Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 As above. Appreciate answers, thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 (edited) I am doc but children and infants usually have a slightly higher core body temperature than adults...and females have slightly higher core temperatures than males in general. 38.1 degrees is rather high though and it also depends on WHEN and WHERE the temperature was taken? Was it a rectal, armpit or oral site? Did u take the temp immediately after feeding? Is the baby showing any signs of distress? Any vomitting and flu symptons? To be safe go see a proper pediatrician.... Edited January 22, 2011 by NightWind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 (edited) Baby girl, when she is sleeping I take ear temperature. No vomitting, but very restless like rolling over and over the bed. Her Paedatrician clinic closed already. Oh yes, I remembered during lunch time feed, she vomited quite alot. I thought it was the food that causing it. Edited January 22, 2011 by Jj5599 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 If the baby shows no signs of distress, face is not flushed, no oral and nasal discharge, regular breathing, no shortness of breath and is willing to feed and sleep i guess u can monitor closely. Once any of these occur or the body temp elevates, to be cautious (and for your own peace of mind) consider briniging her to a doctor... Er this is a car forum so perhaps this is not the most reliable source of advice especially for infant care....once again i am no doc....can only offer comments based on basic common sense..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 just go to any doc lah. does not have to be a PD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Just saw your edit.....vomit? Better bring to Pediatrician please. There are afew who are open even at nights...or go KK.... Oh yes, I remembered during lunch time feed, she vomited quite alot. I thought it was the food that causing it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 The baby only 15 mnths old.....some of the ordinary docs are more "admin dispensaries" than real doctors....especially if its locum Dosage and administration method for infants is also different....e.g.no pills and oral medication is administered orally via syringes in syrups...etc just go to any doc lah. does not have to be a PD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 I brought her to a normal GP before. Wah lau..he damn rough sia...I more heart pain after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 (edited) Fever for sure...but I will not be overly concerned....unless is is close to 40. Just having to monitor closely and make sure baby is still relatively active and drink lots of breast milk or fluid, etc... Edited January 22, 2011 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 since already seen a gp, is she given some medication to control the fever? unless you want see another doc or go kk, else you still have to monitor her temperature closely (their temp can shoot up damn fast), make sure she is sufficiently hydrated and watch out for any sudden problem.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 No I mean previous I brought her to a GP but he seemed to be too rough on her. I havent brought her to any doc for today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 I having a tough time to take her ear temperature, managed to only when she sleep. Any other non invasive alternative? Is the Infrared thermometer harmful to the eyes or any part of the baby? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 unless the baby twist and turn,, i dun see how it can be difficult to take ear temp, of course you hv to hold her firmly. all the eye or forehead thermometer utilised infra-red emiited by our body to measured temp, ...........all things emit infrared, hotter thing emits more, cooler one less........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 Held her firmly but she struggled out with all her strength Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Held her firmly but she struggled out with all her strength you quite weak huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Sometime it is not the temp but her activeness..... if she 38 but still jumping here and there, then no real convern... she 37 but seem to be tired, weak... you got to be more concern..... Anyway, to be on a safe side... bring her go KK lar.... seriously not that great but if PD closed, KK better than dont have...... but be prepare to wait...... but if she really high fever, you gotto go to the Red Door (express lane)..... anyway they will gibe her the usual stuff to bring down temp..... monitor her for a day or 2... still not recovered, bring her see your own PD....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 (edited) You still waiting for replies ? Afraid doctor rough handling ? What are you thinking man ??? Please bring her see doctor immediately so as to be safe if you are unsure. This type of things must teach you meh. Wah Kaoz !!!! Edited January 22, 2011 by Renegade777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...