Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 lets say if you r are in lane 1. then there's this bike doing lane splitting infront of you going ard 70-80km/h. 5 second he will eat into lane 1 , 5 second later eat into lane 2, and so on..and so on... is this road hogging? If afraid to be accused of road hogging, stay in lane 2 or 3 lor. If want to go faster, then keep up with the flow and stay in lane 1 lor. why must go in lane "2.5"? or "1.5"? even if the biker can maintain darn straight on the line with out eating into either lane. do you feel comfortable going pass him in lane 1 while he's in lane "2.5"?. For me, I don't feel comfortable as I don't know when he will suddenly come inside my lane. imo, its much safer for bikers to stay in lane rather then in-between lanes. So far I see riders don't wander between lane 1 to lane 2 every 5 sec. They seems to be keeping in-between lanes rather well. So over taking them is no problem, even on expressway. In expressway kind of speed, riders often cannot maintain a close following distance to vehicle infront. This is because they cannot stop safely in case E-brakes. For such case I'd rather they go in-between lanes. Might be safer for them in case sudden stop/slow down of traffic at high speed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 So far I see riders don't wander between lane 1 to lane 2 every 5 sec. They seems to be keeping in-between lanes rather well. So over taking them is no problem, even on expressway. In expressway kind of speed, riders often cannot maintain a close following distance to vehicle infront. This is because they cannot stop safely in case E-brakes. For such case I'd rather they go in-between lanes. Might be safer for them in case sudden stop/slow down of traffic at high speed. Drivers shouldn't be following too closely with the cars in front even in their cars. This rule not only applies to motorbikes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) Drivers shouldn't be following too closely with the cars in front even in their cars. This rule not only applies to motorbikes. Anything more than 2 cars length are hogging. If cannot keep up should not hold up the traffic flow. Edited January 29, 2011 by Octopus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Simi si lane splitting? I guess some ppl don know also.. Got picture of video to show? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Anything more than 2 cars length are hogging. If cannot keep up should not hold up the traffic flow. Anything less than 2 car lengths is tail-gating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) So far I see riders don't wander between lane 1 to lane 2 every 5 sec. They seems to be keeping in-between lanes rather well. So over taking them is no problem, even on expressway. In expressway kind of speed, riders often cannot maintain a close following distance to vehicle infront. This is because they cannot stop safely in case E-brakes. For such case I'd rather they go in-between lanes. Might be safer for them in case sudden stop/slow down of traffic at high speed. wow. Then I have to say you are very lucky. I encounter these kinda bikers almost everyday.. maybe because I frequent SLE ..they will just move in and out between 2 lanes.. and never signal. very unpredictable. or ever tried being over taken from the left when you are filtering left out of the expressways? if there's concern for breaking distance, then just maintain a safe following distance lor. don't want to hog, keep to the left (2,3) lanes lor. thats why theres' these advices on the road :"heavy vehicles and motorcycles to keep left ". I've been riding for so long and I have no problem with staying in lane. Actually best solution is to have a motorcycle lane or like in some countries, motorcycles arn't even allowed on expressway with cars..there's a seperate road for them. But not possible here in SG.. anyway when a bike is in fornt of you (in lane), how do you over take him? you go to the right lane and over take and go back to the lane right? U do not just over take him closely within the lane right? so how do you over take a lane spliting bike? if don't keep in lane...wats the point of drawing the lane? might as well just tarmac will do and anyone can just go anyhow anyway? to do lane spliting must see condition. When road is clear, why should you lane split? when roads are clear, cars tends to go faster..isn't it more dangerous for them? Bikers can lane split when traffic is congested...during jams, cars are moving much slower so also safer for the bikers. Edited January 29, 2011 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 When the roads are packed because bikers form up accordingly two-by-two like school children you'll regret even thinking of the idea. Anyway why bother about the lives of bikers when your so cosy in your 4-wheeler? They already cheapen their loves by buying a motorbike. Don't make it the government's problem when you can't bother to check your side view mirror AND blindpost before lane-changing. I ride and i drive equal amounts of time. I don't have a problem with lane-splitting bikers. hear hear! how can force bikes to take up same space as car. http://ukfrancebikers.com/2010/03/14/frenc...ngry-than-ever/ all those silly drivers who never think and want to make bikers ride like riding school. u all want our expressway to jam until like that or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 hear hear! how can force bikes to take up same space as car. http://ukfrancebikers.com/2010/03/14/frenc...ngry-than-ever/ all those silly drivers who never think and want to make bikers ride like riding school. u all want our expressway to jam until like that or not? Your statement doesn't make any sense, riders always want to take advantage due to their ride is small. If motor bike cause jam, riding centre will teach riders how to cut que professionally when traffic jam. It won't cause the jam but if bike accident , confirm it will jam to everyone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 anyway when a bike is in fornt of you (in lane), how do you over take him? you go to the right lane and over take and go back to the lane right? U do not just over take him closely within the lane right? If rider inside lane, then wait for opportunity to overtake via lane beside (can be left lane or right lane). so how do you over take a lane spliting bike? if don't keep in lane...wats the point of drawing the lane? might as well just tarmac will do and anyone can just go anyhow anyway? If rider in-between lane, usually I able to overtake in same lane as my car are not that wide. LTA code of practice indicated that standard carriage lane width 3.7m. