Kezg1 5th Gear January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 On 1/21/2011 at 4:59 AM, Parkingidiot said: yeah.. seems like thailand closing down diving due to coral damage. Yes its quite bad...just back from phuket but did a few snorkel trip with my boys.... As a nature lover , I did felt abit sad when I saw those dead broken corals. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 On 1/20/2011 at 6:58 PM, Momo_2005 said: oic, thx for the advice. but the recommended set cost on average how much? hopefully my discover scuba tryout let me get hooked onto scuba diving making me dying to learn it thanks alot Err hard to say leh... cause even 1 equipment alone there are tons of choices with diff price tag...... depending how deep your pocket also..... but should look at a couple of thousand for a good set.... but really, not now, you just started..... go for few more dive and after you are totally hooked... ... then you opt for your own equipment..... In the long run, personal stuff always better due mainly to hygience and also no need everytime need to adjust this adjust that... and dont forget the dive centre dont "lend" you FOC... you will be charge a "renting fee"..... and of course for Ego.. ... wah my own personal diving equipment.... .... The downside of course you need to maintain your own equipment.... wash and dry etc etc...... and after a tiring day... got to lug that big bag full of equipment home... if you drive, still not so bad.... take train/bus... siao liao... equipment neber dry properly, you will see water dripping from bag.... sure kena left right centre..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 21, 2011 Share January 21, 2011 On 1/21/2011 at 5:32 AM, Kezg1 said: Yes its quite bad...just back from phuket but did a few snorkel trip with my boys.... As a nature lover , I did felt abit sad when I saw those dead broken corals. Then time for them to close it down...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 On 1/21/2011 at 4:19 AM, Bladerunner said: wont let you dry bro... those basic stuffs that i'd mentioned will cost a couple of hundreds... but as some bro mentioned, you can always use the dive centre's gear first... depends on yourself, mostly it's a personal hygiene thingy, you know what i mean... oh i see. thx for the advice. maybe should after the scuba tryout and decide. but i will prefer spore water training instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 On 1/21/2011 at 5:35 AM, Nlatio said: Err hard to say leh... cause even 1 equipment alone there are tons of choices with diff price tag...... depending how deep your pocket also..... but should look at a couple of thousand for a good set.... but really, not now, you just started..... go for few more dive and after you are totally hooked... ... then you opt for your own equipment..... In the long run, personal stuff always better due mainly to hygience and also no need everytime need to adjust this adjust that... and dont forget the dive centre dont "lend" you FOC... you will be charge a "renting fee"..... and of course for Ego.. ... wah my own personal diving equipment.... .... The downside of course you need to maintain your own equipment.... wash and dry etc etc...... and after a tiring day... got to lug that big bag full of equipment home... if you drive, still not so bad.... take train/bus... siao liao... equipment neber dry properly, you will see water dripping from bag.... sure kena left right centre..... wah, like tat i tink i will invest in a mask first if i really into it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2011 Author Share January 21, 2011 i wan learn spore water training so tat wkend i need a destress can book a 1day dive trip here man. hope tat discover hook me up for more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 On 1/21/2011 at 5:52 AM, Momo_2005 said: i wan learn spore water training so tat wkend i need a destress can book a 1day dive trip here man. hope tat discover hook me up for more If you love the Sun,Sea & Sand....you will definitely luv it after the 1st dive... "its better than Sex".. a slogan I saw in 1 of the dive center pin-up board in Byron Bay...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2011 Author Share January 22, 2011 On 1/22/2011 at 1:47 AM, Kezg1 said: If you love the Sun,Sea & Sand....you will definitely luv it after the 1st dive... "its better than Sex".. a slogan I saw in 1 of the dive center pin-up board in Byron Bay...lol yep. agreed. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bladerunner 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 it's the only time where you won't hear any other sound except your breathing and the bubbles... peaceful... and not to mention the feeling of "flying" in slow motion... wonderful!