Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 1:17 PM, Hondacub777 said: OT the thread.Pls,those driving wedding cars,I know it's your or your fren big day.If u want to take ur time to drive or convoy,pls dun hog the 1st lane.I saw a number of times that these bloody drivers tot big day big fark and travelled at 80km/hr on lane 1! totally out of point ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 1:19 PM, Galantspeedz said: totally out of point paisei dun want to open a new thread.By the way,have to admit im one of those tailgaters.But I only do that when the car in front is way too slow( no other cars in front of them) or I call them bloody hogger.I only tailgate on expressway lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 8:17 AM, Tom_kkh said: u cant keep a good "tailgater" down. i spend most of the time in the 2nd lane doing speed limit, still have s holes tailgate me and high beam.... These tailgaters think they can clear the jammed cars in front by high beaming all the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 8:39 AM, Andylau1177 said: after driving for so many years, my view is on lane 1, if there is no car in front of you and you are being tailgated, you are hogging. other lanes, if no cars in front of you and you are being tailgated, ask the bugger got f spider! but if you are driving 60km/h on lane 2 on eway, you ought to be , get lost to lane 3 lah! just my take on this issue, no pinpointing to anyone hor! bro you also have to ask yourself, how much space between you and the car in font. ever saw this car. maintain same speed, but hor 10 car space in font. like that in singapore also consider road hog. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 if you always kena tailgated , u should be thinking whats wrong with your own driving still cant figure out ? stop hogging lane 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 I'll have to confess that I tailgate sometimes as well when the car is on lane 1 and it's clear in front of the hogger. I'll highbeam and honk too if necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 (edited) aiyo... simple lah... just install a TMA (Truck Mounted Attenuator)... confirm can prevent tailgating. The tailgater must crash the TMA 1st b4 reaching your tail... Edited January 7, 2011 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 7, 2011 Author Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 9:07 AM, Tom_kkh said: hong kong got sell, u press a button yr tail pipe spits fire about 5-8 meters length wow, bigger fire than the chi char cook's frying wok!!! ........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 8:25 AM, Andylau1177 said: got, get out of lane 1 and dont road hog. [laugh] yes... most people(including me) tailgate because we got tired of the fella infront of us keeping too big distance with the car infront of him/her, which usually means that he/she is a hogger.. As long as you keep a reasonable distance(not too far) between you car and the car infront of you, i won't tailgate.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 3:46 PM, Shull said: yes... most people(including me) tailgate because we got tired of the fella infront of us keeping too big distance with the car infront of him/her, which usually means that he/she is a hogger.. As long as you keep a reasonable distance(not too far) between you car and the car infront of you, i won't tailgate.. Most people do it does not make it right. I hate road hoggers as much as you but I don't tailgate because it's a dangerous thing to do. Just overtake the car from the left and be on your way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 4:09 PM, Greatbirdlegend said: Most people do it does not make it right. I hate road hoggers as much as you but I don't tailgate because it's a dangerous thing to do. Just overtake the car from the left and be on your way. he is talking about cases where its impossible to overtake from the left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 4:11 PM, Joseph22 said: he is talking about cases where its impossible to overtake from the left. Yes I understand the frustration - I have encountered my fair share of hoggers who like to do synchronize driving. But that does not change the fact that tailgating is dangerous. There are no winners if an accident happens on the road. In any case just exercise a little patience. Get there later better than not getting there at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 7, 2011 Author Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 12:13 PM, Kiadaw said: This kind of people I guess we see all too often here. I think one of the reason is that safety driving, road ethnics are not taught is driving school. In the west, I think it is part of learning. Instrcutor will say "People give way, show a hand of appreciation", "keep safety distance," "be patient." Here focus is only on passing the tests. Much like in school. When teacher tell me, "this chapter for info only, will not be tested". I will put a big cross & don't bother to read a sentence at all. Driving class is same, just concentrate on "Obstacle" course, road course. At no point did my instructor point to me I cannot do this because its considerate. He never said, "slow down to give pedestrian time at zebra crossing." Instead, he said, "if don't slow down, will deduce points. " When I took the test, I also go through motion only. Fake fake adjust mirrors, meaning meaning check blind spots. if learner drivers are never taught by their instructors to be a considerate / courteous driver, but only to focus on passing the technical parts of driving, we get the type of rude and reckless drivers we see today...... although some will say courtesy should be a basis human behavior regardless he's a driver or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 7, 2011 Author Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 2:18 PM, Mr_b20 said: if you always kena tailgated , u should be thinking whats wrong with your own driving still cant figure out ? stop hogging lane 1 i spend most of my time in lane2 already.... i am not saying others tailgate me, you got me wrong (one-track mind?), but i always see drivers tailgating other drivers..... even if i am doing more than 90kmh in lane1 and yet the other driver tailgates me, i will siam to lane2 let him pass..... you dont have to worry about me so much........ i am talking about those who dont use their brain but blindly tailgate the car in front when the car in front is already blocked by other slow traffic in front of him, or the traffic is too jam-packed in the next lane to shift lane and let him pass.... hope you are not one of those brainless tailgaters.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 tilt ur centre mirror downwards & rely on your side mirrors till the tailgater change lane & overtake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 4:41 PM, Ed2win2 said: tilt ur centre mirror downwards & rely on your side mirrors till the tailgater change lane & overtake ever since I've learnt this centre mirror tilt..its been useful to prevent unreasonable tailgaters who wants to piss me off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saviourwu 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 8:21 AM, KARTer said: Like that we have to go high tech a bit: Have another LTA sealed rear facing camera which also links to a rear distance sensor: if the car behind tailgates for more than 3 seconds, "CLICK" and the driver behind will have his face and number plate photo taken and auto-send to LTA's server for follow up....... sounds fun. But need to take into consideration current speed of your car and the distance with the tailgater. The faster your car, and the shorter the distance, then it will mean a crime. If your speed is slow or stationary, even if bumper to bumper, it will not mean tailgate, and no picture is sent out. This has to be a law by LTA, like the ERP system. Then award "safe driving" certificate for drivers who seldom tailgate, and they can use this certificate to cut their insurance premium by 20% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 7, 2011 Share January 7, 2011 On 1/7/2011 at 8:10 AM, KARTer said: Yes, peak hours traffic is usually bumper2bumper..... what to do, too many cars, too little roads??... but actually, just side-track a bit, for every 1km of expressways, we can pack say 90 'long' cars (usually those 2000cc cars and above), or 120 'short' cars (eg hatchbacks or about 1300cc cars). What it means is we should encourage use of shorter cars instead of longer cars since both usually carry only 1-3 persons and therefore it makes no difference if the car is long or short. We can make roadtax/COE/ERP etc higher for such long cars and give discounts to short cars. This way, our roads will be less congested but able to move the same amount of passengers per km of the expressway per hour..... can? Good idea (most cars no passenger most of the time) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...