Kelpie 2nd Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, I play the flute and piccolo. My wife too. My sis as well. In fact we were all in the same section back in school. Violin trains them to be pitch perfect but can be harrowing during the learning process. Piano is quite a good start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, for me, i dun bother unless they express strong interest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 for me, i dun bother unless they express strong interest Me 2. Me and my wife not talented in music so dun bother...unless kids request or show interest.....but feel swimming and martial arts is a must for boy even if no interests :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 I think he plays with his organ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 I think he plays with his organ. lucky he never play other('s) organ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? these three always come to mind... my boy can never play music instrument, tried flute, guitar for a short while, gave up lately pick up piano, so far so good cos his elder sis has been playing for few years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 My son is drummer with Guitar hero and Rock Band 2 on our Wii set.. This one consider or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, exposure and select try kindermusik etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 (edited) lucky he never play other('s) organ [laugh] But I'd like him to be invited to play his organ solo in a nice girl's chamber. One day. Edited January 21, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 But I'd like him to be invited to play his organ solo in a nice girl's chamber. One day. front chamber or rear chamber? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, The question should be what kinda expectation do you have for your children when you want them to take up these lessons? When I was young at 6~7yo I did not have a choice but to take piano lessons cos my cousin is also learning... I think. My parents assumed it's good for me also. It was tough as I didn't have much interest. At the same time I was also learning how to swim and taking drawing lesson from the community centre. I guess I have a kiasu mum. It was fun initially, mostly playing children songs but as it progresses I had to take exams which I hated most, like as if school work is not enough. But my parents expectation were above average so have to show them smth. Dan it finally came to a point when I could not bring myself to go further as in I really want to give up. I was in my teens, very distracted and having problems focusing on studies & piano lessons. So I asked for a permanent break and I got it. By dan my parents were busy with their work and they cared less. But I still play once in a while for them to make them feel the money spent for the lessons were worth spending. I dun have a chance to regret cos I didn't make that choice or I was too young to make any choice in fact. Now that I have a son of my own I let my wife decide whether he should learn music. I boh chap. Funny thing is I still play today, not very frequent of course. I still remember most of the things I had learned in the past. I dun have the so called passion for music but I think I have very good memory. I can't seem to leave it behind me. I guess it's very much like swimming. I find that parents must know their child's character whether they are suitable to learn or whether they can take it cos it can be a test of patience. Otherwise it's just a waste of time & money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 (edited) front chamber or rear chamber? If it's a girl, I hope he gets to perform at all the venues, including the exclusive small chamber above. Edited January 21, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylau1177 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 I think he plays with his organ. knn another hum sup one, why mcf all so hum sup one? [laugh] i also play organ, play with my organ and my wife's organ [lipsrsealed] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 (edited) Hi all, How do you guys start your kids on musical instrument? Do you "choose" for them? For example, since I've a piano at home, I will enroll my child for piano lesson? Letting them choose also troublesome, some child simply can't decide on which one and ended up giving it up altogether. For 6~7 years old, which is a good one to start with? Violin? Piano? or guitar? Please feedback. Thank you very much. Regards, Piano is a good start as it is the mother of all instruments. Establish a good foundation in the beginning and the kid will not suffer when they progress higher. However, piano requires CONTINUOUS encouragement and support from parents. At lower grade, please do not expect your kid to sit there for 45mins and practise on their own. Almost impoosible except when parent sits with them. Until today i still do almost everyday. Ultimately, it is whether the parents or the kid give up first. Lastly, it is a costly and lengthy investment. Edited January 21, 2011 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 Piano is a good start as it is the mother of all instruments. Establish a good foundation in the beginning and the kid will not suffer when they progress higher. However, piano requires CONTINUOUS encouragement and support from parents. At lower grade, please do not expect your kid to sit there for 45mins and practise on their own. Almost impoosible except when parent sits with them. Until today i still do almost everyday. Ultimately, it is whether the parents or the kid give up first. Lastly, it is a costly and lengthy investment. If the parents know nuts about piano, I wonder how do we accompany them and to get them to play the right tune? Piano is big in size so I'm of the thought for him to learn something that is "portable". My son came to me one day and asked me whether he can learn a muscial instrument. I asked him, which one do you like? He can't answer me. So I asked him, do you like Piano? He said, "ok". Then I asked, do you like violin, "also can". How about Guitar? "can try also" . So ended up no conclusion. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 吹箫!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 If the parents know nuts about piano, I wonder how do we accompany them and to get them to play the right tune? Piano is big in size so I'm of the thought for him to learn something that is "portable". My son came to me one day and asked me whether he can learn a muscial instrument. I asked him, which one do you like? He can't answer me. So I asked him, do you like Piano? He said, "ok". Then I asked, do you like violin, "also can". How about Guitar? "can try also" . So ended up no conclusion. Regards, [laugh] my son did that too.... just sign him up one at a time see if he is interested... but their hand is too small for guitar if too early. parents know nothing about piano is ok as long as you can 'listen' and know where gone wrong, when my girl first started, she doesn't understand the 'meaning' of the piece (most kids won't understand lah), so we went to internet and let her listen to how it should be played.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...