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 On 1/22/2011 at 6:22 PM, Bladerunner said: it's the only time where you won't hear any other sound except your breathing and the bubbles... peaceful... and not to mention the feeling of "flying" in slow motion... wonderful!!! Yah totally agree! I always hold my fins in zen posture and let the breathing control my buoyancy, very effortless sport if you can reach that stage. And I am just an open water diver, often putting those advance divers who crash landed to shame. That is why a good dive instructor is very very important, not that I am clever. Only passionate instructors will spur you to master the finer points of diving, instead of just chasing chicks and tcss only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 2:48 AM, Best_ctzn said: Yah totally agree! I always hold my fins in zen posture and let the breathing control my buoyancy, very effortless sport if you can reach that stage. And I am just an open water diver, often putting those advance divers who crash landed to shame. That is why a good dive instructor is very very important, not that I am clever. Only passionate instructors will spur you to master the finer points of diving, instead of just chasing chicks and tcss only. Now you make me feel like going back into the sea again. Floating serenely above the corals like Buddha ... looking over the denizens of the reef scurrying around with their activities ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 4:39 AM, Nephilim said: Now you make me feel like going back into the sea again. Floating serenely above the corals like Buddha ... looking over the denizens of the reef scurrying around with their activities ... As the saying goes.... "DIE DIE MUST DIVE".... Another crazy slogan for crazy fellow diver.... "I LOVE NITROGEN NARCOSIS"...... ....... kena once during a dive,luckily just alert and experience enough to get out of it.... 1 crazy ang mo so envious, say wanted to try the feeling..... Can be deadly.... so dont pry pry.... Meaning of it.... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nitrogen_narcosis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Author Share January 23, 2011 (edited) yo people, back from my morning scuba tryout session. Should say, omg, why the hack i never go sign up for scuba diving man, it so so so, i dont know how to describe man. the feeling is dam nice, but the beginning putting on the fins, the equipment standing inside the pools i very scare as i dont seem to be able to stand or balance, like anytime wan fall into the water. just a tryout experience the instructor let me try the 1/3 flush mask and half mask flush i should say i am quite fine with it, it like easy to me and i really love the experience of breathing underwater, it so nice feeling, and i find after tat getting up to stand i seem to have problem as my balancing not there must try a few time then can stand out (i mean the pool after the swim), anybody can advice is this normal? cannot wait for my owd man.... Edited January 23, 2011 by Momo_2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Author Share January 23, 2011 now dunno to sign with padi or ssi, anybody can help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 8:34 AM, Momo_2005 said: now dunno to sign with padi or ssi, anybody can help? When I was actively diving > 10 years ago, it all depends on your instructors. I used to dive with diffeent agencies, encountered all kind of style. No such thing as one agency safer than the other, all boils down to individual. But from max depth alone, SSI was 100ft, NAUI was 60ft. And NAUI seemed most cautious. now not sure got change or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Author Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 9:18 AM, Best_ctzn said: When I was actively diving > 10 years ago, it all depends on your instructors. I used to dive with diffeent agencies, encountered all kind of style. No such thing as one agency safer than the other, all boils down to individual. But from max depth alone, SSI was 100ft, NAUI was 60ft. And NAUI seemed most cautious. now not sure got change or not. oic, wah, hope for more input. the tryout i done the operator is ssi, but my fren all tell me take padi. jialat sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear January 23, 2011 Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 8:34 AM, Momo_2005 said: now dunno to sign with padi or ssi, anybody can help? As stated by Best_ctzn, go with the instructor you are most comfortable with. Maybe the group of buddies might play a part too. FYI my Open Water is Padi, my Advanced is SSI, my Rescue is Padi etc. etc. etc. so it doesn't really matter (at least for me) ... unless you start looking at TDI, IANTD, GUE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 23, 2011 Author Share January 23, 2011 On 1/23/2011 at 10:07 AM, Nephilim said: As stated by Best_ctzn, go with the instructor you are most comfortable with. Maybe the group of buddies might play a part too. FYI my Open Water is Padi, my Advanced is SSI, my Rescue is Padi etc. etc. etc. so it doesn't really matter (at least for me) ... unless you start looking at TDI, IANTD, GUE oh i see. thx for the input. i knw wat i wan liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...