Minister pay $8 for surgery bill; Worker pay $147k for C war

Little_prince

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Jan 29, 2011

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/ST...ry_629462.html

THE CASE

Worker served with $147,000 C-class bill

I HAD an accident at work last June. Initially, the interim hospital bill from the National University Hospital indicated a subsidy.

But when the final bill was given to me, I was shocked. The bill for my stay at a C-class ward amounted to an unsubsidised total of $147,000.

I was discharged on Aug 13 last year and the reason for the difference between what was stated in the interim bill and the final one was not explained at all.

Only after I asked was I told that the Ministry of Health had withdrawn the subsidy as the accident was work- related.

About a month after my discharge, I applied for a waiver of the outstanding amount of about $122,000 through my MP. This was after my company had paid $25,000.

As far as I am aware, the hospital did not reply to the appeal.

Three months later, after more deductions from my MediShield ($41,000) and Medisave accounts ($31,000), I was informed that the hospital was in the process of scheduling an instalment payment plan for the remaining $50,000.

Needless to say, my family and I are plagued by anxiety. I am 54 years old and work in the construction sector; my wife works part-time and my daughters are still in their teens.

How can an average Singaporean worker like me support a family, pay off a huge hospital bill and still find more money to pay for subsequent medical requirements arising from the accident and treatment?

If I had been given a subsidy, I would not have been burdened by this unexpectedly trying financial circumstances.

Tan Guan Seng

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Jan 29, 2011

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/ST...ry_629462.html

THE CASE

Worker served with $147,000 C-class bill

I HAD an accident at work last June. Initially, the interim hospital bill from the National University Hospital indicated a subsidy.

But when the final bill was given to me, I was shocked. The bill for my stay at a C-class ward amounted to an unsubsidised total of $147,000.

I was discharged on Aug 13 last year and the reason for the difference between what was stated in the interim bill and the final one was not explained at all.

Only after I asked was I told that the Ministry of Health had withdrawn the subsidy as the accident was work- related.

About a month after my discharge, I applied for a waiver of the outstanding amount of about $122,000 through my MP. This was after my company had paid $25,000.

As far as I am aware, the hospital did not reply to the appeal.

Three months later, after more deductions from my MediShield ($41,000) and Medisave accounts ($31,000), I was informed that the hospital was in the process of scheduling an instalment payment plan for the remaining $50,000.

Needless to say, my family and I are plagued by anxiety. I am 54 years old and work in the construction sector; my wife works part-time and my daughters are still in their teens.

How can an average Singaporean worker like me support a family, pay off a huge hospital bill and still find more money to pay for subsequent medical requirements arising from the accident and treatment?

If I had been given a subsidy, I would not have been burdened by this unexpectedly trying financial circumstances.

Tan Guan Seng

To be fair and avoid framing the scenario, you should post the reply from the Hospital with regards to the case of Mr Tan. The hospital has given a more detail report.

if work related, then ask hospistar n company settle wit each other lor.

if nt work related, mayb subsidy

then again, given his job nature he no insurance? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

maybe insurance didn't cover everything lor

someone post the hospital reply?

This sucks ..... btw how the ministar pay $8? Insurance?

He pay using his medisave, but with his world class minister pay, his medisave also sure gao gao one.

Ya, very strange how come he got no insurance from his company.

If gahment already mandate all maids must have medical insurance, why not local workers?

go after the company lor. at least i think he should be covered by the workmen compensation insurance unless he carried out some works which like scafolding which will be excluded if above XX metres from the ground...

I think the hospital posted a reply in the newspapers also. But what's interesting is to find out why one person can pay $8, and another person, $147,000. What are the differing factors? Insurance coverage? Type of treatment? Hospital chosen? Facilities chosen?

Basically want cheap hospital bill, must also suffer paying relatively high health insurance premiums. What I know is that it can amount to thousands of dollars each year in premiums for a family plus children. Some people may think it's not worth to spend so much money on things that may never happen??

go after the company lor. at least i think he should be covered by the workmen compensation insurance unless he carried out some works which like scafolding which will be excluded if above XX metres from the ground...

workplace insurance covers only 25k.... the rest he still have to fork out

now call WICA -> WORK INJURY COMPENSATION ACT.

employees, regardless of salary range, is "by right" mandatory to be protected under WICA.

medishield cover not enough deh.

he should have bought those private "integrated shield plan" using medisave to pay, unless he got existing illness/ cannot buy, then is LL.

HE will at most pay 10% of total bill and a deductible, max $3000.

I think Mr. Khaw bought the full package, FOC when admitted to hospital, but need to pay premium in cash (<$50) monthly, which is cheap....looking at nowadays hospital bills.

admitting to hospital is like sending your accident car to WS.....tok tok tok

Edited by Summer69

could the minister had a CSC card or something like that... u see doc.. government pick up the bill..

also i think that guy beside the $8, also had some medicsave/medicshield coverage...

nowaday.. simple operation can set u back Ks of dollar...so dont tell me that spore medical is affordable...

so everyone must stay active and be healthy... u r only a sickness away from bankruptcy..

could the minister had a CSC card or something like that... u see doc.. government pick up the bill..

also i think that guy beside the $8, also had some medicsave/medicshield coverage...

nowaday.. simple operation can set u back Ks of dollar...so dont tell me that spore medical is affordable...

so everyone must stay active and be healthy... u r only a sickness away from bankruptcy..

nowadays I think no more for civil servants, i think cannot tahan the bills from those old retirees now claiming from gahmen.