More Taxi Booking Becos of Strong Economy???

Vid

I think this is bulls**t. Pple can't get a taxi that's why have to book. With all the cabbies doing stunts, one cannot get a taxi just by flagging along the road side anymore. [bigcry]

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_625208.html.

Jan 17, 2011

More book taxis in stronger economy

By Chong Zi Liang

THE number of passengers choosing to book a taxi instead of flag one down soared last year compared to previous years.

The two taxi operators with the largest fleet in Singapore both reported a steep spike in the number of bookings they handled last year.

Leading the pack was transport operator ComfortDelGro, with 24 million taxi bookings last year, a 37 per cent jump from 17.5 million bookings in 2009.

It is a record high for the company which first launched the service in 1996.

ComfortDelGro has more than 15,000 taxis.

TransCab, the taxi operator with the second-largest fleet at about 3,800 taxis, managed only 300,385 bookings last year.

what taxi booking? i can't even get thru e freaking hotlines! just sunday night i was trying so hard to get a cab and everywhere in town were snaking queues and everyone's faces were black as soot cos there was no taxi in sight! not a single 1. e queue didn't move nor did e calls went thru smoothly. from centrepoint to taka to wisma to ion. all queues but no cabs.

i had to listen to e stupid ring tone for like 30mins before an operator picked up. after i told her my location, she told me to wait for e taxi number. then proceeded to make me listen to e ring tone again for another 10mins before hanging up my call. i was not given any number!! so i ended up having to go back to e queue.

cannot flag a taxi nor book one. and it's in freaking orchard road!! CDG must have done something to e statistics man...

Fundamental root cause of cabbies hiding not resolved by the rtful stat board. [nosebleed]

In the end PTC will approve another round of fare hikes to 'appease supply/demand'.... [rifle]

seen this saga many times over like a broken tape recorder liuao..

better keep that trusty rusty car of mine..

I don't see the correlation between numbers of bookings and the state of the economy. The number of booking rises mainly also because the taxi operators have made it easy for people to book, for e.g you can sms for a cab in many locations now. So they have made it more convenient and that's all about it.

On 1/17/2011 at 5:37 PM, Vid said:

I think this is bulls**t. Pple can't get a taxi that's why have to book. With all the cabbies doing stunts, one cannot get a taxi just by flagging along the road side anymore. [bigcry]

Jan 17, 2011

By Chong Zi Liang

THE number of passengers choosing to book a taxi instead of flag one down soared last year compared to previous years.

The two taxi operators with the largest fleet in Singapore both reported a steep spike in the number of bookings they handled last year.

Leading the pack was transport operator ComfortDelGro, with 24 million taxi bookings last year, a 37 per cent jump from 17.5 million bookings in 2009.

TransCab, the taxi operator with the second-largest fleet at about 3,800 taxis, managed only 300,385 bookings last year.

Actually quite true. Whenever I got taxi duty, I notice Y2010 got more bookings than Y2009.

On 1/17/2011 at 6:23 PM, Magnifique said:

what taxi booking? i can't even get thru e freaking hotlines! just sunday night i was trying so hard to get a cab and everywhere in town were snaking queues and everyone's faces were black as soot cos there was no taxi in sight! not a single 1. e queue didn't move nor did e calls went thru smoothly. from centrepoint to taka to wisma to ion. all queues but no cabs.

i had to listen to e stupid ring tone for like 30mins before an operator picked up. after i told her my location, she told me to wait for e taxi number. then proceeded to make me listen to e ring tone again for another 10mins before hanging up my call. i was not given any number!! so i ended up having to go back to e queue.

cannot flag a taxi nor book one. and it's in freaking orchard road!! CDG must have done something to e statistics man...

Most hirers on Sunday siu kang after making back their cost for the day. They are humans and need a break from a week's driving. They wud rather spend time wif their family.

