Phluvcat 6th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 today at the T-junction at Holland road there, got one kum gong fellow, he was the first car at the junction and he was turning right, I am the second car behind him. light turn green liao, he just move a bit, dun wanna move more into the pocket so that those behind wanna go straight can clear. end up the car and cars behind me kept honking. I honked a bit niah cos not my style. But the honking behind me and the kum gong in front made my blood started boiling...early morning engine not yet warmed up already made me engaged almost the redline when the space ahead is cleared (when the right turn arrow came on and the kum gong actually moved)...nabeh but on a serious note, noticed a lot of drivers during jammed conditions, do not practice due considerations or automatic behaviour. For me where I can, I will position my car so that at filter lanes, turning pockets, etc, I am able to let cars behind me clear such filter lanes and exits, and people showed their appreciation for the gesture. I believe by being a bit more considerate and aware of spatial situation, we can in fact contribute to easing the congestion. what do you guys think and do you guys also practice such actions? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 totally agree with you... pay it forward so that all road users can drive without stress .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 not oni that....more and more i realise the crawling of those out of traffic lights...like they can save so much petrol liddat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 I will horn until the fellow moves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 (edited) today at the T-junction at Holland road there, got one kum gong fellow, he was the first car at the junction and he was turning right, I am the second car behind him. light turn green liao, he just move a bit, dun wanna move more into the pocket so that those behind wanna go straight can clear. end up the car and cars behind me kept honking. I honked a bit niah cos not my style. But the honking behind me and the kum gong in front made my blood started boiling...early morning engine not yet warmed up already made me engaged almost the redline when the space ahead is cleared (when the right turn arrow came on and the kum gong actually moved)...nabeh but on a serious note, noticed a lot of drivers during jammed conditions, do not practice due considerations or automatic behaviour. For me where I can, I will position my car so that at filter lanes, turning pockets, etc, I am able to let cars behind me clear such filter lanes and exits, and people showed their appreciation for the gesture. I believe by being a bit more considerate and aware of spatial situation, we can in fact contribute to easing the congestion. what do you guys think and do you guys also practice such actions? Moving forward is the considerate thing to do (and I do it myself), but someone on a Ferrari internet forum once posted that it was actually unsafe in the sense that if your wheels are pointed into oncoming traffic (as they would be if you turned out into the pocket), then you'll get pushed into fast-moving traffic the moment someone rear-ends you. The risk of this is low, but far stranger things have happened - if you suay, then you kenna. So, by moving into the turn pocket, you're actually assuming a small personal risk of death/disability in order to show consideration for the people behind. Just playing devil's advocate, lah. I still move into the pocket because not many people think like this (besides, I'm not a kiasee person, I drive pretty damn fast anyway). On the other hand, I suppose one could argue that the kum gong fellow could see that traffic had already stopped behind him, so there was no risk of the above scenario (unless an out of control three-tonner were to collide with the whole phalanx of cars). He should've moved his ass. Edited January 13, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 (edited) Sorry, double post. Edited January 13, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Sometimes I am struck behind a car when I want to filter left at a control junctions. Some idiots dont even check mirrors and they can move forward to allow me to squeeze thru. How to ease congestions when alot of these headless chickens are around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylau1177 Neutral Newbie January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 not oni that....more and more i realise the crawling of those out of traffic lights...like they can save so much petrol liddat... wah lau, this 1 i totally agree!!! so many of these slow coaches around nowadays. want to save petrol then dont drive lah, drive so slowly, sometimes the traffic lights only clear a few cars and then after that got mini jam behind. [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greenfunk Neutral Newbie January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 maybe the driver isnt local? Drove in australia awhile ago. then so used to the right turn pockets in sg so when the green light to go straight came on but the right arrow still red, then i move forward. wah kena horn by every single car coming for the opposite side. suay all the angmoh kia show me middle finger. HAHAHA. but i agree some drivers are not considerate around the filter lane. like the thomson road/braddell road exit on pie. sucks balls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 not oni that....more and more i realise the crawling of those out of traffic lights...like they can save so much petrol liddat... yes yes indeed!! alot of those right turn in peak hour is sibei sibei