More effective ways to prevent tailgating?

KARTer

On 1/7/2011 at 8:39 AM, Andylau1177 said:

after driving for so many years, my view is on lane 1, if there is no car in front of you and you are being tailgated, you are hogging. other lanes, if no cars in front of you and you are being tailgated, ask the bugger got f spider! but if you are driving 60km/h on lane 2 on eway, you ought to be [rifle] , get lost to lane 3 lah! just my take on this issue, no pinpointing to anyone hor!

share the same view as u.

bottom line- tailgater need to b [smash] , Roadhogger- F off to one side!!!!

even i doing above limit on lane 1, other coming near my ars, i'll filter left to let him/her pass.

if infront also got car n there's noway for me to speed up n u still tailgate, my wiper spray work first. if still tailgate, once road clear, purposely slow down

to piss him n try make him overtake. once see his intention of overtaking, drop gear n leave him behind......

On 1/7/2011 at 9:06 AM, Kangadrool said:

long car, short car -> good idea. But do you think the elites driving mostly long cars will implement?

Talking about those elites.... they should walk the talk and use public transport or effecicent small/midsize cars, if they really think mrt/buses are efficient and good for everyone in our beloved country which has a pledge that says "..... based on .... equality...." .... LOL

whenever there's heavy traffic i tend to travel with a huge buffer between my car and the one infront

so even if the guy behind tailgates me, i'll be able to stop gradually enough to ensure that the guy behind doesn't have to ebrake

On 1/7/2011 at 9:14 AM, KARTer said:

Talking about those elites.... they should walk the talk and use public transport or effecicent small/midsize cars, if they really think mrt/buses are efficient and good for everyone in our beloved country which has a pledge that says "..... based on .... equality...." .... LOL

better not. otherwise the RC grassroot ppl will always clear 1 carriage for them. Worst, more cramp for the peasants.

On 1/7/2011 at 9:10 AM, Djdp said:

share the same view as u.

bottom line- tailgater need to b [smash] , Roadhogger- F off to one side!!!!

even i doing above limit on lane 1, other coming near my ars, i'll filter left to let him/her pass.

if infront also got car n there's noway for me to speed up n u still tailgate, my wiper spray work first. if still tailgate, once road clear, purposely slow down

to piss him n try make him overtake. once see his intention of overtaking, drop gear n leave him behind......

same, i will even move over to lane 2 and let him try to overtake in lane 1, when he's about side by side, i will then drop gear and shoot off (of coures i will check and make sure my lane is clear in front also)........... even if he is driving a skoda turbo taxi, he can smell my smoke....

  On 1/7/2011 at 9:17 AM, Tom_kkh said:

better not. otherwise the RC grassroot ppl will always clear 1 carriage for them. Worst, more cramp for the peasants.

LOL...... true

Edited by KARTer

On 1/7/2011 at 9:15 AM, Expertz said:

whenever there's heavy traffic i tend to travel with a huge buffer between my car and the one infront

so even if the guy behind tailgates me, i'll be able to stop gradually enough to ensure that the guy behind doesn't have to ebrake

[thumbsup][thumbsup] ... defensive driving!!

No.1 Reason is our roads are too congested.

Farking goods vehicles hogging on 2nd lane, resulting in all the car drivers having to filter to lane 1.

Those who filter to lane 3 often have to brake hard as somemore goods vehicles are there.

Recently, i have noticed more buses and trailers even not keeping left.

I been thinking of writing a letter in to TP, but my england not powderful enough.

On 1/7/2011 at 9:35 AM, Unfair said:

No.1 Reason is our roads are too congested.

Farking goods vehicles hogging on 2nd lane, resulting in all the car drivers having to filter to lane 1.

Those who filter to lane 3 often have to brake hard as somemore goods vehicles are there.

Recently, i have noticed more buses and trailers even not keeping left.

