Throttle2 Supersonic January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 Don't bluff people lah. $3,200 per month not enough to sustain your cigars also Can lah, my cigars only about $1000 to $1200 per month... Last time $1500 but i cut down already. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 let me refute all these saying of $3.5k is not achievable, in one post. my cousin, last year graduated from nus, dont know what course, topped his course. offered a job by hsbc, interviewed by all the big bosses around the world from morning till night. got the job. starting pay, $10k, plus every day $30 meal allowance. i know many will doubt what i say, but what the heck. i attended his wedding last year, present were ministers and ceos. actually, his family is so rich, he doesnt need to work. during the dinner, you can tell this is a very very fine young man. already started a charity in his own name to donate $5k every year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 let me refute all these saying of $3.5k is not achievable, in one post. my cousin, last year graduated from nus, dont know what course, topped his course. offered a job by hsbc, interviewed by all the big bosses around the world from morning till night. got the job. starting pay, $10k, plus every day $30 meal allowance. i know many will doubt what i say, but what the heck. i attended his wedding last year, present were ministers and ceos. actually, his family is so rich, he doesnt need to work. during the dinner, you can tell this is a very very fine young man. already started a charity in his own name to donate $5k every year. that one is one in a million lah, brother. he was employed and paid $10k becos of who he is, not what he is. we are talking about general situation...... however, i am of the camp that believes that $3.5k for freshie is not all that tough. it is not totally easy but attainable especially in certain segments of financial industry. for investment banking, $6k - 7k for freshie is pretty standard, just in case you guys dont know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 (edited) that one is one in a million lah, brother. he was employed and paid $10k becos of who he is, not what he is. we are talking about general situation...... however, i am of the camp that believes that $3.5k for freshie is not all that tough. it is not totally easy but attainable especially in certain segments of financial industry. for investment banking, $6k - 7k for freshie is pretty standard, just in case you guys dont know how can it be becos of who he is, as he is not related to hsbc, but was chosen for interview only becos he was top in his course ? his dad, started off as a nus engineering grad staying in my grandma's place and sleep with his wife in the hall, at mid thirties was the chariman of the chinese chamber of commerce, today, ceo of f&n. donno how filthy rich liao ... case of a true rag to riches success story . Edited January 29, 2011 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 how can it be becos of who he is, as he is not related to hsbc, but was chosen for interview only becos he was top in his course ? his dad, started off as a nus engineering grad staying in my grandma's place and sleep with his wife in the hall, at mid thirties was the chariman of the chinese chamber of commerce, today, ceo of f&n. donno how filthy rich liao ... case of a true rag to riches success story . You are 'the innocent, naive type, dude. good for your girlfriend. Many people are employed for who they are. and not for an once of their capability anyway, my point is that your example is a bad one. we are talking about general situation not one offs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 lol. ok, maybe you are right, i am largely ignorant\naive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 lol. ok, maybe you are right, i am largely ignorant\naive. if know too much, need alot of cigars to de-stress lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 29, 2011 Share January 29, 2011 if know too much, need alot of cigars to de-stress lol roll up sleeves and work too hard also need cigars to relax, hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismo22 Neutral Newbie January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 the andy liu is he a PRC ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngkhiang Neutral Newbie January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 Personally i feel that with today housing price and inflation , 3.5k is definately not enough to substain the current expenses at all . But should be deem as a good start to gain experiences . Whether or not he/she can be outstanding from the rest will depend on their own potential . Having a degree or master is just a foundation for themselves and whether they can be successful in their life needs alot of hard works , aggressivness , thinking , responsibilities , timming and luck too . In this world nothing is impossible , opportunities are everywhere , will you grab it when it comes ? Or will you wait for the next bus , and next bus ..... From my experiences its not banking sector , not shipyard executives that are earning big money . The top earners in the whole world are salesmans , sales have no restriction no boundry the more u sell the more u earn , well its still depends on what you are selling too . Just look at those property agent , insurance agent , car agent etc..... You guys will be shock if you get to know how much they are earning . If you guys look around , you will also see that many big companies in Singapore that are doing pretty well but the bosses maybe having only PSLE cert and yet they can still be as successful too. This is just my own points of views , just take it as a references no hard feeling . Btw i am just a 'O' level graduate from a poor family . But i am proud of what i am now :) Wishing all the fresh grads all the best for their job hunting . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 If you guys look around , you will also see that many big companies in Singapore that are doing pretty well but the bosses maybe having only PSLE cert and yet they can still be as successful too. please name me more than 2 big companies where the current bosses only have PSLE cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 please name me more than 2 big companies where the current bosses only have PSLE cert. Maybe he meant the guy behind the firm. Or the original founder. But all else equal, better be educated than not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superyandao 1st Gear January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 veri difficult meh? i lemember got sum1 say grad got 5k and drive carara porshy one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 Maybe he meant the guy behind the firm. Or the original founder. maybe watch too many "rags to riches" period dramas LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 Personally i feel that with today housing price and inflation , 3.5k is definately not enough to substain the current expenses at all . But should be deem as a good start to gain experiences . Whether or not he/she can be outstanding from the rest will depend on their own potential . Having a degree or master is just a foundation for themselves and whether they can be successful in their life needs alot of hard works , aggressivness , thinking , responsibilities , timming and luck too . In this world nothing is impossible , opportunities are everywhere , will you grab it when it comes ? Or will you wait for the next bus , and next bus ..... From my experiences its not banking sector , not shipyard executives that are earning big money . The top earners in the whole world are salesmans , sales have no restriction no boundry the more u sell the more u earn , well its still depends on what you are selling too . Just look at those property agent , insurance agent , car agent etc..... You guys will be shock if you get to know how much they are earning . If you guys look around , you will also see that many big companies in Singapore that are doing pretty well but the bosses maybe having only PSLE cert and yet they can still be as successful too. This is just my own points of views , just take it as a references no hard feeling . Btw i am just a 'O' level graduate from a poor family . But i am proud of what i am now :) Wishing all the fresh grads all the best for their job hunting . True. My gf's colleague (insurance agent) is earning alot. And she's a mother of 2 so she can't work full time. She refuse to become the agency manager as this would mean a pay cut. But i think we ot liao. Topic is starting basic pay.... their starting pay is very pathetic... can hardly feed you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 30, 2011 Author Share January 30, 2011 Even thought Keppel pays 9.5 month bonus, on annual basis your 1st class honours friend makes 3.1k x 21.5 = $68.8kpa. Not that fantastic for a scholar of 1st class calibre. I think it's pretty good for a fresh grad. No meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 (edited) maybe watch too many "rags to riches" period dramas LOL definitely. next thing, he will start quoting bill gates, steve jobs etc... Edited January 30, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jujitsuka 4th Gear January 30, 2011 Share January 30, 2011 (edited) I think it's pretty good for a fresh grad. No meh? Actually thats not the real figures cos 3.1k most prob incls basic+MVC so his 9.5mths wld not be based on 3.1K... must at least minus off 500bucks 2.6k per mth shld be his basic and multiply by 9.5 mths... Edited January 30, 2011 by Jujitsuka ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...