On 1/17/2011 at 5:37 PM, Vid said:

Jan 17, 2011

By Chong Zi Liang

I've seen them "taking cover" and some incidents were along Robinson Road . . .

They were all lining up at the taxi stands which were meant for only 3-4 taxis at a time but there were at least 15 taxis

each at the 2 or more taxi stands.

and these are empty taxis, I believe they were all waiting for call-ins especially around Raffles Place.

They'll zoom off like mad in a convoy when they confirm the phone bookings . . . .

Stunts like this should stop once and for all . . . . .

So we are expecting more taxis to bid for Cat.A to increase their fleet this year!!!

More population, surely more will take public transport.

I think taxi driver job is quite good, can get 12 bookings every day!!

HUAT AH!

So we are expecting more taxis to bid for Cat.A to increase their fleet this year!!!

More population, surely more will take public transport.

I think taxi driver job is quite good, can get 12 bookings every day!!

HUAT AH!

On 1/18/2011 at 12:34 AM, Vroomtattat said:

They were all lining up at the taxi stands which were meant for only 3-4 taxis at a time but there were at least 15 taxis

and these are empty taxis, I believe they were all waiting for call-ins especially around Raffles Place.

They'll zoom off like mad in a convoy when they confirm the phone bookings . . . .

Qeueing at taxi stands wait for passenger doing stunts meh?

Seriously that is crap. I find no link between taxi booking and the economy. They just make booking easier and flagging harder. Media trying to pyscho us that the economy has improved?

On 1/18/2011 at 12:34 AM, Vroomtattat said:

When you are a taxi driver, who would you pick up during peak hours?

Booking or normal?

Peak hours are the only time that they can bring more "bread" home and why not grab the chance to do so?

By picking up those normal trips, you think that their company will give them incentives?

On 1/17/2011 at 6:23 PM, Magnifique said:

That Sunday must be Raceday(horse betting) lah :D . Most of the taxi uncle are in the betting hall in turf club outlets shouting for their horses to run faster :D . Where got time for you? After the race end they either sian 1/2 (lost) and go home or go have supper with their betting buddies.

Dun be surprise that on Sat/Sun/PH on certain time of the day or night you are unable to get a cab. There's this one time I was meeting a friend at Bukit Merah Central on a weekend. What used to be the building which houses HDB in the past has a turf club outlet where you can buy 4D/TOTO/horse betting and looks quite grand from the entrance. When I reached the carpark, I circled floor after floor looking for an empty lot only to find lots of taxis parked there, all kinds of taxi companies, all kinds of taxi models floor after floor, side by side, all the lots occupied by taxis.

Now with casinos opened, I think you will find just as many taxis parked there. Not to wait for customers.

On 1/18/2011 at 1:08 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

When you are a taxi driver, who would you pick up during peak hours?

Booking or normal?

Peak hours are the only time that they can bring more "bread" home and why not grab the chance to do so?

By picking up those normal trips, you think that their company will give them incentives?

Exactly. I feel this system is flawed, taxi drivers shld be "employed" by the taxi companies and not self-employed, this problem might be solved [laugh]

On 1/18/2011 at 1:24 AM, Darthrevan said:

Exactly. I feel this system is flawed, taxi drivers shld be "employed" by the taxi companies and not self-employed, this problem might be solved [laugh]

Last time, taxi drivers are really self-employed got sack as laws came in to control "yellow-tops".

Of course that yellow-tops earn more then others as it is own asset and about to OTOT...

Now all taxi drivers are on rental which all these taxi company are draining their blood and soul away with the huge rental surcharges.... The problems is that "if that it is good money, let me earn them first - you go think of other solution to bring your bread home".

Not only that, they purchased commerical diesel at X amount and resell to these cab drivers at a higher profit margain then the diesel distributors....

Distributors only managed a profit of 0.04cents or less while they are managed to earn at 0.30 cents....

If that oil majors allow them to sell to the end consumers, the "mktg" price for reselling is only at 0.07cents....

"They" are really out to drain everybody...