More effective ways to prevent tailgating?

KARTer

On 1/7/2011 at 11:10 AM, Darthrevan said:

its about the mentality of the tailgaters, they just want to "feel fast" even though they're still stucked in the same situation, whether on expressways or small roads. i just saw a CTR in front of me tailgated and horn a L-plate, then overtook the L-plate on a double-white line single lane..there are oncoming cars which honked him for his dangerous act [hur]

Perhaps he enrolled into refresher driving lessons with the same driving school?

On 1/7/2011 at 1:17 PM, Hondacub777 said:

OT the thread.Pls,those driving wedding cars,I know it's your or your fren big day.If u want to take ur time to drive or convoy,pls dun hog the 1st lane.I saw a number of times that these bloody drivers tot big day big fark and travelled at 80km/hr on lane 1!

I have yet to see them chain collission among themselves...

On 1/7/2011 at 1:27 PM, Hondacub777 said:

paisei dun want to open a new thread.By the way,have to admit im one of those tailgaters.But I only do that when the car in front is way too slow( no other cars in front of them) or I call them bloody hogger.I only tailgate on expressway lane 1.

Can share with us why you only tailgate in Lane 1, not other lanes? We do encounter tailgating in any lane? Many thanks.

On 1/7/2011 at 2:18 PM, Mr_b20 said:

if you always kena tailgated , u should be thinking whats wrong with your own driving

still cant figure out ?

stop hogging lane 1

100% agree. It takes two hand to clap. However, I do not support tail-gating practice even if you call it some other name(s)

On 1/7/2011 at 2:30 PM, Sg2303 said:

I'll have to confess that I tailgate sometimes as well when the car is on lane 1 and it's clear in front of the hogger.

I'll highbeam and honk too if necessary. [lipsrsealed]

Is that your best driving technique? Hear of hypermiling?

On 1/7/2011 at 2:38 PM, Tigershark1976 said:

aiyo... simple lah... just install a TMA (Truck Mounted Attenuator)... confirm can prevent tailgating. The tailgater must crash the TMA 1st b4 reaching your tail...

A few crashes into them already?

On 1/7/2011 at 3:46 PM, Shull said:

yes... most people(including me) tailgate because we got tired of the fella infront of us keeping too big distance with the car infront of him/her, which usually means that he/she is a hogger..

As long as you keep a reasonable distance(not too far) between you car and the car infront of you, i won't tailgate..

I believe that is because you were not be aware of hypermiling driving tehcniques. A good practitioner of hypermiling driving techniques should not tail-gate at all (avoid tail-gating)

On 1/7/2011 at 4:40 PM, KARTer said:

i spend most of my time in lane2 already.... i am not saying others tailgate me, you got me wrong (one-track mind?), but i always see drivers tailgating other drivers.....

even if i am doing more than 90kmh in lane1 and yet the other driver tailgates me, i will siam to lane2 let him pass..... you dont have to worry about me so much........

i am talking about those who dont use their brain but blindly tailgate the car in front when the car in front is already blocked by other slow traffic in front of him, or the traffic is too jam-packed in the next lane to shift lane and let him pass.... hope you are not one of those brainless tailgaters....

100% agree

On 1/7/2011 at 7:51 PM, Darthrevan said:

ever since I've learnt this centre mirror tilt..its been useful to prevent unreasonable tailgaters who wants to piss me off [laugh]

I will be more concern that the tailgater(s) only wanted to rear-end my car than high-beamed/tooted horn at me (likley to rear-end my car if I am not in uaual good mood)

I agree 100%....time and again i see selfish drivers crusing in extreme right lane at 60kph followed by a long line of cars.....

for me even if i am at 110kph if i see any car closing in i either pick up speed or i pull to the left to gve way.

But sometimes the accidents happen on extreme left lane and if thats the case due to tailgating then the fault is the car behind as the front car is already in extreme left lane and if the guy wants to overtake he should move right.....

But u r rigt sinkapoor roads have lots of slow hoggers...worst still many of these are lorry drivers....on extreme right lane...

On 1/7/2011 at 9:22 AM, Powersteer said:

its easy to prevent urself from being tailgated. STOP HOGGING the road.

On 1/7/2011 at 8:21 AM, Whathefish said:

hmmm...also can...then people will buy wider car like Edix instead of Wish etc...actually instead of fine...y not reward those safe drivers...like lower road tax n erp becoz..cause less JAM ?

reward means government give you money...wait long long...wait till ERP, GST, housing price, egg price humbalang increase jialic jialic first...

On 1/7/2011 at 8:38 AM, Ahtong said:

No need so troublesome. Just remove all the airbags from cars and replace them with plastic explosives. You buang you die. Even if it cannot prevent all tailgating, it will at least ensure no repeat offenders.

in multiple car pile-up, the middle ones very wu gu die leh...

On 1/7/2011 at 9:42 AM, Andylau1177 said:

totally agree! nowadays so many speed limit 70km/h vehicles travelling on lane 2. if they are travelling fast like 80km/h, 90km/h i dont mind, but if they travel at 60km/h, just scram off to lane 3 or 4 lah, slow turtle! :angry: :angry:

all along i sense a conspiracy, the tp relaxing the rules on such vehicles travelling on fast lanes but continue to catch and fine other motorists over speeding or petty stuff.

its a double whammy, a strategy to make life so difficult on the road, so as to "encourage" us to buy their BMW.