Lee Kuan Yew: Hard Truths To Keep Singapore Going

Sgnick

who is Mr. Horse?

I know one in taiwan...

Huh u dunno him? OMG, the one who implemented COE, the one who control the housing so everyone pay thru their nose.

where to buy the book? i go buy now.

All book stores, Popular, Times, MPH, Borders, Kinukuniya, etc, but selling out fast everywhere

Anyone read the book or watch the video? This thread is for the discussion/review of this book.

I only have time to watch the video, some part quite confusing

In the video dId MM says that HDB flats are sold to us MINUS land cost? Is it true?

I dun believe !!!

Assuming 1 floor has 10 unit, the block has 20 storey.. and all are 4 rooms. One unit is selling @ 250k.

One block of HDB is $7500k..

Edited by Actan72

If land cost is not taken into account of HDB, then we will see all HDB flats selling at standard flat rates liao!! Why are redhill, queenstown flats more ex than punggol, sengkang, jurong?

Maybe this was true 30 yrs ago lah...

If land cost is not taken into account of HDB, then we will see all HDB flats selling at standard flat rates liao!! Why are redhill, queenstown flats more ex than punggol, sengkang, jurong?

Dun even go there.

The TRUTH is out there .................. but also depends on whose version lah.

u just hit the nail.. ahhaaa...

not only that.. why do we need valuation??? i tot someone say HDB is meant for commoners a roof to stay!!!! aahhaaaa

okie.. .. all the while.. i have doubt about our flat valuations.... allow me to pour it out.. correct me if i'm off track...

my ex-colleague bought a flat more than 600k, taking 30 yrs loan, with 500k of loan... excluding the interest!!! I believe at the end of the repayment period..... his CPF OA shall be very min. - assuming he stay on his job.. not many promotions... not job-hopping...

Is that our dear 'horse' promoting AFFORDABLE housing!!!!

My thoughts -> Are we are the slaves to our property... 30 yrs later.. we are left with no $$$..gov earn us via their so-called valuations and compound interest and we had to sell our flat back to them or pass down to our kids...

Its as good as i'm the tenant of this plot of land.. raised the price... and u lend $$$ from me.. with interest... then 30 yrs later.. u sell the house back to me.. and i pay u monthly bit by bit till u die!!! In short, the $$$ is always in my pocket... [laugh]

now back to the current situations... the resale of my unit had increase more than 150%.. Hence, simply value the unit with approx 150% profit.. meaning our gov is filthy filthy rich.. and inflation does not increased by 150% more... same goes to our salary... :angry:

correct my analogy if i'm wrong...

in hokkien: horse never wait...

how about "no horse run" ?

so is it the "TRUTH" that we must be careful when dealing with:

1) short people

2) people with hook nose

3) botak people.

Although Mr Horse is unpopular to many young family starters... because HDB beri exp. But those who is selling is happy :D

He also is very popular in Tampines... going to built the largest shoping hub there. Next GE if he leads to stand for Tampines... no problem to win >60% [laugh]

Edited by Ncss

okie.. .. all the while.. i have doubt about our flat valuations.... allow me to pour it out.. correct me if i'm off track...

my ex-colleague bought a flat more than 600k, taking 30 yrs loan, with 500k of loan... excluding the interest!!! I believe at the end of the repayment period..... his CPF OA shall be very min. - assuming he stay on his job.. not many promotions... not job-hopping...

My thoughts -> Are we are the slaves to our property... 30 yrs later.. we are left with no $$$..gov earn us via their so-called valuations and compound interest and we had to sell our flat back to them or pass down to our kids...

Its as good as i'm the tenant of this plot of land.. raised the price... and u lend $$$ from me.. with interest... then 30 yrs later.. u sell the house back to me.. and i pay u monthly bit by bit till u die!!! In short, the $$$ is always in my pocket... [laugh]

now back to the current situations... the resale of my unit had increase more than 150%.. Hence, simply value the unit with approx 150% profit.. meaning our gov is filthy filthy rich.. and inflation does not increased by 150% more... same goes to our salary... :angry:

In theory, we rent, we don't buy HDB.

you only realised profit if you & spouse both die...... or sell your HDB flat & stay in private, w/ parents, w/ kids or in tentage.

Although Mr Horse is unpopular to many young family starters... because HDB beri exp. But those who is selling is happy :D

He also is very popular in Tampines... going to built the largest shoping hub there. Next GE if he lead to stand in Tampines... no problem to win >60% [laugh]

Tampeenees already so many shopping centres, Giant, IKea & banks, still build some more. really so good hor.

those MPs covering north area better do something about it, feeling very neglected.

so far best act is building the KTP Hospital.

The NSE is a bit too late lor.

One needle see blood. :D[thumbsup]