Nitro Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 Skoda cabs are fast, but not that fast. It will take much more than a family saloon car to beat it but any performance makes like the WRXs, Type Rs, EVOs will shred it anytime easily. Anyway back to topic, Skoda price in SGP is and parts are not lasting and ex. My ah pek relative octavia less than 5 yrs old already need to overhaul gearbox cost few k. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 well, im using a 2.5 turbocharged car at that time. so am i doin a fair comparison? on the other hand, it seems like ur very sure a same capacity petrol engine can beat a diesel one. hv u tried it b4? R u saying that someone is dumb here? Anyway, talk is cheap. Try a TDI and you will know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 R u saying that someone is dumb here? Anyway, talk is cheap. Try a TDI and you will know. nope. not trying label anybody dumb here.. very rude to do dat u know? as for trying a TDi, I've done dat and prob will try it again. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 You're right. One Premier Cab driver once told me the company suffered huge losses on the maintenance and spare parts cost on their fleet of Skoda SPBs. Which is why all changing to Kia or Hyundai. no wonder it's rare to see any Skoda cabs nowadays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 Having been in here for a decade and driving a Skoda for a full 6years, I'm still as surprised as day 1 on the perception of Skoda by Singaporeans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 nope. not trying label anybody dumb here.. very rude to do dat u know? as for trying a TDi, I've done dat and prob will try it again. haha Hmmm....Really? Actually when I said trying a TDI, I am directing it at those who never try before but keep saying it will lose to a petrol engine at high end. Paiseh paiseh... Anyway, in Singapore it is the torque that counts isn't it? Give me pickup over top speed anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 Hmmm....Really? Actually when I said trying a TDI, I am directing it at those who never try before but keep saying it will lose to a petrol engine at high end. Paiseh paiseh... Anyway, in Singapore it is the torque that counts isn't it? Give me pickup over top speed anytime. As long as the torque is between 1200 - 6000 rpm, that would be the ultimate engine, since the engine gives you constant acceleration from low to high powerband. Diesels peak at 4,500rpm compared to a car of 6,500rpm - 8,000rpm. You can't expect a diesel to perform better in this aspect in the high powerband range. They can't even rev till 6,500rpm. No such powerband to rev to. So yes, i'll agree that driving in a city, a diesel engine is a much more willing pickup performer. But out on the highways, overtaking and going fast, i'll take a petrol - powered car anytime. Peace Out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 (edited) As long as the torque is between 1200 - 6000 rpm, that would be the ultimate engine, since the engine gives you constant acceleration from low to high powerband. Diesels peak at 4,500rpm compared to a car of 6,500rpm - 8,000rpm. You can't expect a diesel to perform better in this aspect in the high powerband range. They can't even rev till 6,500rpm. No such powerband to rev to. So yes, i'll agree that driving in a city, a diesel engine is a much more willing pickup performer. But out on the highways, overtaking and going fast, i'll take a petrol - powered car anytime. Peace Out. You are just quoting paper figures and your own theory. 20G bro have already tried real life with a Skoda. Have you? Anyway, what highways are you talking here in SINGAPORE? PIE? AYE? That's why I always said, talk is cheap! Sorry, should be talk is free. Edited January 24, 2011 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 You are just quoting paper figures and your own theory. 20G bro have already tried real life with a Skoda. Have you? Anyway, what highways are you talking here in SINGAPORE? PIE? AYE? That's why I always said, talk is cheap! Sorry, should be talk is free. He is FC mah.. let him be lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 You are just quoting paper figures and your own theory. 20G bro have already tried real life with a Skoda. Have you? Anyway, what highways are you talking here in SINGAPORE? PIE? AYE? That's why I always said, talk is cheap! Sorry, should be talk is free. brother chill brother.. maybe my driving skills suck on straight roads, dats y I can't keep up wif the Skoda.. hee hee on hindsight, it was actually quite intriguing to see the Skoda starts to pull away after a puff of black smoke.. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 (edited) Reliability was a main concern for the older Skodas which were acquired cheap by JTA & fitted with local features e.g. aircon, power windows. The 6 year old 3U Superb and A4 Octavia which are owned by my family members are still going strong with little reliability issues. At least, they do not spend more time in the workshop than on the roads. The Silver Arrow Superb taxis are mostly abused by drivers who are intoxicated by the power and yet have close to zero knowledge on the procedures on the maintenance of TC cars. I have sat in a few Superb taxis before, which were in pretty bad condition. They are constantly subjected to harsh acceleration, thrown around corners. However, when you ask the taxi drivers if these taxis are given ample time to idle for 3 minutes or so, without load (which are prescribed in the owner's manual), before the engine is switched off, after a day's worth of driving, the answer is NO. Without any doubt, the transmission and the TC are the first few components to go. The ignorance of these drivers have a part to play in the reduced life span of these taxis. Edited January 24, 2011 by Koolaba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 (edited) It does not help that the ATF is not changed more frequently as prescribed in the manual (basis severe service interval) as it should. This is the common cause for GB to up lorry. Edited January 24, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 He is FC mah.. let him be lah Ferrari California? KNN , waste my time replying to him only. Thanks for the heads up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 Ferrari California? KNN , waste my time replying to him only. Thanks for the heads up. Np.. someone did the csi liowz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 Np.. someone did the csi liowz If you think I'm Ferraricalifornia, so be it. I can't be bothered with your opinion. FYI to the others, I'm a newbie. Nothing to do with FerrariCalifornia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 If you think I'm Ferraricalifornia, so be it. I can't be bothered with your opinion. FYI to the others, I'm a newbie. Nothing to do with FerrariCalifornia. If u aren't bothered with my opinion, u may juz ignore me If u are a newbie, dun post like got dragon, got tiger... dunno say dunno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 If u aren't bothered with my opinion, u may juz ignore me If u are a newbie, dun post like got dragon, got tiger... dunno say dunno Ok. I may not know the full performance of the Skoda Superb 2.5TDI V6, but you go find me a similar 2.5Turbo V6 Petrol car, and I'm pretty sure it'll beat it to 200kph in a drag race. Heck, even 100-200kph, the petrol will beat the diesel hands down anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitro Neutral Newbie January 24, 2011 Share January 24, 2011 Ok. I may not know the full performance of the Skoda Superb 2.5TDI V6, but you go find me a similar 2.5Turbo V6 Petrol car, and I'm pretty sure it'll beat it to 200kph in a drag race. Heck, even 100-200kph, the petrol will beat the diesel hands down anytime. Fully agree!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...