More effective ways to prevent tailgating?

KARTer

On 1/7/2011 at 8:16 AM, Lucaswh said:

not environmentally friendly.

can't tailgate means no wind drafting and FC goes up. ^_^

Can share with us if that is the only driving technique you know for fuel saving? If yes, you got the wrong technique, since any accident can wipe out all the fuel savings you done for years. Do learn hypermiling (ever achieved 28.83km/L with non-hybrid)

On 1/7/2011 at 8:23 AM, Tom_kkh said:

thats y i posted in an earlier thread that if TP wants volunteers to catch tailgaters, i first to enroll.

i will even buy, own expense, the in car video to install at the back.

Salute your public-spiritedness. Can let me konw if any vacancy left?

On 1/7/2011 at 8:27 AM, Andylau1177 said:

actually i think more accidents are caused by idiots who talk on the mobile while driving. 90pc of the time you see brakester, snaker etc, drive past them, confirm on the phone. kns. hate these buggers. :angry: :angry: :angry:

100% agree

On 1/7/2011 at 8:30 AM, KARTer said:

true.... thats why i refuse to answer phone calls when i am driving unless it's from my boss (this one bo bian, he only calls when it is urgent anyway).... or i expect something urgent that day. I have an auto reply which tells the callers i am at the wheel and hope to reach my destination safely.

I can not practice handphone driving while hypermiling. Hypermiling is serious enough to demand diligent driving practice (safety first)

On 1/7/2011 at 8:30 AM, Andylau1177 said:

actually lane 1 also got some kuku drivers who tailgate when there is already a long queue of cars in front. he really expect the car infront to leapfrog other cars meh??? this ppl really [hur] [hur]

In those days when my car was without air-con, I signalled them to overtake across the road divider, island divider inclusive (laugh)

On 1/7/2011 at 8:34 AM, KARTer said:

I am not very sure, but usually I see young punks tailgate, sometimes taxi drivers..... do you all have the same observations?..... young pple nowadays have too much energy and cant wait, cant think??..... (pls dont flame me if you are young)

Perhaps lack of driving skill/training, so needs to learn through rear-end accidents?

On 1/7/2011 at 8:37 AM, Kiadaw said:

Desprite butt bumping being one of the most, if not the most common accident in Singapore, & we all know accident increase=premium increase, people still insist on tailgating.

What to do?

Actually its pretty entertaining to see car charge forward, then brake just behind the car in front, cause car to slowed down temporatily, car in front pull a bit of length, car behind again accerate, then brakes *repeat*

Or car make one big lane change using their mightly acceration power, to gain one space in front.

Then complain about high petrol cost, high maintaince. "Why brake pad cost so much". "My tires only last so many miles".

I believe it may not be just lack of driving skill/training. Could it be their hobby?

On 1/7/2011 at 8:38 AM, Ahtong said:

No need so troublesome. Just remove all the airbags from cars and replace them with plastic explosives. You buang you die. Even if it cannot prevent all tailgating, it will at least ensure no repeat offenders.

Mercy-mercy. You mean to make all tailgating accidents into major accidents? More traffic jams? More police investigation? More ambulances? Higher motor insurance premiums?

On 1/7/2011 at 8:39 AM, KARTer said:

How to move to next lane when it's full of traffic and the cars in front in my lane is blocking me.... the tailgater really has a very small brain, I am already doing 100kmh :o

Confused or puzzled? Full of traffic and cars in front blocking, yet doing 100km/H? Video-game driving?

On 1/7/2011 at 8:39 AM, Andylau1177 said:

after driving for so many years, my view is on lane 1, if there is no car in front of you and you are being tailgated, you are hogging. other lanes, if no cars in front of you and you are being tailgated, ask the bugger got f spider! but if you are driving 60km/h on lane 2 on eway, you ought to be [rifle] , get lost to lane 3 lah! just my take on this issue, no pinpointing to anyone hor!

In accordance to the Highway Code, Lane 1 for overtaking/turning right/U-turn, not road-hogging/tailgating. let us all drive co-operatively

On 1/7/2011 at 8:43 AM, KARTer said:

I use expressways everyday, if there lane 2 is clear, i relax in lane 2 .... once in a while i use lane 1 to overtake, but return to lane 2 and relax at speed limit of 90-95kmh... safe and no stress

but like you said, even in lane 2 and going at 90kmh i still have drivers tailgating me.... lane 1 got ghost and they r scared of using it to overtake me or what?

Perhaps Lane1 got more tailgating accidents, so they changed to tailgating in Lane 2?

On 1/7/2011 at 9:14 AM, KARTer said:

Talking about those elites.... they should walk the talk and use public transport or effecicent small/midsize cars, if they really think mrt/buses are efficient and good for everyone in our beloved country which has a pledge that says "..... based on .... equality...." .... LOL

100% agree. Unfortunately the Elites do not agree with us...

On 1/7/2011 at 9:17 AM, Mustank said:

drive an armoured car or lowlee

unless your tailgater is someone bigger, most of the time, no one will wanna tailgate [pirate]

I did observed some rear-ended into bigger vehicles (big turcks rear-ended by cars)