theoldfaithful Neutral Newbie September 5, 2014 Share September 5, 2014 Anyone here has tried Liquid Gold 5W40 oil? Was recommended this for its quality and value. Thanks in advance for any inputs! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 5, 2014 Share September 5, 2014 (edited) Thanks for the heads up.. I ordered this instead.. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C3M34NS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1#productDescription Locally selling S$70.. The Amazon price S$45 Edited September 5, 2014 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear October 5, 2014 Share October 5, 2014 Its stated for European car formula. what is the diff between this and the local castrol? hi all, found the lobang from Amazon.Castrol 03101 EDGE 0W-40 Synthetic Motor Oil - 5 Quart at USD 25, can be shipped to Singapore under free shipping!Min 125 USD to qualify for free shipping. Select 5 quantity and should be able to choose global free shipping. I just ordered mine with other stuff http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JGQLZSU/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=211189&creative=373489&creativeASIN=B00JGQLZSU&link_code=as3&tag=alourine-20&linkId=QX5UHSBZJSLBVDCA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VincentEmmanuel Neutral Newbie October 5, 2014 Share October 5, 2014 Its stated for European car formula. what is the diff between this and the local castrol? Its the temp difference, local castrol all begins with 5w while EU are 0w, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TL173 1st Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 Wonder how is Castrol Edge Sport compared to Motul 300V, in term of performance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 I would say its on par, if not better than Motul Wonder how is Castrol Edge Sport compared to Motul 300V, in term of performance? The front number does not really matter in spore Its the temp difference, local castrol all begins with 5w while EU are 0w, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TL173 1st Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 I would say its on par, if not better than Motul The front number does not really matter in spore Thanks. You tried Motul 300v before and now stay on Castrol Edge Sport, and they are on par? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
renhau 3rd Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 Which is better sport or titanium? I've using castrol edge titanium close to 6k now. So far so good. Better FC n smooth drive. Titanium promised 15k miles protection n cheaper too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asure7 1st Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 (edited) Anyone here has tried Liquid Gold 5W40 oil? Was recommended this for its quality and value. Thanks in advance for any inputs! The "Liquid Gold" that i know comes in 18L, and is actually recycled oil... not sure if we are talking about the same thing... Its the temp difference, local castrol all begins with 5w while EU are 0w, Local Castrol do come in both 5W and 0W... about $10 difference. Its stated for European car formula. what is the diff between this and the local castrol? Usually oils sold in USA will tend to state "EU formula" to show it is certified for european car standards e.g. BMW LL-01, MB 229.5 etc..., as the same oil can have different formula in different countries. Those made in USA tend to have a different formula. Local castrol mostly certified (read the label behind to be sure, and know which standards it is certified for if you are driving a conti). Where is the ulu place? Wah u digged a really old reply.. anyway it's at sungei kadut. Now buy 4L Castrol Edge Titanium 5W-40 comes with free 1L bottle. Edited October 6, 2014 by Asure7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 For stop and go conditions, even the best oils need to changr every 10k Which is better sport or titanium? I've using castrol edge titanium close to 6k now. So far so good. Better FC n smooth drive. Titanium promised 15k miles protection n cheaper too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asure7 1st Gear October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 my previous car survived 25,000 km oil change intervals for 9 years before sold... used Castrol all the way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 Car manufacturer recommends 20K Km for my car. But S'pore driving is harsher,too many stop & go,higher heat & humidilty,& worse part,is cars so expensive [Europe cars so cheap],change at 10,000km is still the best. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 But S'pore driving is harsher,too many stop & go,higher heat & humidilty,& worse part,is cars so expensive [Europe cars so cheap],change at 10,000km is still the best. Cannot understand some owner spend so much for a car here, not willing to paid $100 - $200 for more regular oil change. I change oil at 8k interval, the drive is always so good with fresh oil. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged October 6, 2014 Share October 6, 2014 (edited) Cannot understand some owner spend so much for a car here, not willing to paid $100 - $200 for more regular oil change. I change oil at 8k interval, the drive is always so good with fresh oil. Agreed,even my new Mazda 6,agent told me 1st free oil change at 10,000km,i told them,no thanks,change the oil at 1000km & 5000km..i will pay for it...just $130.00,is nothing...just one tank of petrol costed more than it. Edited October 6, 2014 by ER-3682 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged October 8, 2014 Share October 8, 2014 Cannot understand some owner spend so much for a car here, not willing to paid $100 - $200 for more regular oil change. I change oil at 8k interval, the drive is always so good with fresh oil. Diff strokes for diff folks. Many ppl penny wise. Example buy branded accessories don't care about amount, pay a bit more for drinks wo ice, question y so ex. So there u go.Agreed,even my new Mazda 6,agent told me 1st free oil change at 10,000km,i told them,no thanks,change the oil at 1000km & 5000km..i will pay for it...just $130.00,is nothing...just one tank of petrol costed more than it.If u drivin exec sedan, most likely ur budget ok. Many struggling to maintain a bnb car may not see eye to eye w u.Just to add, even some drivin higher end model may oso b struggling to maintain. Or they just felt oredi pay so much for car, dun wanna pay some more to maintain. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear October 11, 2014 Share October 11, 2014 got money.. you change every 1000KM better. your engine will constantly have new and fresh engine oil.so dont compare with pear with apple. To each his own. When the mazda agent offer this package they have the consumers in mind. If you want to do it otherwise is up to individual. To each his own imho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic September 2, 2016 Share September 2, 2016 is the friendly uncle at Forklift Enterprise still selling Castrol Edge ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shando 1st Gear September 3, 2016 Share September 3, 2016 is the friendly uncle at Forklift Enterprise still selling Castrol Edge ?Not sure about Forklift but i saw mxtradings still have, they have the gold version and the black German Castrol version. $16/L ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...