Robo 2nd Gear January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 mnc increment not as fantastic as big 4 though some of my friends actually had to take a pay cut to go if u ask me seeing how hard they work i would zhao. its quite crazy the hours. my boss' son with one of the big 4 as an auditor sunday also work hor... everynight 11pm come home is early liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 depends on how deem as fantastic actually.. some may think 3k is gd enough some will find 6k too little. i would say a fresh acca joining as an asst accountant or AE be paid around 2.6-2.8 as fair. even if u join big 4 its around 2.4-2.6 starting.. unless u have first class honors den its 2.8 True!! True!! [smash] It still depend on how an individual tinks.. But i dun tink i will 6k little..lolzzZZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 you like saying we sit there and rot [laugh] in a way yes keke well most industries are not easy to find job when the incumbent is old. accounting industry is better in this aspect in that old people still got chance to get the job last time i lost out to an applicant age 49 when even the job description specified about 10+ years experience. most of the other contenders were around my age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 Ya lo... if acca still an AA then i tink without cert go work in accounts might be faster route to AE though will nv be able to achieve cpa. from mine understanding lvl 3 wont straight accountant in MNC. SME maybe. MNC u most start as AE or asst accountant nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 in a way yes keke well most industries are not easy to find job when the incumbent is old. accounting industry is better in this aspect in that old people still got chance to get the job last time i lost out to an applicant age 49 when even the job description specified about 10+ years experience. most of the other contenders were around my age. You are in the accountancy profession? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 from mine understanding lvl 3 wont straight accountant in MNC. SME maybe. MNC u most start as AE or asst accountant nia. ya... of course if applying in mnc then still ok ba... Duno mayb i dun have much exp so hope can hear more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 You are in the accountancy profession? yep....but wont say i am most satisfied although quite satisfied haha cos my brain was better for finance and banking than accounting. and most of the people in banking and finance are earning much more than me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 in a way yes keke well most industries are not easy to find job when the incumbent is old. accounting industry is better in this aspect in that old people still got chance to get the job last time i lost out to an applicant age 49 when even the job description specified about 10+ years experience. most of the other contenders were around my age. i think in accountancty the older u are u got higher chance. esp if its snr mgmt level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 yep....but wont say i am most satisfied although quite satisfied haha cos my brain was better for finance and banking than accounting. and most of the people in banking and finance are earning much more than me Haha.. i heard such statement from my lecturer before... so you started as account assistant oso? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 i think in accountancty the older u are u got higher chance. esp if its snr mgmt level. yep in accounting, it is very easy to becoem the 2nd or 3rd most important man in the company. for engineering, harder to climb up to top few management Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 Haha.. i heard such statement from my lecturer before... so you started as account assistant oso? start as auditor, then accountant hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 start as auditor, then accountant hehe So you complete your studies in ntu/local uni in accountacy then go into big 4 as auditor for start? Sorry if i ask too much coz always hear ppl say their frien say this and that but nv heard from a real life individual.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 yep in accounting, it is very easy to becoem the 2nd or 3rd most important man in the company. for engineering, harder to climb up to top few management yea thats very true. wad industry is ur company dealing in ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 (edited) So you complete your studies in ntu/local uni in accountacy then go into big 4 as auditor for start? Sorry if i ask too much coz always hear ppl say their frien say this and that but nv heard from a real life individual.. yep local ntu uni. i didn't go big 4. that was qutie a wrong decision on hindsight. i had the chance to go but for pride and interviewer reason turn down the opportunity. bcos singapore still very brand conscious, no matter how good my work is, some still prefer candidates with big 4 alto i personally don't think big 4 candidates are definitely better. so my advice to u, if u can, start as audit for about 3 years especiablly with big 4. after that move to commercial accounting. take note that accountants generally have long working hours and usually cannot take long holidays Edited January 25, 2011 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 25, 2011 Author Share January 25, 2011 hehe we got legitimate reasons to SCREW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 shipping agent to attend principal good leh just sometimes ship come in middle of nite nid attend, 1 principal attend around $250. basic $2k+ average 1 month can hit 10k one.. wear slipper bermuda etc also nvm, coz they are ur customers but they need u more to handle things here..LOL most of the time off very early... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 shipping agent to attend principal good leh just sometimes ship come in middle of nite nid attend, 1 principal attend around $250. basic $2k+ average 1 month can hit 10k one.. wear slipper bermuda etc also nvm, coz they are ur customers but they need u more to handle things here..LOL most of the time off very early... Sounds like AMF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
At3li3r Neutral Newbie January 25, 2011 Share January 25, 2011 yep local ntu uni. i didn't go big 4. that was qutie a wrong decision on hindsight. i had the chance to go but for pride and interviewer reason turn down the opportunity. bcos singapore still very brand conscious, no matter how good my work is, some still prefer candidates with big 4 alto i personally don't think big 4 candidates are definitely better. so my advice to u, if u can, start as audit for about 3 years especiablly with big 4. after that move to commercial accounting. take note that accountants generally have long working hours and usually cannot take long holidays Very encouraging:) But duno whether can one with acca make it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...