Wkwlb Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hello guys wish to gather some opinion here. Recently done a renovation to my apartment, a 700sqt studio. The electrician work includes all plug/switches changed, installing a few lamps and shifting the D/B box. Now the electrician came up with a bill totaling $2900+ here I list some of the items: Installing heater switch $120 each socket outlet $80 each shift heater switch $75 each shift D/B box $850 I have provided all sockets and switches from my own source, the old D/B boxes is re-used. Am I being carrot? I was expecting something of $1K plus since it is only a studio. Any input is appreciated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hello guys wish to gather some opinion here. Recently done a renovation to my apartment, a 700sqt studio. The electrician work includes all plug/switches changed, installing a few lamps and shifting the D/B box. Now the electrician came up with a bill totaling $2900+ here I list some of the items: Installing heater switch $120 each socket outlet $80 each shift heater switch $75 each shift D/B box $850 I have provided all sockets and switches from my own source, the old D/B boxes is re-used. Am I being carrot? I was expecting something of $1K plus since it is only a studio. Any input is appreciated. If you can't even do some of the above tasks by yourself...like installing switches , socket outlet .. Then you deserved to be CARROTED!,,,(past tense for carrot) ========================================================== Like I said ...the HOPELESS-NESS of a Sinkie male... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Why didn't you ask for a quotation in the first place? It seems like you have signed a blank cheque. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hello guys wish to gather some opinion here. Recently done a renovation to my apartment, a 700sqt studio. The electrician work includes all plug/switches changed, installing a few lamps and shifting the D/B box. Now the electrician came up with a bill totaling $2900+ here I list some of the items: Installing heater switch $120 each socket outlet $80 each shift heater switch $75 each shift D/B box $850 I have provided all sockets and switches from my own source, the old D/B boxes is re-used. Am I being carrot? I was expecting something of $1K plus since it is only a studio. Any input is appreciated. actually...it's quite expensive.. new socket outlet is about $50? heater switch about $100. shifting about $40.. DB i'm not sure.. but the above price is already electrician's markup liao.. or your job abit more tedious.. like conceal wiring? electrician needs to hack small tracks to hide wires and then patch them back again.. etcetc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 around 20-30% higher liaoz branded one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 actually...it's quite expensive.. new socket outlet is about $50? heater switch about $100. shifting about $40.. DB i'm not sure.. but the above price is already electrician's markup liao.. or your job abit more tedious.. like conceal wiring? electrician needs to hack small tracks to hide wires and then patch them back again.. etcetc? this one you also know! anything you don't know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wkwlb Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 If you can't even do some of the above tasks by yourself...like installing switches , socket outlet .. Then you deserved to be CARROTED!,,,(past tense for carrot) ========================================================== Like I said ...the HOPELESS-NESS of a Sinkie male... What you mention is within the scope of DIY, just a couple of screws, but the shifting works and entire electrical layout... I'd rather to avoid being electrocuted... or if I think I can manage to renovate the whole apartment myself, I'd love to pick up a contractor job and start carroting ppl!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Maybe the copper wiring is expensive? Hidden or trunking for the wires? I would think that your studio is a very high end place....so the electrician also give you high end prices. Yes, it does seems overpriced! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokemon Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 this one you also know! anything you don't know? you stalking her ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 you stalking her ah. i camp in mcf -_- and i stalk everyone here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 this one you also know! anything you don't know? jacks of all trade... [laugh] you stalking her ah. i think so leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wkwlb Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 Thank you guys for the useful input. It is my first time to get my hand on house renovation and I guess thats y the contractor was asking everything sky high.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 What you mention is within the scope of DIY, just a couple of screws, but the shifting works and entire electrical layout... I'd rather to avoid being electrocuted... or if I think I can manage to renovate the whole apartment myself, I'd love to pick up a contractor job and start carroting ppl!! Just a couple of screws? Are you sure? For you....Talk cxck sounds easier. Even before knowing HOW TO DO ...already say afraid to be electrocuted.. THERE YOU HAVE IT.. A typical Sinkie male's reply to most of his everyday problems! That is why I said most Sinkie males are USELESS and HOPELESS! =============================================================== BTW, I don't just know how to do electricals on properties but I do cars, motorbikes and other DIY on bicycles and the occasional home appliances...and I am not even in the electical trade or 'need to dirty my hands' to earn my pay! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Confirm you kena chop carrot liao lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hello guys wish to gather some opinion here. Recently done a renovation to my apartment, a 700sqt studio. The electrician work includes all plug/switches changed, installing a few lamps and shifting the D/B box. Now the electrician came up with a bill totaling $2900+ here I list some of the items: Installing heater switch $120 each socket outlet $80 each shift heater switch $75 each shift D/B box $850 I have provided all sockets and switches from my own source, the old D/B boxes is re-used. Am I being carrot? I was expecting something of $1K plus since it is only a studio. Any input is appreciated. Sounds very ex especially there is no rewiring, in terms of labour the tedious part is the laying of wire across the house, changing of outlets all these is just <5 mins per piece. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 He confirm Chop your vegetable head...didn't he give u a quote before doing? U pay liao? Cannot discount? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norzahari Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 next time try to compare prices between 2-3 contractor bahh. some even can quote you free of charge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 did u do rewiring? if yes, it could be that high well the contractor get paid for their knowledge ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...