Latio owners pls come in! Question on 17" tyres!

Ivansyl

17" on Latio? yes it will look better... but your brakes will look incredibly tiny in comparison lor... as if its not tiny enough :P

Do note that bigger rim doesn't necessarily mean handling improve. Stable at high speeds yes, but if rim size is way off from stock spec, handling and steering will be compromised. You won't feel as 'nifty' as before.

bread butter car stick with the 15" lah, if want big rims, get a decend entry level sports car or suv.

anyhow upgrade rims is 1 good way of wasting $.

this is today's most riduclous post....

*if 17 same material as your 15, yes heavier... everybody says slower but come on lah... unless you do track drag racing, trust me wont be much difference lah... unless your car poor condition engine compression weak? and say if you get ultra light weight 17s, you wont feel difference... but note that tyres will be wider and FC will go up for sure...

bro, you got try before anot? really sluggish one leh, especially on slope. i tried before and sibei sian. you'll definitely try to compensate by pedal to metal and that makes fc really bad. btw my wife almost puke when i changed from 15 to 17 on lower profile tyres. then gotta tahan the nagging for almost a month until i changed back to original. :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

Edited by Andylau1177

bro ken, he know not what he is talking.... [:p]

he knows lah... just explaining abit off... haha

btw i love your new dino... even cuter.... actually my wife liked your old one she got me to send it to her... haha.. and she still has it...

bro, you got try before anot? really sluggish one leh, especially on slope. i tried before and sibei sian. you'll definitely try to compensate by metal to pedal and that makes fc really bad. btw my wife almost puke when i changed from 15 to 17 on lower profile tyres. then gotta tahan the nagging for almost a month until i changed back to original. :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

cause i always on coilovers, so my ride is always terrible... haha

i experienced before 16inch stock rims (heavy).... then change to 18inch wedsport (real ones)... seriously no difference in less power or anything...

but if 18inches heavy taiwan rims and car is under powered, then i guess you are definitely right...

^_^

cause i always on coilovers, so my ride is always terrible... haha

i experienced before 16inch stock rims (heavy).... then change to 18inch wedsport (real ones)... seriously no difference in less power or anything...

but if 18inches heavy taiwan rims and car is under powered, then i guess you are definitely right...

^_^

come to think of it, i dont even know the brand of the rims i changed to, prolly some lousy heavy rims. that time still young and dont know much about cars, kenna carrot by the shop. [knife] [knife] [knife] i think if i change to coilovers, my marital status would be divorced. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

hi bro, i bought a resale latio that came with a 17 inch rim. So i dun know exactly how does it feel on a 15 rim. I do saw other latio with 15 inch rim pick up faster than me, but the difference is not big and i am quite light footed. i think with the CVT GB latio is generally slower in pick up than most other cars on the road. my FC can go up to 13.5 with 80% of high way. with the 215/45/17 Tyre its very stable at 130kph (the highest speed i have ever tried in sg), and the pireli P7 tyre i have got really good dry and wet grip. hope these info helps

brothers,... take the stock latio 15" overall diameter, then find a 17" overall diameter that will match... you'll be hard-pressed to find a low profile 17" to match the stock diameter... <_<

relax bro... i know you are not a car goondu... [:)]

http://www.1010tires.com/tiresizecalculator.asp check it out

i think a latio should be stock 185/65/15....

example a 215/50/16 is exactly the same diameter as stock...

if you go like 205/55/16... abit bigger and 205/50/16 a bit smaller... but negligible difference to me lah...

