Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 true, true. if not everytime you go dive must take on different strangers as buddies. trust me you do not want to put your own life in the hands of a total stranger. advance a bit: when out of air you need your buddy to share air with you else and for those newbies who go diving... this is a sport where can meet a lot of hot chiobu in small bikini... esp during boat dives... so try and improve your bod, six pack and pecs if you want to impress some hot chicks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mantaone Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) scuba tryout or discover scuba, anybody has tried before? any comment? coz i not too sure whether i will contiune or enjoy scuba diving or not. can pro advice? thx If you have time go for a short trip to Tioman, get your certification there If u do not want to buy your gears, rental is available. All schools teached the same, it is the instructors that make the difference Do not always go for the lowest rates, they will cut corners, some ppl get certify in 3 days but they learn nothing. Dive centres are still profit driven. If ever u go tioman see whether you can hit japan golden week alot of chiobu to see best if u buddy them.. Holding their hand underwater........ Edited January 20, 2011 by Mantaone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 omg, how much u spend on gear? haiz... dun say.... it's expensive if you buy all new equipment. But as diving is a sport that not everyone will do forever, there are lots of 2nd hand equip out there. Basic things you need are: mask, snorkel and fins. The mask and snorkel should get those that have proper fit - you should go to as reputable diveshop that allows you to try and fit. May cost about $30-50. I used to shop at Charlie's at Lucky Plaza basement - dunno if still there. But prices can kena carrot chop if not careful. Best is to get advise from dive instructor - they most probably have good lobang. The fins - need to decide to get open heel or closed heel (open heel usually to be work together with dive boots). Dive boots are a good idea if doing a lot of beach dives. As you need to walk from the beach into the water. And closed heel fins are a bitch to put on whilst in the water, otherwise need to walk backwards from the beach. I recommend dive boots and open heel. Esp sometimes need to walk on a bit of rocks at the beach, you'll cut yourself if walk barefoot. May cost upwards of $50 for a good set. I recommend getting a dive suit - as sometimes water can be too cold or filled with itchy stuff that irritates the skin if just diving without suit. A neoprene wetsuit is ok for most tropica asian waters diving. May cost upwards of $200. Other equipment can either buy 2nd hand or rent or borrow. Not really necessary to buy unless you are a serious diver who prefers own stuff. Things like reg, octopus, BC, dive comp, compass, dive knives, dive torch (esp for night dives). etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 haiz... dun say.... it's expensive if you buy all new equipment. But as diving is a sport that not everyone will do forever, there are lots of 2nd hand equip out there. Basic things you need are: mask, snorkel and fins. The mask and snorkel should get those that have proper fit - you should go to as reputable diveshop that allows you to try and fit. May cost about $30-50. I used to shop at Charlie's at Lucky Plaza basement - dunno if still there. But prices can kena carrot chop if not careful. Best is to get advise from dive instructor - they most probably have good lobang. The fins - need to decide to get open heel or closed heel (open heel usually to be work together with dive boots). Dive boots are a good idea if doing a lot of beach dives. As you need to walk from the beach into the water. And closed heel fins are a bitch to put on whilst in the water, otherwise need to walk backwards from the beach. I recommend dive boots and open heel. Esp sometimes need to walk on a bit of rocks at the beach, you'll cut yourself if walk barefoot. May cost upwards of $50 for a good set. I recommend getting a dive suit - as sometimes water can be too cold or filled with itchy stuff that irritates the skin if just diving without suit. A neoprene wetsuit is ok for most tropica asian waters diving. May cost upwards of $200. Other equipment can either buy 2nd hand or rent or borrow. Not really necessary to buy unless you are a serious diver who prefers own stuff. Things like reg, octopus, BC, dive comp, compass, dive knives, dive torch (esp for night dives). etc. oic, thx for the advice. maybe should psyco ur co to go learn diving also? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 If you have time go for a short trip to Tioman, get your certification there If u do not want to buy your gears, rental is available. All schools teached the same, it is the instructors that make the difference Do not always go for the lowest rates, they will cut corners, some ppl get certify in 3 days but they learn nothing. Dive centres are still profit driven. If ever u go tioman see whether you can hit japan golden week alot of chiobu to see best if u buddy them.. Holding their hand underwater........ oh i see. but very budget for a working/studying person, nt much cash and hope to pick up a sport to destree. scuba diving do i need to be fit or not really? