeal, Justice VK Rajah said while the courts take a tough stance against road rage, it does not mean each case warrants a jail term. He added had Mr Wong's injuries been more serious, he would have allowed the Prosecution's appeal. Justice Rajah told Mohamed Feroz: "You are fortunate you pulled yourself back at the right time." if anyone bad mouth me the asianprince,i will just hamtum them back and pay the fine!!money is of no issue to the ASIANPRINCE! Edited February 2, 2011 by Cutebeat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Hi Asian Prince! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 To me..if u nearly cause an accident...just say sorry and go lor...he got u scum not as if scold your parents..in the 1st place he is wrong to drive so dangerously...dun need jail term but at least fine with community work for him..just 4k too light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 To me..if u nearly cause an accident...just say sorry and go lor...he got u scum not as if scold your parents..in the 1st place he is wrong to drive so dangerously...dun need jail term but at least fine with community work for him..just 4k too light phd student. condemm liaoz lor phd can go where? either school or research institute nia.... all govt linked ... even fine nia also means convicted in court => career end point [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 phd student. condemm liaoz lor phd can go where? either school or research institute nia.... all govt linked ... even fine nia also means convicted in court => career end point [laugh] Bro..we thought they r link but not at all...or too lazy to check...give u some example 1. Jonathan Wong caught for peeking during Secondary but still can get scholar ship for MOE 2. Aaron Kok Chun Cheong under investigation for having sex with minor but still managed to get into MOE while undergoing investigation. 3. A guy file report of his missing father to police. For 6 years the father is already found and in some old folks home..but no communication as usual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cutebeat Clutched February 2, 2011 Author Share February 2, 2011 Mohamed Feroz Mohammed Omar,a SCHOLAR in Cancer Science Institute majoring in Functional Significance of RUNX3 Mutations in Colo-rectal Cancer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Girl_powerful Neutral Newbie February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 "The assault may not have taken place if the victim had not uttered the word." It may not be a classic road rage but sure is a classic defence by lawyer Subhas Anandan! If I ever meet a road bully, I will make sure he scold me something ("*itch") before I use my heels to knock some sense out of him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Bro..we thought they r link but not at all...or too lazy to check...give u some example 1. Jonathan Wong caught for peeking during Secondary but still can get scholar ship for MOE 2. Aaron Kok Chun Cheong under investigation for having sex with minor but still managed to get into MOE while undergoing investigation. 3. A guy file report of his missing father to police. For 6 years the father is already found and in some old folks home..but no communication as usual ok... but most employment forms got a standard question: have you been convicted in a court of law. answer yes and you're GG. answer no and you're liable to be terminated once they find out the truth. most mnc do background checks, this is one of the first thing they check for. not sure abt govt jobs for your example 1: he was not convicted. just a sec sch offence. hence it was not in the system nor was he required to furnish the information. for example 2: he was not convicted yet prior to apply for the teaching job. hence no record too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 "The assault may not have taken place if the victim had not uttered the word."It may not be a classic road rage but sure is a classic defence by lawyer Subhas Anandan! If I ever meet a road bully, I will make sure he scold me something ("*itch") before I use my heels to knock some sense out of him. sorry man...i tink when come your turn they will say that is still no excuse to cause hurt to another. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Not the first time and will not be the last. There are always 'exceptions'. Even 'hit and run' can be excused if you can hire the right lawyers. Btw TS, your avatar photo scares me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Not the first time and will not be the last. There are always 'exceptions'. Even 'hit and run' can be excused if you can hire the right lawyers. Btw TS, your avatar photo scares me. ya, LOL sometime i oso wonder what makes such exceptional cases... similar to that thai court somewhr btween last yr and this year against thaksin or what, come out on paper the suit failed on technical grounds - info not filed on time/correctly (cant rembr but i can only rmbr it was some ridiculous reason) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 ok... but most employment forms got a standard question: have you been convicted in a court of law. answer yes and you're GG. answer no and you're liable to be terminated once they find out the truth. most mnc do background checks, this is one of the first thing they check for. not sure abt govt jobs for your example 1: he was not convicted. just a sec sch offence. hence it was not in the system nor was he required to furnish the information. for example 2: he was not convicted yet prior to apply for the teaching job. hence no record too. hmm...true also...but Tot singapore law is...u r gulity until proven innocent? They should lor..even if not offence..they are going to be teacher the MOULD the further..KNN later all come out like them...like to "play" with kids...at least be safe.....check school records n police.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Don't you guys dare to question our fair & just Jurisdictional system ok. We have the bestest & fairest system in the world! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng51 2nd Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 To me, hitting someone deserves a jail term... regardless of whether or not it's arising out of road rage. But sadly, this doesn't seems to be the case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avant_stealth Clutched February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Don't you guys dare to question our fair & just Jurisdictional system ok. We have the bestest & fairest system in the world! agree. very efficient too, iirc come out on paper for implmenting alot of new ways to cut cost & time maikin them very efficient, u sentence to die, it will chop chop be done unlike other countries dilly dally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Don't you guys dare to question our fair & just Jurisdictional system ok. We have the bestest & fairest system in the world! I'm thinking of buying a Lexus. Sorry sorry! Please don't invite me for kopi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 To me, hitting someone deserves a jail term... regardless of whether or not it's arising out of road rage. But sadly, this doesn't seems to be the case. I believe a chief justice said that in his ruling. But after that we still saw some 'exceptions'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 (edited) In the 1st place is this Mohamed Feroz Mohammed Omar a local or a imported scholar??? If import they are talent....if local they are just some elite's relative or sort...i have seen cases whereby our court dismiss some elite's or rich ppl's case just like nothing...and their famous quote..."this case cannot be use as reference for such similiar case in future" after verdict passed down...... No wonder they blindfolded the "justice statue" outside the court.....now then i know why.... Edited February 2, 2011 by Ronleech ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...