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Your statement doesn't make any sense, riders always want to take advantage due to their ride is small. If motor bike cause jam, riding centre will teach riders how to cut que professionally when traffic jam. It won't cause the jam but if bike accident , confirm it will jam to everyone . this thread is "SHOULD LANE SPLITTING BE ILLEGAL" i just showed u example what road would look like if its made illegal. which biker wanna tio fine or demerit points by risking lane splitting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Your statement doesn't make any sense, riders always want to take advantage due to their ride is small. If motor bike cause jam, riding centre will teach riders how to cut que professionally when traffic jam. It won't cause the jam but if bike accident , confirm it will jam to everyone anyway if car accident will have traffic jam? If bus accident will have traffic jam? what about breakdowns? Then when bike accident, isnt a car involved too? It is rare that bikes actually hit another bike and cause a jam. why blame jam on bikers leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) anyway when a bike is in fornt of you (in lane), how do you over take him? you go to the right lane and over take and go back to the lane right? U do not just over take him closely within the lane right? If rider inside lane, then wait for opportunity to overtake via lane beside (can be left lane or right lane). so how do you over take a lane spliting bike? if don't keep in lane...wats the point of drawing the lane? might as well just tarmac will do and anyone can just go anyhow anyway? If rider in-between lane, usually I able to overtake in same lane as my car are not that wide. LTA code of practice indicated that standard carriage lane width 3.7m. I know can overtake, my car also not that huge also can overtake. whats the reason for overtaking a bike, which stays in lane by going to the next lane? all it takes is for the lane spliting bike to loose concentration abit or veer right a bit...hoo say liao... don't even need to knock, just the mirror brush againts the bike's handle bar at expressway speed can send the bike out of control and the rider flying. how I know? I kena before! (btw i was not lane spliting. driver over took me in my lane on lane 2) you must understand..bikers are already very vulnerable on the road. why still go and do something to increase that vulnerability? Edited January 29, 2011 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) I'm fine with motorcycles lane splitting as long as they don't come so near and they are smart. Last night at SLE/CTE AMK ave 5 exit. I was the first car on the lane that can go straight/turn right. There were cars on my left and right. The lane on my right was turn right only. I saw this bike coming in between my lane and the lane on my right. I quickly switched on my indicator, showing that I want to turn right. When the lights turn green, both of us accelerated. We were side by side. Then I followed the lane marking and turned right. The biker braked and went straight. What the hell is he thinking? If he is going straight, he could have form up on my left. :hur: Edited January 29, 2011 by Sg2303 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 I'm fine with motorcycles lane splitting as long as they don't come so near and they are smart. Last night at SLE/CTE AMK ave 5 exit. I was the first car on the lane that can go straight/turn right. There were cars on my left and right. The lane on my right was turn right only. I saw this bike coming in between my lane and the lane on my right. I quickly switched on my indicator, showing that I want to turn right. When the lights turn green, both of us accelerated. We were side by side. Then I followed the lane marking and turned right. The biker braked and went straight. What the hell is he thinking? If he is going straight, he could have form up on my left. :hur: Lol.... That biker must have had a long day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 to do lane spliting must see condition. When road is clear, why should you lane split? when roads are clear, cars tends to go faster..isn't it more dangerous for them? Bikers can lane split when traffic is congested...during jams, cars are moving much slower so also safer for the bikers. Actually I feel when lane clear and every vehicle travelling smoothly, it is safer. Even if bikes riding in-between lane this will allow cars to overtake easier. All vehicle travelling almost same speed, the speed are relatively to each other. But during heavy traffic and with bikes faster in-between lanes and car stuck in lane, this situation is more dangerous. Cars attempting to lane change in heavy traffic might not get clear view of the fast approaching bikes. So I feel in such situation, it is best that bikes slow down their speed. They can still stay in-between lanes, but be prepared to stop in case cars change lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 to do lane spliting must see condition. When road is clear, why should you lane split? when roads are clear, cars tends to go faster..isn't it more dangerous for them? Bikers can lane split when traffic is congested...during jams, cars are moving much slower so also safer for the bikers. Actually I feel when lane clear and every vehicle travelling smoothly, it is safer. Even if bikes riding in-between lane this will allow cars to overtake easier. All vehicle travelling almost same speed, the speed are relatively to each other. But during heavy traffic and with bikes faster in-between lanes and car stuck in lane, this situation is more dangerous. Cars attempting to lane change in heavy traffic might not get clear view of the fast approaching bikes. So I feel in such situation, it is best that bikes slow down their speed. They can still stay in-between lanes, but be prepared to stop in case cars change lane. Totally agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) I know can overtake, my car also not that huge also can overtake. whats the reason for overtaking a bike, which stays in lane by going to the next lane? all it takes is for the lane spliting bike to loose concentration abit or veer right a bit...hoo say liao... don't even need to knock, just the mirror brush againts the bike's handle bar at expressway speed can send the bike out of control and the rider flying. how I know? I kena before! (btw i was not lane spliting. driver over took me in my lane on lane 2) you must understand..bikers are already very vulnerable on the road. why still go and do something to increase that vulnerability? So are you saying either riding in-between lane, or riding inside lane, both situation are dangerous for rider? Would the situation be better if you were in-between lane instead? Hope not sound selfish, but more space for the car trying to overtake you? Edited January 29, 2011 by Octopus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) So are you saying either riding in-between lane, or riding inside lane, both situation are dangerous for rider? Would the situation be better if you were in-between lane instead? Hope not sound selfish, but more space for the car trying to overtake you? haha.. I in lane, car over take me in my lane and i should get out of its way and lane split? how do I know in the first place he going to do stunt ? wat toking u? Sorry. I really can't agree with your logic on lane spliting is actuallly safer..as my riding experience tells me otherwise. anyway.. you got your point. I have mine. to each its own. cheers! pang kang lo!!! Edited January 29, 2011 by Baphomet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...