I been thinking of writing a letter in to TP, but my england not powderful enough.

totally agree! nowadays so many speed limit 70km/h vehicles travelling on lane 2. if they are travelling fast like 80km/h, 90km/h i dont mind, but if they travel at 60km/h, just scram off to lane 3 or 4 lah, slow turtle! :angry: :angry:

On 1/7/2011 at 7:55 AM, KARTer said:

We may say driver safety education is better than fines, but after so many years of police warnings and educations (one way or another), there's still no major improvement, in fact it's getting worse, it's time to introduce serious penalty like this to wake up these reckless drivers.

its about the mentality of the tailgaters, they just want to "feel fast" even though they're still stucked in the same situation, whether on expressways or small roads. i just saw a CTR in front of me tailgated and horn a L-plate, then overtook the L-plate on a double-white line single lane..there are oncoming cars which honked him for his dangerous act [hur]

The majority of road accidents on our expressways / main roads are due to tailgating when the front car slows down but the one behind cant stop in time.

Even without any injury, what follows is usually a big traffic jam while the drivers involved inspect / discuss / argue / wait for rescue etc right on the spot. This ends up wasting a lot time of other road users.

To prevent this, maybe LTA should make every car install a distance sensor (not a very hi-tech / expensive item) and link it to a warning device, or better still a speed-limiter so that if the driver tailgate for say more than 3 seconds, he will be either warned or his car's speed will be cut to suit the distance he maintains eg 10kmh or car distance of only 2-car-lengths etc etc. TP will conduct random and on the spot tests anywhere and if tempering of the device is found, the drivers will be fined heavily.

And as a further preventive measure, the guilty driver involved in road accident during peak hours will be charged a $2k (or more) blanket fine for causing traffic jam.

We may say driver safety education is better than fines, but after so many years of police warnings and educations (one way or another), there's still no major improvement, in fact it's getting worse, it's time to introduce serious penalty like this to wake up these reckless drivers.

Any better idea? [:)]

Don't worry, your dream will com true, since the new IU unit that also have GPS, also perform the function you wish

On 1/7/2011 at 11:10 AM, Darthrevan said:

its about the mentality of the tailgaters, they just want to "feel fast" even though they're still stucked in the same situation, whether on expressways or small roads. i just saw a CTR in front of me tailgated and horn a L-plate, then overtook the L-plate on a double-white line single lane..there are oncoming cars which honked him for his dangerous act [hur]

This kind of people I guess we see all too often here.

I think one of the reason is that safety driving, road ethnics are not taught is driving school. In the west, I think it is part of learning. Instrcutor will say "People give way, show a hand of appreciation", "keep safety distance," "be patient."

Here focus is only on passing the tests. Much like in school. When teacher tell me, "this chapter for info only, will not be tested". I will put a big cross & don't bother to read a sentence at all.

Driving class is same, just concentrate on "Obstacle" course, road course. At no point did my instructor point to me I cannot do this because its considerate. He never said, "slow down to give pedestrian time at zebra crossing." Instead, he said, "if don't slow down, will deduce points. "

When I took the test, I also go through motion only. Fake fake adjust mirrors, meaning meaning check blind spots.

Edited by Kiadaw

The majority of road accidents on our expressways / main roads are due to tailgating when the front car slows down but the one behind cant stop in time.

Even without any injury, what follows is usually a big traffic jam while the drivers involved inspect / discuss / argue / wait for rescue etc right on the spot. This ends up wasting a lot time of other road users.

To prevent this, maybe LTA should make every car install a distance sensor (not a very hi-tech / expensive item) and link it to a warning device, or better still a speed-limiter so that if the driver tailgate for say more than 3 seconds, he will be either warned or his car's speed will be cut to suit the distance he maintains eg 10kmh or car distance of only 2-car-lengths etc etc. TP will conduct random and on the spot tests anywhere and if tempering of the device is found, the drivers will be fined heavily.

And as a further preventive measure, the guilty driver involved in road accident during peak hours will be charged a $2k (or more) blanket fine for causing traffic jam.

Many thanks for your noble thoughts.

I believe there may be some distance sensors that can be installed to not only alert the tailgater, but to brake his car until the required clearance is achieved (if he tailgate in any top two gears).

Education-wise, perhaps more thorough information can be available to test candidates (how to judge distances....)

The limitations I can anticipate are the road conditions being not consistent most of the time (gradients, bends, surface roughness, dampbess...)

to prevent tailgating, pls get out of lane 1 [smash]

OT the thread.Pls,those driving wedding cars,I know it's your or your fren big day.If u want to take ur time to drive or convoy,pls dun hog the 1st lane.I saw a number of times that these bloody drivers tot big day big fark and travelled at 80km/hr on lane 1!