Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 can't really blame the high cost of living.... blame the booming economy in the 70s-80s where our govt, our parents started to pamper us with comfortable living environment and lots of toy and luxury... and the western value of me, me first.... now why do i need to forgo my needs with the high cost of living? The society has changed and many good values will be diminishing soon. In Chinese, we have to have male babies to continue our roots. Nowadays, many people dont value this "roots" anymore. If Singapore is really that expensive and difficult to stay, then, we have to move out. Like our grand parents who move out from china to seek better living somewhere else, even they got "sold" to become a cheap labor. But, here in Singapore, people is just whinning about the difficulties in getting more money to enjoy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 How much would it cost to send each kid to University 19-22 years from now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 seriously if govt laments abt having low birth rate, then instead of importing FTs to fill in the population, why can't they introduce more incentives (i.e. incentives that go to primary/secondary level). lifetsyle, work stress, high cost living are one of the reasons that may cause the birth rate to drop. Govt, pls wake up, baby bonus, income tax rebate/relief, child care leave etc....there are many ways to help to reduce the burden of parents but u simply dun want to open up the pocket. for every $ u spend on true blue singaporean, u would squeeze every single cts from us..... govt would rather lose billions of dollars on investment, then to use the $$$ to raise the birth rate. Govt like to compare our standard against european countries but always in denial of state in comparing their pro-family lifestyle and standards against us.... You ok or not.....want government to give you more money??? Fat hope, although we know this WILL solve the problem. eg, free child care, free primary school education, etc. But no, government would rather fill their own pockets then go this way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 You ppl still don't get it right????? It is not supposed to replace the shortfall. Look at it from another angle. The real objective is to keep our economy running. A bigger economy means more revenue. If we ran out of human battery, the machines will die off. It doesn't matter how long FT will stay, in fact if they don't stay all the better. No need to worry about an aging population cos they will be long gone. New hopeful will just fill up the numbers again, and these are the actual ones that will be contributing to the growth. Their only usefulness is when they actually worked (cheap labour) and pay the taxes. Imagine a corporate with no pension scheme. That my friend in RED I totally agree. In fact, Singapore future is doomed from the start of independence - IF - you pegged against 2.1 fertility rate to construct our Poulation Pyramid. There will come a time when you have 7mil pop and there is no more land accomodate anymore, building UP and shrinking home size can only do that much. The best solution is getting these FTs work and go home, work and go home. So the Working Population is always kept relevant, with few stayers. I tell you friends, We, the Citizens of Singapore are already the minority and by 2030 Singlish will be replaced by INDlish or Chinklish. Eventually, Spore will ask Boleh land to merge again. At that time, they happy happy take us in Sovereign Funds and all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 How much would it cost to send each kid to University 19-22 years from now? Send the kids to "which Uni" makes lots of difference hor. May be ask govt to provide free tuition fees for locals in local uni. Will it help? But, may be by then, if free, people will see it as "pariah" liao..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 That my friend in RED I totally agree. In fact, Singapore future is doomed from the start of independence - IF - you pegged against 2.1 fertility rate to construct our Poulation Pyramid. There will come a time when you have 7mil pop and there is no more land accomodate anymore, building UP and shrinking home size can only do that much. The best solution is getting these FTs work and go home, work and go home. So the Working Population is always kept relevant, with few stayers. I tell you friends, We, the Citizens of Singapore are already the minority and by 2030 Singlish will be replaced by INDlish or Chinklish. Eventually, Spore will ask Boleh land to merge again. At that time, they happy happy take us in Sovereign Funds and all... Since u already foresee this to happen, why not u quickly and quietly buy more properties as they will really be no more land to accomodate the big population. Those FT who come later will all miss the boat and have to work hard in order to earn place for shelter while u can just leaning and collect $$$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 Since u already foresee this to happen, why not u quickly and quietly buy more properties as they will really be no more land to accomodate the big population. Those FT who come later will all miss the boat and have to work hard in order to earn place for shelter while u can just leaning and collect $$$$. If only I'm one of the newly Minted Millionaires. I HDB dweller oni... I foresee that JB land will be a GOLDMINE 50years from now as the wealth of SG will spread over when our tiny Island is Bursting in its seams. Look at Shenzhen... many HKGers are already staying there.. Used to be 2nd Mistress village ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 If only I'm one of the newly Minted Millionaires. I HDB dweller oni... I foresee that JB land will be a GOLDMINE 50years from now as the wealth of SG will spread over when our tiny Island is Bursting in its seams. Look at Shenzhen... many HKGers are already staying there.. Used to be 2nd Mistress village ... Then, next move is buy up more land over in JB....u will become the next millionaire in turn. When Sinkaporeans complaints about the FT here who drives up the car and property price, later, they will be the next target to be complained by the Johoreans when the populations spilled over there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 If only I'm one of the newly Minted Millionaires. I HDB dweller oni... I foresee that JB land will be a GOLDMINE 50years from now as the wealth of SG will spread over when our tiny Island is Bursting in its seams. Look at Shenzhen... many HKGers are already staying there.. Used to be 2nd Mistress village ... U r very humble..