Need help.. JVC dvd player faulty

Meepok87

Hi bros,

My after market dvd player suddenly spoilt out of no reason, just nice 1 year 2 mths ! [furious]

Everyday after start up engine, it will be ok for 10-15mins, after that it will start to have " saaa saaa saaa" sound as though no reception lidat.

Then, the moment i move off, it will be ok, once i stopped at the traffic light the same thing happen again! Any pros know whats the problem? and roughly how much it cost to repair it? Any recommendations for shops? I stay in the East side.

I am not sure if it could be the wiring though, cos i think it happen after i tried to squeeze luggage into my boot when i fetch my dad, i could not really close the boot and i forced it down. But not sure also.

Thanks!!

Hi bros,

My after market dvd player suddenly spoilt out of no reason, just nice 1 year 2 mths ! [furious]

Everyday after start up engine, it will be ok for 10-15mins, after that it will start to have " saaa saaa saaa" sound as though no reception lidat.

Then, the moment i move off, it will be ok, once i stopped at the traffic light the same thing happen again! Any pros know whats the problem? and roughly how much it cost to repair it? Any recommendations for shops? I stay in the East side.

I am not sure if it could be the wiring though, cos i think it happen after i tried to squeeze luggage into my boot when i fetch my dad, i could not really close the boot and i forced it down. But not sure also.

Thanks!!

if reception.. check the antenna..

if u familiar with the installer who do u JVC player.. go back to him for troubleshooting..

no sure how the antenna wire go about.. but dont think it will go through ur boot.. but i might be wrong..

if reception.. check the antenna..

if u familiar with the installer who do u JVC player.. go back to him for troubleshooting..

no sure how the antenna wire go about.. but dont think it will go through ur boot.. but i might be wrong..

Oh cos the person whom i bought it with, is different from the installation person. I bought it at Sim lim tower, and install at another place, cos the person do not do installation, and the warranty period is over already. Anyway i doubt its antenna problem, cos even when i am watching dvd or listening to cd, it has the same problem. "saa saaa" when i am not moving, good when i am moving. :angry:

meepok

warranty is over, so cost of repair is likely to be $50-100. If cannot repair, you will be wasting time and $ bring it down to service centre.

Buy a new one. There are basic Samsung DVD players (I presume your JVC is DVD, not DVR) that cost about $60-80 brand new and you get one year warranty

Hi bros,

Thanks!!

meepok

warranty is over, so cost of repair is likely to be $50-100. If cannot repair, you will be wasting time and $ bring it down to service centre.

Buy a new one. There are basic Samsung DVD players (I presume your JVC is DVD, not DVR) that cost about $60-80 brand new and you get one year warranty

Erm gt so cheap meh? mine cost >500 if i am not wrong. Anyway anybody have any reccommendation for shops to go to?

10years ago, it might be more than 500...welcome to 2011, my friend. i bot my toshiba at 58 bucks

serious anot? i bought mine in 2009! even the china one need 100-200? i asked around quite afew shops before installing, i asked for china, taiwan, japan one. It fit 100% into my vios.

If the sa sa sound comes out when reving, its due to the speaker wires run too near to some electronics in your car, when you rev, causing interference. You may ask the mechanic to re-run and secure the wires further away from the ECU / motors below dashboard etc.

But yours is strange, as the sa sound happens when at stop, I dont think the problem lies with the JVC headunit.

i think the guy thought those at home use type............... if samsung all have i sure huat......... [laugh][:/]

Oh cos the person whom i bought it with, is different from the installation person. I bought it at Sim lim tower, and install at another place, cos the person do not do installation, and the warranty period is over already. Anyway i doubt its antenna problem, cos even when i am watching dvd or listening to cd, it has the same problem. "saa saaa" when i am not moving, good when i am moving. :angry:

what ur setup? got amp or not..

if just HU... then u can do this...

use fader to mute front and back speaker... then left and right... u know what i mean?

this will isolate which speaker or speakers that is giving u the problem..

if every thing work fine... it could be ur HU... else if could be a wiring problem (as u had suspect when u close the boot forcefully)..

if just the wiring... just do re-wiring..

other then that.. i got no more advice for u liao..

Hi bros,

Thanks!!

Hello Bro,

My just sent to the service centre to repair, same bought at sim lim tower (export set somemore lucky the s/no there didn't cut off) [sweatdrop] no image & cannot play DVD but still can listen to radio. Just repair less than $50 and there even upgrate my software. Very lucky. Should go and check with them and they will let you know how much before you want to repair it. Cheer

what ur setup? got amp or not..

if just HU... then u can do this...

use fader to mute front and back speaker... then left and right... u know what i mean?

this will isolate which speaker or speakers that is giving u the problem..

if every thing work fine... it could be ur HU... else if could be a wiring problem (as u had suspect when u close the boot forcefully)..

if just the wiring... just do re-wiring..

other then that.. i got no more advice for u liao..

I have amp in my setup. yea i am thinking of going to some ICE shop to check it out for me.

Hello Bro,

My just sent to the service centre to repair, same bought at sim lim tower (export set somemore lucky the s/no there didn't cut off) [sweatdrop] no image & cannot play DVD but still can listen to radio. Just repair less than $50 and there even upgrate my software. Very lucky. Should go and check with them and they will let you know how much before you want to repair it. Cheer

So you just took it out yourself and send it to service centre?

one more ting to highlight.. got 1 bro also had HU problem.. send to repair.. then was kena charge assemble and re-assemble fee... PLUS repair fee...

u better check with the ICE installer before u send in for repair.

Yes, I took it out myself & send to repair and install back myself. Is quite easy because saw how my installer doing it so learn abit. Cheer [thumbsup]

oh my.. i duno how to do it. Ask you ah, where is the JVC service centre? i did a search online and could not find any info on it. Wanted to call and ask if they provide services like taking my dvd player out.