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) I was so hoooked... did until dive master.... did rescue, deep dive, wreck, equipment specialties... bought the whole kit from basic mask, snorkel, fins to full wetsuit, reg, octopus, etc. But after get married... diving kena veto by the CO.... So long time never dive liao... but miss the old days..... wow DM level liao understand ur plight. me too. my CO also my dive buddy but once got two little ones we basically kiss our diving trips goodbye liao, at least for now. sure you can still fit in your dive suit now??? Edited January 20, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mantaone Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) oh i see. but very budget for a working/studying person, nt much cash and hope to pick up a sport to destree. scuba diving do i need to be fit or not really? Relatively lah, (the heart pumps faster under depth) dont ask me the theory. Underwater, Scuba diving is a relax sports, its the surface. eg. You have to swim to the shore, swim to your dive boat, carrying your tanks ashore, helping chio bu carry their gears, etc You can check out their rate see if it meets your budget. http://www.balihaidivers.net/ Edited January 20, 2011 by Mantaone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 Relatively lah, (the heart pumps faster under depth) dont ask me the theory. Underwater, Scuba diving is a relax sports, its the surface. eg. You have to swim to the shore, swim to your dive boat, carrying your tanks ashore, helping chio bu carry their gears, etc You can check out their rate see if it meets your budget. http://www.balihaidivers.net/ oic, thx for the link. will nt kena heart attack rite? :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mantaone Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 oic, thx for the link. will nt kena heart attack rite? :P errrr. Then u have to ask yourself, how fit are you. can pass IPPT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 errrr. Then u have to ask yourself, how fit are you. can pass IPPT okie, bro, joking. i no take ippt man, excuse :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 heard is dam bad, but good training exposure i guess? not for noobies i guess. i've seen beginner divers panic because cannot breathe. now imagine you panic cannot breathe + cannot see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Momo_2005 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 not for noobies i guess. i've seen beginner divers panic because cannot breathe. now imagine you panic cannot breathe + cannot see omg, like tat become pay and die instantly? kidding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 and for those newbies who go diving... this is a sport where can meet a lot of hot chiobu in small bikini... esp during boat dives... so try and improve your bod, six pack and pecs if you want to impress some hot chicks... THIS ... I beg to differ *just my own experience lah* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 If you have time go for a short trip to Tioman, get your certification there If u do not want to buy your gears, rental is available. All schools teached the same, it is the instructors that make the difference Do not always go for the lowest rates, they will cut corners, some ppl get certify in 3 days but they learn nothing. Dive centres are still profit driven. If ever u go tioman see whether you can hit japan golden week alot of chiobu to see best if u buddy them.. Holding their hand underwater........ Very true. Important thing to know is the instructor-student ratio. 1-3, 1-4 still ok. If you go for the cheapest cattle boat kind - you might even end up 1-12 and the instructor may even be a DM in disguise. Good to get to know the instructor who's gonna teach you and ask if he/she will be your instructor from pool sessions all the way to your open water dives (not changing all the time like govt hospital doctors). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 schools not important... get a good teacher..... some know how to do it themselves .... but tp teach ppl to do it is another matter some explain 1 time clearly and simply.. easy to understand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 true, true. if not everytime you go dive must take on different strangers as buddies. trust me you do not want to put your own life in the hands of a total stranger. advance a bit: when out of air you need your buddy to share air with you else haaaa if you go until this stage, that means you and buddy neber follow safety instructions... ...... if you new learner, then the dive master/instructor that follow you need to be shot.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 not for noobies i guess. i've seen beginner divers panic because cannot breathe. now imagine you panic cannot breathe + cannot see This is one "risk" of doing it locally.... cannot see make it worst..... you panic underwater only... siao liao.... kekekeke... no worry lar... you will do pool session first.... only diff is the sea is deeper only mah.... Hantu will be the spot most of the time... but that time I did my deep sea & night dive, went over to somewhere near sister island.... kns, that place even worst..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 schools not important... get a good teacher..... some know how to do it themselves .... but tp teach ppl to do it is another matter some explain 1 time clearly and simply.. easy to understand... Yes totally agreed.... school not that important.... a good instructor is much much much more important.... who can teach you the right skill...... that is why, going oversea to learn, sometime not creful, go to those "black shop".... learn only few hours certified you to be diver...... ...... dont pry pry with your life...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...