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 give the red dot another 10-20yrs, after that, confirm if not become lost atlantis means kena annexed into malaysia or china. good not to stay or buy property in hotel sincity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 We need to learn how to sacrifice and then only you dont face this money not enuff problem. In the past, the older generation including my parents, they sacrifice their time by doing more jobs and keep all the money for the kids education. They seldom go holidays or eating out and thus can save enuff $$$. But, now, look at the people excuses??? Everytime not enough money, of course if you dont repeat what the older generation had done, sure, everyone trying to avoid having more babies. They dont know how to sacrifice or sacrifice enuff to raise the kids. They themselves have been pampered and thus likes to enjoy good life and thus not willing to incur the cost of raising kids. Dont know true or not. I agree with you that our parents' generation made sacrifices in order to give us education etc. They worked hard and also gave up holidays, or things which they considered 'luxuries' so that they have enough savings for our education. In other word, children's education is top priority. Are we doing the same for our children? Some say times as changed, so our parents' priority is no longer valid today, is it? HDB or private developers are dishing out new projects luring us to upgrade. This is fine if we upgrade without taking away savings for our children's education. The gahmen's silence regarding the common people's chase after the 5Cs is indirectly encouraging everyone to blindly chase after material gains at the expense of children's education in many cases. Of course the gahmen will turn around and say: "we didn't force you to chase the 5Cs....". But whatever it is, is it that difficult for the gahmen to add the 6th C - Children's education??..... Some wiser parents just ignore the chase for the 5Cs and stick to what they feel is important: children's education which includes schools and parental guidance at home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerr1001 Neutral Newbie January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 I agree with you that our parents' generation made sacrifices in order to give us education etc. They worked hard and also gave up holidays, or things which they considered 'luxuries' so that they have enough savings for our education. In other word, children's education is top priority. Are we doing the same for our children? Some say times as changed, so our parents' priority is no longer valid today, is it? HDB or private developers are dishing out new projects luring us to upgrade. This is fine if we upgrade without taking away savings for our children's education. The gahmen's silence regarding the common people's chase after the 5Cs is indirectly encouraging everyone to blindly chase after material gains at the expense of children's education in many cases. Of course the gahmen will turn around and say: "we didn't force you to chase the 5Cs....". But whatever it is, is it that difficult for the gahmen to add the 6th C - Children's education??..... Some wiser parents just ignore the chase for the 5Cs and stick to what they feel is important: children's education which includes schools and parental guidance at home. yup, in the old days, a working parents with low pay still manage to raise few kids even though money is always tight. The few kids all stay inside one rooms. The text book will pass from the elder brother to the younger brother, same as school uniform. Eating out at restaurant always remain a luxury things to think of and it happens few times during specially occassion. Today, dining out is a very common thing, excuses are not enough time to cook, leceh, etc etc. Babies now use pampers, older days use a piece of cloth, wash and use, use and wash.......there are so many expensive toys, but do we really need to buy those toys which the the babies still dont know the meaning of the toys yet.....I guess the kiasu mentality plays a big part here, u see other people buy, we will buy also..... Try to cut down all this expenses, then, you will see some lights....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 18, 2011 Share January 18, 2011 (edited) it's not delaying issue. singapore birth rate will continue to stay low and even lower. the fast formula is to import as what we do like import comodity because we don't have (can't produce) or less (produce not enough) so, 10 years later if sg population is 7M ... could be 3M sporean (produce locally) + 2M (2nd generation of new sporean) + 2M new sporean as long as production (make babies) is not enough, just import ready made ... as simple as that. the big question is QUALITY control and INTEGRATION without the new injection of 2M+2M (or whatever figure it is), sg population will remain as 3M as many years ago because 'replacement' is actually shrinking (negative growth) if the 1.2 replacement birthdate is too low from the locals, and one solution is to keep importing ready FT to make up the short fall. I am puzzled, these FT are middle age mostly, say above 30s. Will these FT have the 2.1 birth rate to keep Singapore population young? So when we reach 7million with these FT, ten years later these FT will also grow old to become the aged in Singapore. By that time where will the 2.1 replacement rate come from? We need NEWborn at the rate of 2.1 to maintain a healthy population n society. I think importing FT is only delaying the issues for another ~10 years, by that time it will be a bigger issues! Therefor I think the simplistic argument that we need Import FT is unsustainable. Unless these FT will sumpar to produce 2.1 babies in order to become PR/citizens, else it's a time bomb just waiting to explode sooner or later! Edited January 18, 2011 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 The old man has spoken on this topic yesterday! Always need his final words to shut up the critics! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Is the instinct to survive or have offspring stronger ? When i have a kid, i will want to spend more time with him/her thru their growing up stages. I do not see myself having that luxury when i have to work till late to support my house and lifestyle. If i have to eat all meals at a hawker centre and not buy stuffs i like to answer the call to boost fertility rates, i would say no. I think soon the govt might induct more PRs as citizens if they see existing citizens not voting for the default party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 How to rectify the situation?? Other then to get younger FTs . . . might as well say import babies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 here u go . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 Wah...these ang moh FT very fit....can run with the storm troopers! I think these angmoh serve NS will get gold each time! No wonder singapore needs more FT.......stronger army can fight the enemies around us. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...