Babyt 4th Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 blame it on supernatural being lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 The tonner was complacent? It was unforseen that a tonner can roll backwards? 1 in 50 years freak occurance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 Stuck accelerator pedal? Sometimes...young NS kids....are too carefree....did not think that life is unpredicatable. I go back ICT...all the lau peng very very safety conscious. Check this check that...ensure this ensure that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 or were they foes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 We are asked (not volunteers) to serve & protect our country to keep it safe. Thing is are the top people doing the same thing, taking care of us & ensuring our safety? Read the 9.30 news about him, really sad to see the dad sobbing as he talked about his son, asking how this thing happen so&so, and why no one around to watch for safety. Irony was later Army advertisment showing how we soldiers help to keep the nation safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 RIP. I think the parents will never know the truth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 RIP. I think the parents will never know the truth. Yeah, even if they know, the rest of us will be kept from knowing the truth so they can't do anything about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiwei27 Neutral Newbie January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 Maybe to tonner air tank leak that's y the handbrake put liao also no use. But how come never use wheel choke? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 KNN..put him in jail forever...just how fast is he reversing....can kill Force equals mass times acceleration. Mass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 28, 2011 Share January 28, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_629254.html A FULL-TIME National Serviceman (NSF) was hit and killed by a truck driven by another serviceman in Jurong camp 1 early on Friday morning. Lance Corporal (LCP) Wee Yong Choon Eugin, a Signal Operator, was unloading stores from the back of the truck at 7am on Friday morning when it reversed into him. A Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) medic attended to LCP Wee immediately. At 7.05am, an ambulance was activated to evacuate LCP Wee to the National University Hospital (NUH). LCP Wee was sent to the hospital at 7.15am and arrived at NUH at about 7.45am. However, he was pronounced dead at 7.59am. In a statement, the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) and the SAF extended their deepest condolences to the family of the late LCP Wee. Mindef added that they were assisting the family in their time of grief and were investigating the incident. So lucky, during my NS, a NS malinger panicked upon seeing an Officer approaching, almost chopped off my hands. Although I could not recall what came out of my mouth. He froozed for quite awhile and the Officer ran away. After thought: precaution/preventive measures: report every malinger anywhere, immediately (they may never give you a second chance) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Corrected for you We are asked (not volunteers) FORCED to serve & protect our country to keep it safe. Thing is are the top people doing the same thing, taking care of us & ensuring our safety? Read the 9.30 news about him, really sad to see the dad sobbing as he talked about his son, asking how this thing happen so&so, and why no one around to watch for safety. Irony was later Army advertisment showing how we soldiers help to keep the nation safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) I really dont undestand.... "Lance Corporal (LCP) Wee Yong Choon Eugin, a Signal Operator, was unloading stores from the back of the truck at 7am on Friday morning when it reversed into him." If Eugin was unloading stores from the truck, so the truck must be fully stop and in stationary position and he is very near?? while half way unloading, the truck reverse and kill him? how could it be? if forget to engage handbrake, then the most is truck roll back slowly and im very sure the person behind could avoid the truck on time, even if the guy didnt see the truck, within such short distance, the rolling truck can only "pushed" him, how fast the truck could roll within a few meters?? unlike car, truck is heavy, In terms to kill the chap at the back, the truck must reverse suddently + floor the the pedal all the way down so that enough force could be built up within a few meters distance to kill the chap?? Edited January 29, 2011 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 We are asked (not volunteers) to serve & protect our country to keep it safe. Thing is are the top people doing the same thing, taking care of us & ensuring our safety? Read the 9.30 news about him, really sad to see the dad sobbing as he talked about his son, asking how this thing happen so&so, and why no one around to watch for safety. Irony was later Army advertisment showing how we soldiers help to keep the nation safe Ya saw the news footage as well. Really heart breaking to hear Sr Wee talked a about his son. Eugin was apparently a very helpful person who according to his mother ever helped an old lady carried two bags of groceries & boarded the bus with her to accompany her home then took the bus home after that. The authorities must at least be sincere & truthful to his folks. That's the decent thing to do. Next thing is to ensure whatever safety provisions they have are fully complied with & someone of authority must ensure. Vehicle commanders (vc) must check that the drivers follow strictly the established procedures. Last but not least the drivers must be drilled in their minds that their vehicles are potential killing machines & have to follow standing orders on their usage. Just hope that this is the last time we ever hear of such a tragic incident regarding this type of situation... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 R.I.P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackmore 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 I really dont undestand.... "Lance Corporal (LCP) Wee Yong Choon Eugin, a Signal Operator, was unloading stores from the back of the truck at 7am on Friday morning when it reversed into him." No need to understand the statement; it sounds like its taken from a 10 years series . For all whom served, we all know things never add up with public statements like this. Actual circumstances leading to the accident will never be reveal to the public unless it brought to a civil court which has to be reported. After a while people forgets and the matters literally goes away unnoticed to the public. Sad to say another unnecessary figure in the stats of NS men dying in peace time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 heard from my buddy who is still storeman in there. heard that they unloading pretty near the wall. on slight slope. handbrake were on. but no chokes. driver suspected to be sleeping at driver seat. -.- but case still under investigation so he dunno much either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 heard from my buddy who is still storeman in there. heard that they unloading pretty near the wall. on slight slope. handbrake were on. but no chokes. driver suspected to be sleeping at driver seat. -.- but case still under investigation so he dunno much either. driver should have engaged gear.No excuse. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 driver should have engaged gear.No excuse. :angry: ya. heard he neutral, off engine and sleep there. terrible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...