Piyopico Supercharged January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 The chance of us seeing no opposition after this election very high. Why leh? 1. New Citizens We all know the number of new cirizens must have gone up by a hundred thousand or two since the last election. These voters naturally are pro incumbent party. At least 90% will vote for the party that gave them the chance to come here. The number of eligible voters is only about 2M. In other words, the incumbent can afford a 10% swing in support easily and they will still win the majority. Probably their overall popular vote percentage may drop but it will be between 58% to 63% thereabouts. This can continue and 5 years later, the game will still not change. Just bring in more new citizens then those who swing to the opposition. 2. Singaporeans are afraid Afraid of what, I also dunnoe. Some are afraid of change. Some are afraid their votes can be traced. Most are just afraid of uncertainty cos a substantial percentage of us are employed in either organisations or companies that somehow is linked to the govt. Just add up the SAF, Home Team, Civil services etc etc. At least 300,000 I reckon. Would you risk a career that offers security and some sort of "guaranteed road to riches". Think not. 3. Most just like to complain We just KPKB. Short memory wan. 30 years of nation building and we have all been programmed to work towards the greater good. In other words, some will fall by the wayside. As long as it is not you, you probably wont care. If you do, you just KPKB and sleep over it. There are of course many more reasons but I guess you guys can add to the above. In any case, anyone wanna form a betting pool? I wager clean sweep for the incumbent this coming election. The above are purely my personal opinions and are just meant for tock coc k sing song session on a boring evening. Maybe some of you guys have a different perspective. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 (edited) You are right! We complain....LTA immediately ease the COE quota system. We complain...HDB builts more BTO and EC. We complain....U-save comes along. We complain....more tuas MRT lines. The good government is listening to the ground. This is indeed a good gove that I will keep voting for! HUAT AH! Edited January 11, 2011 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 You are right! We complain....LTA immediately ease the COE quota system. We complain...HDB builts more BTO and EC. We complain....U-save comes along. We complain....more tuas MRT lines. The good government is listening to the ground. This is indeed a good gove that I will keep voting for! HUAT AH! And if we complain too little opposition voice ... more opposition will be elected in??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Why not? Just give me a chance to vote not just another easy walkover . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Why not? Just give me a chance to vote not just another easy walkover . Regards, dont complain since u choose to stay in their territory, wanna vote?, move to potong pasir or hougang lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged January 11, 2011 Author Share January 11, 2011 dont complain since u choose to stay in their territory, wanna vote?, move to potong pasir or hougang lor.... Or Aljunied GRC. Sure got chance to vote. Jurong GRC oso confirm got chance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 i fully agree. Sillyporeans only know how to kpkb and at the end of the day still vote for PAP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 You are right too. Gov did implement the artificial opposition voice in parliment for a more lively debate. (sorry I dont know exactly what that scheme is called) Also gov did allow NON nominated opposition into parliment. So you see....all your complains are being addressed. Can you give me 3 concerns that the gov did no address or bochap at all? Seriously....all aspects of complains...this current gov did try to work out something for those concerned (it might not make everyone happy, but it did satisfy more or less those who complained) And if we complain too little opposition voice ... more opposition will be elected in??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 You are right too. Gov did implement the artificial opposition voice in parliment for a more lively debate. (sorry I dont know exactly what that scheme is called) Also gov did allow NON nominated opposition into parliment. So you see....all your complains are being addressed. Can you give me 3 concerns that the gov did no address or bochap at all? Seriously....all aspects of complains...this current gov did try to work out something for those concerned (it might not make everyone happy, but it did satisfy more or less those who complained) got, when people ask for actual cost in building a hdb flat, they act blur, bo chap and no answer still......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Next election PAP may make clean sweep. They better sweep clean my corridor arh. Pay money no sweep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 You are right too. Gov did implement the artificial opposition voice in parliment for a more lively debate. (sorry I dont know exactly what that scheme is called) Also gov did allow NON nominated opposition into parliment. So you see....all your complains are being addressed. Can you give me 3 concerns that the gov did no address or bochap at all? Seriously....all aspects of complains...this current gov did try to work out something for those concerned (it might not make everyone happy, but it did satisfy more or less those who complained) On top of that, breakdown on HDB flats construction cost and total number of foreigners here (seperate PRs from the citizen's group). There are more if you want : What's the reserves? (This ques not answered even after 2 terms of presidency). Transparency of the 2 state investment arms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Certain things are 'secrets', so cannot really reveal. Further more its not life and death kind of stuff. Also that is not considered as complains lah. Its not social issues or day to day living issues. It may be just statistics that does not actually mean much to the general public. So there is really no need to give the answers to the citizens. Not that its correct to reveal every thing to the citizens. Also not that its a must to reveal everything to citizens. On top of that, breakdown on HDB flats construction cost and total number of foreigners here (seperate PRs from the citizen's group). There are more if you want : What's the reserves? (This ques not answered even after 2 terms of presidency). Transparency of the 2 state investment arms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 if that's what the people of singapore decide, so be it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Our children will be the one who will suffer if the present generation only know how to kpkb but do nothing about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clneosg Clutched January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 sillyporeans can always ignore the signs. conspiracy theory. More foreigners become citizen pro xxx party. Then dilute the natural citizen base. The more you delay, while you are going to lose your birth right. Oh sorry, singapore got no birth right hor. so too bad if you are no study high enough cannot get good job, don't blame govt, blame yourself can't find jobs to compete with lower paid foreigners who can tahan long hours with their young bodies versus your older body. Or don't blame goverment because you poor middle class can't get a job that pay you high enough or given an opportunity in MNC which prefer their own foreign talent to run the show with high pay. hm.. o ya, too bad china never follow our country to hire more foreign talent to do their menial labour or to run their companies. or perhaps the chinese prefer the top people to be chinese in MNC to deal with them. oh well, poor sillyporeans still look up to their past colonial masters. Too bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Hougang should be safe. Not sure about PP though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 Provided the so called new citizen all stayed in opposition ward. Regarding pap tracing votes of civil servants, is juz plain bs.. My frd in a stat board voted for opposition in his ward.. He still got promos twice or thrice since last election & doing very well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear January 11, 2011 Share January 11, 2011 You are right too. Gov did implement the artificial opposition voice in parliment for a more lively debate. (sorry I dont know exactly what that scheme is called) Oh..pls..you also said artificial..wayang la......what we want is a real opposition check-and-balance thingy...rite now 2 voices are too inaudible... Also gov did allow NON nominated opposition into parliment. For fark? They only talk but cannot do anything.. So you see....all your complains are being addressed. Can you give me 3 concerns that the gov did no address or bochap at all? Seriously....all aspects of complains...this current gov did try to work out something for those concerned (it might not make everyone happy, but it did satisfy more or less those who complained) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...