slow. and i really bth those ppl turning right at a crawling speed of 10-30km ph come on la, how much petrol u can save. if u are doing a u turn, and u are a lousy driver, u turning slowly, i can understand, but via turning right is really bth. worst is those ppl no car also dont dare turn right, die die wanted to have the green arrow then turn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 maybe the driver isnt local? Drove in australia awhile ago. then so used to the right turn pockets in sg so when the green light to go straight came on but the right arrow still red, then i move forward. wah kena horn by every single car coming for the opposite side. suay all the angmoh kia show me middle finger. HAHAHA. but i agree some drivers are not considerate around the filter lane. like the thomson road/braddell road exit on pie. sucks balls. In Sg, also got this kind of junction. I laugh @ these drivers whenever they do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 maybe the driver isnt local? Drove in australia awhile ago. then so used to the right turn pockets in sg so when the green light to go straight came on but the right arrow still red, then i move forward. wah kena horn by every single car coming for the opposite side. suay all the angmoh kia show me middle finger. HAHAHA. but i agree some drivers are not considerate around the filter lane. like the thomson road/braddell road exit on pie. sucks balls. In Australia, there is no pocket on the junction. In Singapore, most of it have pockets except for some. As long they turn signal light before stopping at traffic light, I am OK to wait for them at the junction because I am prepared to wait, but the one who never signal and after the traffic light go green just stop waiting to turn is the one need to be Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 I am fine if they don't give enough space for me to squeeze. But not fine if they don't switch on the right signal. Many only switch on their signal when light turns green, where those who want to go straight already line behind them, assuming they are going straight! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 not oni that....more and more i realise the crawling of those out of traffic lights...like they can save so much petrol liddat... with what you are driving, every normal car will seem like they are crawling.. whats the hurry mate.... not as if someone just died.. opps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 (edited) you know there are certain junctions where there are 2 right turning lanes.. And if i am on the right most lane, i have to turn into the right most lane also. And i usually turn into the lane quite slowly to prevent kerbing my wheel, as the angle can be pretty sharp. Nor do i wanna wander into lane 2 as another car will be turning along side me... slow abit wont kill lah... U ever kena when u are the lane 2 turning car, and the stupid lane 1 turning car just conveniently swerve into your lane? I hate that!! Bloody hell, keep to your freaking lane! (same goes for those left filter lanes that can accommodate 2 left turning cars too) Edited January 13, 2011 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 with what you are driving, every normal car will seem like they are crawling.. whats the hurry mate.... not as if someone just died.. opps errrrr.....dun go there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 you know there are certain junctions where there are 2 right turning lanes.. And if i am on the right most lane, i have to turn into the right most lane also. And i usually turn into the lane quite slowly to prevent kerbing my wheel, as the angle can be pretty sharp. Nor do i wanna wander into lane 2 as another car will be turning along side me... slow abit wont kill lah... U ever kena when u are the lane 2 turning car, and the stupid lane 1 turning car just conveniently swerve into your lane? I hate that!! Bloody hell, keep to your freaking lane! (same goes for those left filter lanes that can accommodate 2 left turning cars too) That's when horn is ur best fren. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 today at the T-junction at Holland road there, got one kum gong fellow, he was the first car at the junction and he was turning right, I am the second car behind him. light turn green liao, he just move a bit, dun wanna move more into the pocket so that those behind wanna go straight can clear. end up the car and cars behind me kept honking. I honked a bit niah cos not my style. But the honking behind me and the kum gong in front made my blood started boiling...early morning engine not yet warmed up already made me engaged almost the redline when the space ahead is cleared (when the right turn arrow came on and the kum gong actually moved)...nabeh You chiong red light? if you turn right together with him... dun see how you can chiong redline but on a serious note, noticed a lot of drivers during jammed conditions, do not practice due considerations or automatic behaviour. For me where I can, I will position my car so that at filter lanes, turning pockets, etc, I am able to let cars behind me clear such filter lanes and exits, and people showed their appreciation for the gesture. i do that too... but in cases where i think the space is too small with only a little room for error or if the behind car need to fliter too out to go straight... i will rather not be 'automatic'.. because this could be an accident waiting to happen... I believe by being a bit more considerate and aware of spatial situation, we can in fact contribute to easing the congestion. what do you guys think and do you guys also practice such actions? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...