"Po Chai" pills

Kezg1

Updated news - http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/news-clip-about-po-chai-pills-recall-is-outdated-health-sciences-authority

Someone sent me this email and I thought this TCM is also very widely use in S'pore.
Let others know of the toxic chemical in these pills.

POH CHAI YIN (PILLS) & "ANTI-HEATY TEA " - Danger Warning !

Please pass this info to Chinese communities overseas esp in N America,Europe, Australia , SE Asia (eg Indonesia ) where Po Chai pills are household over-the-counter all purpose "medicine", used to be in family medicine cabinets. Well meaning moms, grandmothers give these to kids studying abroad.

Hong Kong Pulls Po Chai Pills because of Health Risks, Morning Post Says

By Frederik Balfour

March 25 (Bloomberg) - Hong Kong 's Department of Health has instructed traditional Chinese medicine maker Li Chung Shing Tong (Holdings) to recall Po Chai pills after they were found to contain banned substances in Singapore , the South China Morning Post said.

The pills, popular among sufferers from digestion problems, were found to contain phenolphthalein and sibutramine, substances that can lead to serious side effects, according to a department spokesman, the newspaper said.

"Po Chai" (see images below) have been banned in Singapore . They are also being recalled in Hong Kong .

Apart from the two dangerous chemicals (phenolphthalein and sibutramine) found by the Singapore Govt., mercury is another component used in the manufacture of the pills !

Mercury can cause serious brain damage: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minamata_disease

The following is prevalent in Malaysia and Spore.

At shop malls, do not drink the drink sold from the Chinese golden drums, those little shop with rich-looking urns selling those "anti-heaty" tea and tea & herbal-steamed eggs.

As well, by roadsides everywhere, where the guy asks if you would like to kar liew (add powder) This powder contains tetracycline antibiotic and steroids !

THAT POTENT ANTI-HEATINESS WORKS, BECAUSE IT'S LACED WITH STEROID POWDER.

--

Someone sent me this email and I thought this TCM is also very widely use in S'pore.

Please pass this info to Chinese communities overseas esp in N America,Europe, Australia , SE Asia (eg Indonesia ) where Po Chai pills are household over-the-counter all purpose "medicine", used to be in family medicine cabinets. Well meaning moms, grandmothers give these to kids studying abroad.

By Frederik Balfour

March 25 (Bloomberg) - Hong Kong 's Department of Health has instructed traditional Chinese medicine maker Li Chung Shing Tong (Holdings) to recall Po Chai pills after they were found to contain banned substances in Singapore , the South China Morning Post said.

The pills, popular among sufferers from digestion problems, were found to contain phenolphthalein and sibutramine, substances that can lead to serious side effects, according to a department spokesman, the newspaper said.

"Po Chai" (see images below) have been banned in Singapore . They are also being recalled in Hong Kong .

Apart from the two dangerous chemicals (phenolphthalein and sibutramine) found by the Singapore Govt., mercury is another component used in the manufacture of the pills !

Mercury can cause serious brain damage: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minamata_disease

At shop malls, do not drink the drink sold from the Chinese golden drums, those little shop with rich-looking urns selling those "anti-heaty" tea and tea & herbal-steamed eggs.

As well, by roadsides everywhere, where the guy asks if you would like to kar liew (add powder) This powder contains tetracycline antibiotic and steroids !

--

So can eat first before taking IPPT? [lipsrsealed]

March 25

http://www.hsa.gov.sg/publish/hsaportal/en...sule_Form_.html

I recall that there was a recall advisory for Capsule form PCP..Nothing else besides that mentioning the more common "mini-pill" form we are used to consuming. Anyone shed more light what happened after that?

By Frederik Balfour

--

Isn't this last year's news? Bloomberg Mar 25? Wah lau, die many times liao man...

See the clarification from HSA.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1045911/1/.html

haa bro, wait for HSA to issue the advisory lar..... later you go spread... can kena sue by the compnay one..... think better dont anyhow post first till HSA say something....

http://www.hsa.gov.sg/publish/hsaportal/en...sule_Form_.html

I recall that there was a recall advisory for Capsule form PCP..Nothing else besides that mentioning the more common "mini-pill" form we are used to consuming. Anyone shed more light what happened after that?

I would even not try those small little pills since they are related...names

bro, is this fake news? not a big eater of traditional herbal medicine or big fan of pills

but i have been eating po chai pills since young.

and i was thinking.. how can it be banned in singapore? i just bought groceries in NTUC supermarket and saw them on the shelves leh..... still selling? is it only that batch

anyway i usually bought online and ship to my korean friends. a lot of my korean friends like to buy this po chai pills as it is very popular in korea.

i bought from here po chai pills bao ji wan

bro, is this fake news? not a big eater of traditional herbal medicine or big fan of pills

and i was thinking.. how can it be banned in singapore? i just bought groceries in NTUC supermarket and saw them on the shelves leh..... still selling? is it only that batch

anyway i usually bought online and ship to my korean friends. a lot of my korean friends like to buy this po chai pills as it is very popular in korea.

come to think of it , why koreans like it so much.

i only know our singapore ax oil v popular in middle east. lol!

come to think of it , why koreans like it so much.

i only know our singapore ax oil v popular in middle east. lol!

Wah bro, Christmas also working to advertise ah? [laugh] [laugh] Take a break lah. 

He replied to a post that is about 5 years old.

crap. paiseh, i did not know its 5 years ago.

anyway i been eating these pills since young leh. of course a bit scared really got problems.

(disclaimers i am not po chai pill family)

i mean nowadays u will be scared of any china goods or herbal goods lor... so many pple died from eating chinese medicines

Got purpose 500 yr old thread also will reply