China 歼-20 first flight new photos 

Wishcumstrue

We cannot buy too new to advance equipment ? Else neighbours will question our intention ? Very political hor :mellow:

Unlike cars, I have money I buy supercars, no need to care if neighbour questioning my intention to how lian, to over take his etc [laugh]

Buying new military hardware is very different from building one.

The later is a hard way and risky path, but the returns in technological and strategic gain are unsubstantial.

As a major arms exporter, the US frowns on those allies who attempt to develop & deploy their indigenous systems like warplanes or missiles. Classic cases like Israel's Lavi light-fighter and Japan's FS-X program.

All above a full of dispute with US as it tries to restrict technology transfer.

Today, we see many US allies depending on US soruces and even sign-on for yet-to-provent JSF program.

So yes, politics is always the influcing factor in major arms purchases, Singapore is no exception.

Killed - Israel's Lavi

lavi5.jpg

Limited deployment - Japan's F2

f2-070b.jpg

A photo comparison between T-50, J-20 and F-22

The J-20 stands out as the only known flying stealth jet with full moving canard.

This indicates the Chinese designer has gone beyond the conventional stealth platform that we had seen so far.

Canard introduce few advantages such increased maneuverability, improved flight efficiency..that means you need to have very advanced and reliable digital flight control to manage the such unstable platform.

Edit: Full canard input in action. This is standard pre-flight check.

The canard seems to be a major lift surface judging from the size. I doubt it is higher manoeuvrable given the body will rely quite alot on the canard for lift generation. The design is definitely not fighter but high altitude interceptor, more of a MIG25 enhancement IMHO

We cannot buy too new too advance equipment ? Else neighbours will question our intention ? Very political hor :mellow:

Unlike cars, I have money I buy supercars, no need to care if neighbour questioning my intention to how lian, to over take his etc [laugh]

Would you buy a much better car than what your boss drives?

errrr.......... cannot compare like that ... [sweatdrop]

My boss drives a Vios whereas I drive a Picnic than how.... :blink:

well, if i have the means (whatever kinds, maybe kena TOTO etc)... i will drive whatever kind of cars that i like, dont care what car my boss is driving...

We only buy American

and we buy 30 year old American.

Like A4 Skyhawk, E2C etc

But our ST Aerospace upgrade & modified the engine of A4 Skyhawk to Super Skyhawk ... [sly]

ST modified one also can? :o

I have to pray for the pilot [:(]

ST modified one also can? :o

I have to pray for the pilot [:(]

Don't pray pray hor...All the 6 Black Knights jets were flying the upgraded A4SU for over 10 years in the 1990s.

The performance and safety improvement was so good that GE use A4SU as the marketing point for its F404-GE-100D turbofan engine, the same non-afterburning version used in ST upgrade program.

Advert: http://www.geaviation.com/engines/military.../f404-100d.html

Today, the improved GE's F404 now power almost all the USN's Hornets and Sweden's Gripen.

skyhawkrsaf_1.jpg

The canard seems to be a major lift surface judging from the size. I doubt it is higher manoeuvrable given the body will rely quite alot on the canard for lift generation. The design is definitely not fighter but high altitude interceptor, more of a MIG25 enhancement IMHO

J-20 is huge, some says about the size of F-111 - which means heavy payload and long-range.

PLAAF won't say how they will use it as part of the air defense component.

But as a high-speed stealth, we can guess its role is meant for penetrating high value heavily defended air and surface targets.

Besides they now have established strong 4th-gen air assets like J10 & J15 (SU33).

In this HD clip taken 2012 26 Feb, you can also see J10 chase plane taking off follow-by the J20 Prototype.

Edited by Wishcumstrue

Very good planes built in the 1950's and known as the scooter.

So ours are the super scooters.

Other than politics, a key factor is the logistics. No right or wrong, some countries prefer multiple supplier so there is no single point of failure, and some prefer one source so it can be easily managed logistically, and easier for parts, training, upgrades.

Our neighbours up north bought russian.

All the manuals are in russian so

I don't know how the planes get serviced.

Our neighbours up north bought russian.

All the manuals are in russian so

I don't know how the planes get serviced.

can always use free online translator. [laugh]

Don't pray pray hor...All the 6 Black Knights jets were flying the upgraded A4SU for over 10 years in the 1990s.

The performance and safety improvement was so good that GE use A4SU as the marketing point for its F404-GE-100D turbofan engine, the same non-afterburning version used in ST upgrade program.

Advert: http://www.geaviation.com/engines/military.../f404-100d.html

Today, the improved GE's F404 now power almost all the USN's Hornets and Sweden's Gripen.

hopefully it's fine.

BTW, I used to work in ST Aerospace [lipsrsealed]

can always use free online translator. [laugh]

Haha and we all know how unreliable those translation are.

A Russian factory hired an american to improve productivity.

After 3 months the work force dropped from 200 to 20 staff.

The american manager asked the foreman what happened to the staff

and the foreman said, everytime a staff came late you asked me to have them shot.

The american shouted back, no you idiot, I told you to have them fired not shot!

Free online translator!

Why you all like that. make fun of russia..

Anyway If they bought from Russia, they will had request a translated version from them lah...

maybe in English then they have to translate themself.

and the foreman said, everytime a staff came late you asked me to have them shot.

The american shouted back, no you idiot, I told you to have them fired not shot!

Free online translator!

Errr... regardless of whether they were shot (executed) or fired (sacked), the work force will still drop from 200 to 20 because the manager never said anything about hiring replacements. [:p][sweatdrop]

Edited by Ahtong

Errr... regardless of whether they were shot (executed) or fired (sacked), the work force will still drop from 200 to 20 because the manager never said anything about hiring replacements. [:p][sweatdrop]

no lah.. the manager hire to increase productivity mah.. so he going for lean production [laugh]

Free online translator!

And i know of a local company actually use online translator to convert their english language user manual to other languages just to save cost. [laugh]