205/45/17 i think no point going upsize when your tyre just as wide... unless go 215 for 17inchs... but not sure if Latio fender can take 215....

come to think of it, i dont even know the brand of the rims i changed to, prolly some lousy heavy rims. that time still young and dont know much about cars, kenna carrot by the shop. [knife] [knife] [knife] i think if i change to coilovers, my marital status would be divorced. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

OMG... thats serious....

my not so bad... but i had 'ear-ache' for quite awhile when i changed to coilovers on my present ride... haha

and when i did my exhaust, there was alot of noise for a while also... not from the exhaust but from my 'passenger'... haha

this 'noise' comes out whenever new 'things' appear on my car... remember when i installed meters my wify said... "you think you driving aeroplane ah".... i laugh until peng....

nag and nag... but for awhile only lah...

im looking to upgrade from my current 15" to 17" tyres and rims but the promoter at autobacs told me that i will regret my decision and eventually might wanna downgrade back to 15" as he said that it will be very heavy on the car.

anyone here upgraded to 17" on latio? hows the response? is the diff in power very big? bcuz i have considered this drawback but didnt think it will be affected that much.

if you intended to upsize your rims, go for +2" instead of just +1".

15" to 16" is a waste of money and you don't see much difference.

i got to agreed that from 15" to 17", overall weight for your car will be heavier. thus, FC will be higher than before.

in exchange, you will have a better handling ride.

have you heard of forged rims? i am not surprised that a set of 17" forged rims can be lighter than the stock 15" rims.

but, of course, forged rims are more expensive.

i will go for 17" rims.

my opinion for you is to go for 17" rims or keep it stock.

if you intended to upsize your rims, go for +2" instead of just +1".

15" to 16" is a waste of money and you don't see much difference.

i got to agreed that from 15" to 17", overall weight for your car will be heavier. thus, FC will be higher than before.

in exchange, you will have a better handling ride.

have you heard of forged rims? i am not surprised that a set of 17" forged rims can be lighter than the stock 15" rims.

but, of course, forged rims are more expensive.

i will go for 17" rims.

my opinion for you is to go for 17" rims or keep it stock.

how much are forged rims? how much more ex are they compared to normal ones

actually the FC wise doesnt matter alot to me, more imptly is how much the pick up will deprove.. if i get forged rims will it help to improve my pick up compared to getting the normal ones?

how much are forged rims? how much more ex are they compared to normal ones

your qns is very general.. its depend on the brands/models.

go and do some rims shopping and you will know the price range.

actually the FC wise doesnt matter alot to me, more imptly is how much the pick up will deprove.. if i get forged rims will it help to improve my pick up compared to getting the normal ones?

don't forget, rim+tyre = actual weight.

unless you get 15" forged to replace your 15" stock rims, then i am sure your pickup will improved. [laugh]

a set of 17" forged rims might remain relatively be the same pick up performance as your 15" stock rims.

lets face it bro... latio does not have very good pick up anyways....

the only way to improve pick up is to do the engine...turbo/supercharger/nitrous/port polish/ecu tuning/cams/blah blah... which i believe does not make sense to spend this kind of $$ on a latio...

so the other practical way is to lose weight on your car...

your 17" wheels if you get really light ones, prepare at least 2k or more... just for 4 rims tyres not included... and i suggest 205 for 17s if you dont wanna lose out on your pick up...

don't forget, rim+tyre = actual weight.

unless you get 15" forged to replace your 15" stock rims, then i am sure your pickup will improved. [laugh]

a set of 17" forged rims might remain relatively be the same pick up performance as your 15" stock rims.

im not looking to improve the pick up. i just aim to have relatively same pick up for my 17" compared to my current 15" if i were to change. i just dun wan it to deprove. haha

lets face it bro... latio does not have very good pick up anyways....

the only way to improve pick up is to do the engine...turbo/supercharger/nitrous/port polish/ecu tuning/cams/blah blah... which i believe does not make sense to spend this kind of $$ on a latio...

so the other practical way is to lose weight on your car...

your 17" wheels if you get really light ones, prepare at least 2k or more... just for 4 rims tyres not included... and i suggest 205 for 17s if you dont wanna lose out on your pick up...

omg so chor ah? 2k for 4 17"rims.. hmm i dun really need to improve my pick up, just wan it to stay the same... if my budget is 1.5k for rims + tyres can get bo? sorry im tyre pricing noob